We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelente!!”
Review of Chateau Sans Souci

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau Sans Souci
Ranked #3 of 3 Anse Kerlan B&B and Inns
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excelente!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

In February we flew to Mahe International Airport with Emirates from Lisbon (via Dubai) and took a domestic plane (Air Seychelles) to Praslin just one hour after the arrival on the main island. We were welcomed very warmly by the seychelloise team and immediately went to bed after the long and tiring air travel. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are never too hot to sleep calmly (we were afraid of that before). The interior is classy and fulfilled our expectations, everything still looks new!! After we finished our nap, we decided to go to the closest beach, which is just 150 meters away from the hotel. It was fantastic!! The water was so clear, the sand so white and in comparison to Portugal the sun was even stronger. In the evenings we usually ate at the hotel restaurant, the food was excellent, fresh and tasty. Even our children liked it, which is a rare thing! ;)
For 4 days we rented a car and experienced the whole of Praslin, changed beaches every few hours and lived the good life (island life) for a while. Junior, the Son of the owner, played with our children and we had quality time for ourselves, which was great of him! The money was well invested, because we rarely had a great vacation like this in our lifes. Thanks to the team and we will surely come back one day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rui V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
22
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We (my wife, my son and I) stayed for 6 nights at Chateau Sans Souci and we enjoyed it a lot... The staff was very professional, we surely noticed that several times..
The rooms are done daily and to our satisfaction. The breakfasts fulfilled our expectations. Dinner: incredible! Octopus curry in coconut milk with fresh cinnamon leaves and the grilled red snapper were our personal highlights... We went out for lunch at La Pirogue Restaurant at Cote d'Or and Bon Bon Plume Restaurant at Anse Lazio, which is as good as Chateau Sans Souci.
The garden with different flowers and fruits and the great big pool enabled us to fully relax from the lively ways at home...

In summary: This place can be called a pearl in our memories.

Unfortunately we were so comfortable there, that we just stayed on Praslin after arrival... Next time we will see the rest of this last paradise on earth... When we come back, we will definitely have a stay on La Digue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Armin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This February we stayed for 13 nights at Chateau Sans Souci on Praslin Island. We went together with our befriended couple from Luckington and now we are just back home in the Brit-ish cold and we wish to return so badly!!
Our first impression upon arrival was like arriving in a Wonderland of Eden!
A quick description: 6 Tortoises in the garden, which you can feed yourself, in the garden you have lots of fruits like coconuts, starfruits, bananas, golden apple, avocado, mango and breadfruit trees and everything without pesticides or unnatural influences!, walking distance to the two most beautiful beaches in the world: Anse Georgette (12 min.) and Anse Lazio(40 min.) and for 25 pence (!) you get a one-way bus ticket to any destination on Praslin! Where do you get in the world!? The air was incredibly fresh, we enjoyed every breath we took on Praslin, Mahes air was already good, but Praslins was perfect!
In the garden we saw 9 black parrots (extremely rare!) once. And we hard other birds singing, while we enjoyed the breakfast, almost paradise-like feelings came up! We enjoyed the huge variety of different natural impressions, which were refreshing, revitalizing and totally new for us, because we never travelled to a tropical island destination before. Because of the fact, that they had a car rental at their property we decided to take a car for the first 4 days to explore the Island. It has only cost us 30 pounds per day and the rest of our stay we decided to take the 5 RUPEES BUS! The places that we enjoyed the most were the so-called Vallee de Mai and Anse Georgette! It was simply a marvelous atmosphere. We had boat trips to neighboring islands as well, including BBQ with Bertrand from the Boat Charter.

For breakfast we mostly had fruits, especially the different types of bananas and other exotic fruits, as we are raw-foodists and we we don’t have access to all that in the UK!! And if you get a chance to eat them in Europe, it’s never the same taste!! The closest beach is 200m away from the hotel. The sea was almost always perfect and invited us to take a swim every time we went there! In the late afternoon, we enjoyed the most beautiful sunsets with a glass of wine.
The shops are close by and can be reached by foot, the souvenir boutique is one of the cheapest in Seychelles, as we learned in time... It’s possible to buy your groceries in a nearby shop.

They have 2 pools at their property, a small one which is close to the restaurant and a big one next to the rooms. Every morning we took a refreshing swim!
Our room was maintained very well and the staff was always smiling and friendly! A service-oriented mentality, indeed.

The only negative point was that it was raining for 2 days! But that didn’t affect us that much, because we took swims in the big pool which is partly covered.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same and facing the swimming pool. Nothing to distinguish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were in the hotel for 13 days and I can only say "We love our stay there". May be because we love each other :) The staff was very nice and friendly. Every day the room was perfectly cleaned...I read some of the reviews.... but we didn't have problems with the hot water, nor yet with the noise..We were there for the new 2013 and everything was perfect. The hotel was full and also the restaurant. The food was very delicious and always fresh made. After 12:00 there was a disco. My girlfriend had a birthday on 02.01 and the chief of the kitchen was so kind to made a cake for her because I wanted to make her a surprise. The table was decorated with flowers and the stuff made everything to make us feel special on that day. We rent a car from the owners of the hotel which was very convenient. The swimming pool is big enough and clean, so we spent a lot of time there. The girl from the reception organized for us a full day boat trip. Good quality for a reasonable price. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon and we loved it! The service was just great, e.g. my husband went deep see fishing and the chef of the kitchen grilled the fish he cought that day for us. The food was delicious especially the different kind of fish and rich in variety. If the hotel was fully booked they served a buffet and if there were less people they served a menu. On our last evening we even had a barbecue at the beach. You can rent cars there and the bus stop is very close, so you can go to other parts of the islands easily.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unterfranke_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Spent 6 days with my family. It was simple great.

Our room was spaceous, the beds are comfortable, the bathroom is nice. Only the ceiling fan was noisy. The swimming pool is a bless for the kids. After 6 o'clock when it's getting dark and the ocean is rough they enjoyed it very much an spent hours in the s hallow part of the pool.

The restaurant is fantastic and frankly the chef is a genius. I'm not a big fan of sea-foods but due to the chef I ate different fishes at every single night. I cannot say what was the menu at New Year Eve night because the supply was extremly wide and everything what I tried was tasty.

The staff was very supportive. Up on request they organized a full day boat trip (fishing, island hopping + bbq) for me at a very comperative price.

If you take this hotel you will need a car. Anse Kerlan is very good place to stay, close to the airport but there is nothing special to see in walking distance. The Vallée de Mai takes 15 minutes to drive and this is the closest famous place to visit. Cote d'Or takes cca 30 minutes to drive and the world famous Anse Lazio is in and around 45 minutes far away from there. Although the Anse Kerlan is published as the longest beach in Seychelles all publisher forgot to mention that it is the most unusefull beach too. The shore is extremly narrow and the bank is "walled up" with heavy stones.

Altogether, Chateau Sans Souce was a very good choice. Here I could see that there are seychellois people who create real value for a reasonable price. Thanks for that 6 days, we"ll never forgot about it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhiltheGroundhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Kerlan
0.1 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
158 reviews
3.8 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,331 reviews
2.7 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#4 of 8 in Grand Anse
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
1,004 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
221 reviews
4.9 mi away
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suite...
#1 of 1 in Anse Bois de Rose
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Sans Souci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Sans Souci

Property: Chateau Sans Souci
Address: Anse Kerlan, Praslin Island, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Kerlan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Anse Kerlan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Sans Souci 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chateau Sans Souci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Sans Souci Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing