We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Chateau Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Sans Souci
Ranked #3 of 3 Anse Kerlan B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel: We stayed in this place in April 2013 for around 2 nights. The rooms are good and clean. We had a hot deal of breakfast and dinner inclusive and the food was very good as well. Never used the pool but it looked good. There is a beach not too far away but you could go to the better beaches by car.

We had hired a car from the hotel, and we believe the rates to be slightly on the higher side. It would be a good idea to double check elsewhere before arriving in Praslin. The front desk had some day-tours (tortoise island etc) on offer as well but we found a much better and totally reliable deal from the beach boys at the cote d'or / anse volbert beach.

Overall, it was a good stay and would recommend you look out for the hot deals (booking.com) etc.

Room Tip: You could look for a room on the higher floor so as not be disturbed by the people passing by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pooja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
22
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Digue Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Its a wonderful place with a Good quiet atmosphore and people and that makes it special in all the ways... The swimming pool in the middle and all the rooms surroud it.. Incredibile also the restaurant is on the other side where Theres also pool nd the restaurant doesnt deve only dinner There but Theres disco they do Too There wow this place ia incredible... They do mostly buffet at night and it is typically creole that the first thing you Will think everyday is " i can't wait to go for dinner" breakfast is the same...but for its advisable to rent a car if you want to go to beach and all cus its a bit far from those things but There is shop a close by... I cannot wait to go to praslin and find this hotel again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shania simone c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Thank you so much, this is an amazing hotel, gorgeous surroundings and amazing food and service, we wished we could have stayed for longer, and hopefully we can next year, the beach is also stunning, this really is the definition of affordable pure luxury, if you come to this great Island w you would be crazy not to stay at this gorgeous hotel,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simon-darcy-ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

we paid online for buffet breakfast and we never got it! the manager said that they only do buffet when it-s full, EVEN THOUGH THEY CHARGED US FOR IT! they only served us EGGS, THATS IT! NO CHOICE! the owner Serge was extremely rude when we complainted about it! it is very overpriced for what you get. NO INTERNET WHATSOEVER, NOT EVEN FOR PURCHASE, we had to go every day to the hotel next door who would let us use it for free. i wouldnt reccomend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jose m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

In February we flew to Mahe International Airport with Emirates from Lisbon (via Dubai) and took a domestic plane (Air Seychelles) to Praslin just one hour after the arrival on the main island. We were welcomed very warmly by the seychelloise team and immediately went to bed after the long and tiring air travel. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are never too hot to sleep calmly (we were afraid of that before). The interior is classy and fulfilled our expectations, everything still looks new!! After we finished our nap, we decided to go to the closest beach, which is just 150 meters away from the hotel. It was fantastic!! The water was so clear, the sand so white and in comparison to Portugal the sun was even stronger. In the evenings we usually ate at the hotel restaurant, the food was excellent, fresh and tasty. Even our children liked it, which is a rare thing! ;)
For 4 days we rented a car and experienced the whole of Praslin, changed beaches every few hours and lived the good life (island life) for a while. Junior, the Son of the owner, played with our children and we had quality time for ourselves, which was great of him! The money was well invested, because we rarely had a great vacation like this in our lifes. Thanks to the team and we will surely come back one day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rui V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We (my wife, my son and I) stayed for 6 nights at Chateau Sans Souci and we enjoyed it a lot... The staff was very professional, we surely noticed that several times..
The rooms are done daily and to our satisfaction. The breakfasts fulfilled our expectations. Dinner: incredible! Octopus curry in coconut milk with fresh cinnamon leaves and the grilled red snapper were our personal highlights... We went out for lunch at La Pirogue Restaurant at Cote d'Or and Bon Bon Plume Restaurant at Anse Lazio, which is as good as Chateau Sans Souci.
The garden with different flowers and fruits and the great big pool enabled us to fully relax from the lively ways at home...

In summary: This place can be called a pearl in our memories.

Unfortunately we were so comfortable there, that we just stayed on Praslin after arrival... Next time we will see the rest of this last paradise on earth... When we come back, we will definitely have a stay on La Digue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Armin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This February we stayed for 13 nights at Chateau Sans Souci on Praslin Island. We went together with our befriended couple from Luckington and now we are just back home in the Brit-ish cold and we wish to return so badly!!
Our first impression upon arrival was like arriving in a Wonderland of Eden!
A quick description: 6 Tortoises in the garden, which you can feed yourself, in the garden you have lots of fruits like coconuts, starfruits, bananas, golden apple, avocado, mango and breadfruit trees and everything without pesticides or unnatural influences!, walking distance to the two most beautiful beaches in the world: Anse Georgette (12 min.) and Anse Lazio(40 min.) and for 25 pence (!) you get a one-way bus ticket to any destination on Praslin! Where do you get in the world!? The air was incredibly fresh, we enjoyed every breath we took on Praslin, Mahes air was already good, but Praslins was perfect!
In the garden we saw 9 black parrots (extremely rare!) once. And we hard other birds singing, while we enjoyed the breakfast, almost paradise-like feelings came up! We enjoyed the huge variety of different natural impressions, which were refreshing, revitalizing and totally new for us, because we never travelled to a tropical island destination before. Because of the fact, that they had a car rental at their property we decided to take a car for the first 4 days to explore the Island. It has only cost us 30 pounds per day and the rest of our stay we decided to take the 5 RUPEES BUS! The places that we enjoyed the most were the so-called Vallee de Mai and Anse Georgette! It was simply a marvelous atmosphere. We had boat trips to neighboring islands as well, including BBQ with Bertrand from the Boat Charter.

For breakfast we mostly had fruits, especially the different types of bananas and other exotic fruits, as we are raw-foodists and we we don’t have access to all that in the UK!! And if you get a chance to eat them in Europe, it’s never the same taste!! The closest beach is 200m away from the hotel. The sea was almost always perfect and invited us to take a swim every time we went there! In the late afternoon, we enjoyed the most beautiful sunsets with a glass of wine.
The shops are close by and can be reached by foot, the souvenir boutique is one of the cheapest in Seychelles, as we learned in time... It’s possible to buy your groceries in a nearby shop.

They have 2 pools at their property, a small one which is close to the restaurant and a big one next to the rooms. Every morning we took a refreshing swim!
Our room was maintained very well and the staff was always smiling and friendly! A service-oriented mentality, indeed.

The only negative point was that it was raining for 2 days! But that didn’t affect us that much, because we took swims in the big pool which is partly covered.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same and facing the swimming pool. Nothing to distinguish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Kerlan
0.1 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
143 reviews
2.7 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#4 of 8 in Grand Anse
149 reviews
10.1 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
985 reviews
3.8 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Constance Lemuria
Constance Lemuria
#1 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Sans Souci

Property: Chateau Sans Souci
Address: Anse Kerlan, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Kerlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Anse Kerlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Sans Souci 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, HRS, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Chateau Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Sans Souci Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing