We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure how they get 4 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Parkhotel Morris Novy Bor
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Novy Bor
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I spent two nights at this hotel and while the basics are fine, the finishing touches are just not there and it really does not stack up as a four star hotel.

The rooms are small but clean with relatively small beds and a tiny TV. I believe there may have been an English channel but the satellite system was clearly not working as there was no picture for the two nights that I stayed there. Thus only local Czech TV was available. Irritatingly, the wifi did not work properly and kept dropping everywhere in the hotel except in the lobby.

Service in the hotel restaurant was extremely poor and the waitrons had quit an attitude!

The hotel is well situated and the surroundings very scenic. This is the only reason I would return! As a business hotel it is really not suitable and they really need to improve standards if they wish to attract foreign tourists.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PeterGrobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 325 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

I choosed for my wellness stay Parkhotel Moris in Novy Bor because I know both other 2 hotels Morris (Česká Lípa and Mariánské Lázně - all 3 on 4* level) and I like it. And I was looking forward to my stay here with my family. Nový Bor is small and nice town in North Bohemia, near to Česká Lípa. But car navigation didn't know exact adress of the hotel although it is situated in the heart of the town. I have to ask local people how to get there. The hotel has a small parking lot in front of the hotel and another parking lot in side. It was relativly comfortable parking.

The hall was cosy and decorated with glass sculptures (Nový Bor is the town of glass) but the reception desk was not so nice as we expected. Main part of hotel is situated in reconstructed panel house and it is probably the biggest limit. You can see it in corridors, stairs and other common spaces. To the room you will get by one old and not too fast elevator (often you will wait long for it). The receptionist was kind slightly above average.

The room was the biggest disappointment for me. As I wrote in the begining I know "sister's" hotels Morris in Česká Lípa and in Mariánské Lázně and they are able to provide much more better rooms. My room consists of two connected rooms - something like living-room and bed-room. Design is not so nice - simply the reconstructed panel house. The bathroom was ugly - with very old lamps (lights) - in the town of glass I should expect better design of lights. Toilet was leaking and when I asked the reception to repair the door to the bathroom it came receptionist to repair it. So I repaired it myself. In addition to this - it is not so nice if there are some residues of soap reservoir and other equipment on the walls.

The room was relatively clean. Furniture was not too new. The bed was average comfortable and overall I could sleep here average. Disadvantage of our room was that it was very near to the elevator and we could hear still this old elevator. The room was average equiped - tv, minibar, hairdryer. Nothing surprising. I could recommend to the owner simple thing - refurbish the hotel as soon as possible.

Our stay was wellness. And wellness services were wonderful. The staff was kind from the beginning. To change the time of massage, order extra procedures and so on was no problem. I must tell it is probably better than in Morris Česká Lípa.

Restaurant was very good. Breakfasts are rich and quality quite good. Dinner menu was also very good. Only one negative was difference between the staff. One new waitress was too kind but too slow. Other waitress - sure practised - was fast but no much kind.

The hotel director take care about the hotel. I met him on hotel reception repeatly. Our 3 day stay were during the czech bank holiday - and unfortunately thats why we couldn't visit the famous glass factory in Novy Bor for what we got voucher on hotel. Also we had voucher for swimming pool - it is in Česká Lípa (the same voucher you will get in Morris Česká Lípa). Overall Parkhotel Moriss Nový Bor provides 4* level and it is above average. But the price for my stay was only slightly higher than the same stay in Morris Mariánské Lázně and absolutely the same as stay in Česká Lípa. And it is not comparable. If you have choice I can recommend you - take the Česká Lípa - it is much more better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I´ve spent a romantic weekend in this hotel. This hotel is fine, rooms are nic, comfortable and clean. Hotel restaurant looks very good and also the cuisine is fine. There is also small wellness (sauna + whirlpool). What is PERFECT is breakfast.
I can reccommand this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiborK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

Apparently the only hotel in a town of no great touristic interest ... it is the centre of the glass industry in that part of the country

PRO:
- easy to find just at the entrance of the small town, on the first roundabout
- parking easy but not plentiful
- restaurant huge but could not get into due to a convention ... had to eat at the bar ...
- food more than ok
- price reasonable
- staff mostly friendly and nice

CON:
- room was fairly basic, bed quite uncomfortable, narrow and too hard
- bathroom of the early sixties ....
- small TV, was surprised to find a hard porn channel on free viewing ... no problem to me but would not particularly like that small kids see it
- staff not always fluent in English had problem in getting a fork and knife ...

Stayed: October 2008
2  Thank AESCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janab879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katerinalenska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 213zdenkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Novy Bor
15.1 mi away
Hotel Ceska Koruna
Hotel Ceska Koruna
#1 of 3 in Decin
70 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel Berg
Hotel Berg
#1 of 5 in Stare Splavy
45 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hotel Port
Hotel Port
#1 of 4 in Doksy
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hotel Am Berg Oybin
Hotel Am Berg Oybin
#1 of 2 in Oybin
20 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel Morris Ceska Lipa
Hotel Morris Ceska Lipa
#1 of 7 in Ceska Lipa
329 reviews
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Penzion DRUHY DOMOV
#1 of 1 in Novy Bor
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Morris Novy Bor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Morris Novy Bor

Address: Zizkova 269, Novy Bor 473 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Liberec Region > Novy Bor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Novy Bor
Price Range: $90 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Morris Novy Bor 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parkhotel Nový Bor is found in a quiet part of town in a large park close to the centre of Nový Bor. Hotel was built in 1996 by connecting the original neo-classicist villa and a new wing with a restaurant and hotel itself. There has been made a reconstruction at the end of 2005 and beginning of 2006 and reopening of the hotel. Hotel is now presented with new decorations, modern gastronomy and professional staff. Parkhotel offers luxury accomodation in 39 rooms. Necessary equipment in our standard room is TV+SAT, telephone and minirefreshments. Hotel guests can choose between standard double room and small or large suite. Standard double rooms have been designed as modern, business and luxury. NON SMOKING HOTEL! We have available restaurant Atrium, lobby bar, lounges and in the summer two newly opended outdoor patios for Parkhotel visitors. Eating in our restaurant Atrium is truly unforgetable experience evoking a feeling as if you were sitting in the open-air. Modern gastronomy of the menu and very pleasant waitresses shall reasure you in your enjoyable experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Parkhotel Morris Novy Bor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing