We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Rest in Surf Paradise Beach”

Surfers Beach Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Takamaka
Price range: $11 - $65
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We're that wonderful, casual seaside spot where locals gather with old friends, and meet new ones. A welcoming, comfortable place for a family meal or a high-energy afternoon-evening & late-night rendezvous for drinks and meals. The Surfers Beach Restaurant has fresh, familiar, absolutely crave-able food, with a large seasonal open patio style decking and water views from every table. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. The restaurant specialises in Creole & International & Indian cuisine and is an oasis of taste and visual beauty.
Bcn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Rest in Surf Paradise Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The best is the situation, just infront of the surf spot in a very paradise beach. food is quite good, but the best is the situation

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PauMBcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your short but positive comments and review on Surfers Beach Restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed the location and dining experiance.

Best Regards

Marlene Young
Co-Owner & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    198
    86
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Friendly crew with a free pick up from the hotel.Food mediocre at best.Chickencurry small brunoise of dry filet in a watery emulsion for a high price an absolute misser! service not very good.However beautifull location and with the right approach a high potential with the new Double tree Allamanda by Hilton as their neighbour.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sotlylaisse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Owner at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We are glad that you found our staff friendly and also the comments about the nice location. We offer clients good value for money in a Beach restaurant which is located not far from several 5 star hotels including the Allamanda T club and spa. Many of these 5 star hotels recommend us to their guests whenever they want to eat out and not in their hotel. We have had very good reviews from such guests especially those who do not post to trip advisor in our retsaurant guest book.

The grilled fillet fish is a favourite and lots of clients have written good comments about this dish. The chicken curry which you say is small is served in a seperate curry bowl is
very generous for 1 portion. For your information the fish fillet is either served with coconut sauce or creole sauce and the option is the clients to choose which one they want. Both are very good and clients have often commended the sauces, If it was not pallatable to your liking and you did not like the coconut sauce which is served similar to a gravy you could have requested to change this to the creole sauce. The chicken curry menu price is Seychelles rupees 190/- which equates to approximately 12 euros which you will not get for that price in a 5 star resort hotel or Europe for that matter. The grilled fish menu price is 210/- Seychelles rupees or 14 euros. Both dishes are either served with a generous helping of plain rice or french fries and salad or chutney.

We thought it would best to comment on your review as it does not portray the establishments good reputation and may give future potential customers the wrong impression. However we do take this opportunity to thank you for your visit to Surfers Beach Restaurant. Wope that you enjoyed your holidays in the Seychelles.

R.Young
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab location and pretty ok food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Service was slow but the location meant that you didn't care! Sit downstairs with a beer with your toes in the sand and the beach right in front of you. Great place to meet people! Waitress didn't know what soda water was...got tonic water for my wine spritzer but I decided to try it anyway and it isn't that bad!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thirstie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Y, Manager at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed our establishment and especially the location. We apologise if you found the service a little slow, however it could be that on that day we were fairly busy and recently we have had one of our waitressing staff on sick leave. All our waitressing staff are knowledgable with the different drinks available and it could be that the mistake came from the bar as tonic water and soda water come in similar bottles produced by Seychelles breweries.

However not withstanding that small error we are happy that you enjoyed the food and setting next to the beach, we do hope you enjoyed the Seychelles and shoud you return we would be very happy to see you at Surfers Beach Restaurant again.

Marlene Young
Co-Owner & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great spot for lunch and good beach too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

we liked this place so much we ate here twice! best meals we had on our 7 day stay in Mahe! Try the grilled shrimp and red snapper fillet, both outstanding! Good value for money considering all the food in Mahe is overpriced! At least this was worth the money! afterwards or before you can snorkel at the beach since its right on the beach! But wear water shoes to avoid cuts from coral and broken glass!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank breynolds376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lionheart85, Owner at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are very happy that you enjoyed your visit and dining experiance at Surfers Beach Restaurant. Please do not hesitate to recommend us to your freinds that may be visiting Seychelles in the future. If you decide to return to Seychelles we will be happy to continue extending the good hospitality and dining experiance that you experianced on your recent visit.

Once again thank you very much the pleasure was all ours and we look forward to seeing you again one day !

Best Regards

R.Young
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch - never again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off for Sunday Lunch - Club sandwich and fries took over an hour to be served - cold, greasy and tasted horrible - never again - not worth the wait - service poor.

Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lionheart85, Owner at Surfers Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We are sorry to read of your experiance at our establishment. We are and do realize that we were extremely busy on that day you came to the restaurant. We have become very popular with tourists and locals on Sundays and it does get very busy with the pressure building up. On this day we were actually short of kitchen staff hence the delay in getting your food to your table amongst other tables and guests that had arrived and ordered before you. We don`t want to be seen as giving a lot of excuses but would just like to apologise for the bad day that you experianced.

Once again please accept our sincere apologies.

R.Young
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfers Beach Restaurant also viewed

Mahe Island, Seychelles
Baie Lazare, Mahe Island
 

Been to Surfers Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing