We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel on Praslin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel on Praslin”
Reviewed August 28, 2010

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Black Parrot in August. We stayed in room 508, which was a corner room with two beautiful views (most rooms face one direction or another). The balcony was a perfect place to take in the sun and sound of the ocean each morning, with two very comfortable chairs. The room itself was very clean and modern - the bed was extremely comfortable, and housekeeping was fantastic. We had some issues with our air conditioner unit, but when we called the front desk, someone came to fix it within 10 minutes.
I would highly recommend staying in the Black Parrot area of the hotel vs. the main Coco de Mer part if you are looking for peace and quiet. I found the Black Parrot pool area to be much better than the main hotel's pool; it was higher up on the hill, offering amazing views of the Indian Ocean, a small infinity pool, the lounge chaises were more comfortable (with extra cushions available), attentive drink service, and fewer people. At any given time, there were never more than 2 other couples lounging at the pool, vs. 15-20 at the main pool with kids sometimes splashing around. The two downsides to the BP are that there is no food available at the BP pool, and it is a 5-minute walk back to the rooms from the main hotel restaurant. We didn't mind this but some people may, as the walk back is up a slight hill.
The food at the hotel was fine. We were quite surprised to find that food in the Seychelles is not very good, and there are no restaurants around the hotel one can walk to for lunch or dinner. If great food is important to you, you may want to look into other islands. We found this to be the most disappointing part of the trip. At Coco de Mer, the buffet dinners were much better than the restaurant at the pool.
For excursions, we went to Anse Lazio, Vallee de Mai, and La Digue. For Anse Lazio, we used the hotel's free shuttle service, which leaves at 9am and returns at 3pm. I would strongly recommend asking the hotel to pack your lunch for you to bring to the beach, as there are only 2 restaurants at Anse Lazio, and both are very pricey. We made the mistake of not doing so, and suffered the consequences. We tried to have lunch at Le Chevalier, where they were charging nearly $20 for a burger with fries, but after waiting for our food for more than 30 minutes and watching other patrons unhappily eating their food, we left and waited to have lunch back at the hotel. The service at Le Chevalier was unbelievably bad. We took a taxi to Vallee de Mai, and the local bus to the jetty to go to La Digue. After the Le Chevalier disaster, we asked the hotel to pack lunches when we went to La Digue, and they did a great job.
The service at the hotel is superb. Richie, one of the managers, was extremely helpful when it came to deciding which transportation to take where, called someone to meet us at La Digue to help us rent bicycles, etc. The bar and general staff are very very friendly, and made us feel welcome. If you are looking for a quite place to stay in Praslin with modern amenities, I would certainly give Black Parrot a try.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGrlNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    244
    68
    29
    20
See reviews for
115
508
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bideford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We travelled to the Co Co de Mer Hotel for a holiday/wedding and honeymoon it did not disappoint. The hotel is superb very quiet, tucked away perfect for couples and families who are able to amuse themselves. The staff from the groundsmen to the Operations Manager were simply some of the nicest people we have ever met. So polite nothing is too much trouble etc. The room was beautiful and every day new flower arrangements were made on the main bed from swans to hearts etc. The food is something else so much variety and the quality was totally five star. The talents of the chefs were superb we put on pounds! We could not fault our stay even if we tried. Our wedding was beautiful and the attention to detail from Phillip Ash was amazing a truly lovely man. We are in rapture over this whole experience we have had a truly wonderful time. Thank you to the Co Co de Mer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poggleswood093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

This review is for the Coco de Mer part of the hotel NOT Black Parrot suites part.

First the rooms
We took the standard room and I've got to say it was stunning. The room was massive comprising of large bathroom - 2 sinks and mirrors, shower, toliet and Bidet. Outside you're given a kingsize bed with a corner bath comfortably fitting 2, a 30" flat screen tv, a fridge and cofee/tea kettle etc.

Down some steps and you've got a lounge area and then out through some doors and you've got an outside seating area. They say every room has a sea view. We were in 53 and we basically looked over the sea and palm trees and had the sound of the sea all the time.

The room was spotlessly clean and well maintained by the staff.

I looked at the superior rooms and I could see no benefit to them except they were closer to the sea front. In fact I would say our location and view was superior so maybe save your money.

The staff.
Absolutely fantastic and helpful. They have bus and ferry timetables and a great map of the island with where to go and where things are.

Take the time to know their names - they're pinned on their uniforms - and they'll help make your stay even better.

Amenities
Pool, table tennis, mini golf, gym (its in great condition), giant chess and a library. You can also rent bikes.

Food and drink
If you're getting a great deal with half board then go for it. You'll have loads of buffets. We don't like buffets and ate a la carte in the hotel. When we left they were just in he process of making the poolside a la carte restaurant open 6 days a week. Otherwise you can order a la carte and eat in the restaurant with the other Buffet diners. They do a selection of meat, pasta and creole so you should find something.

At 4 they give free cofee/tea and biscuits in the poolside bar which is nice though wathc out for the birds as they were getting cheekier and cheekier by the day!

Breakfast has everything - cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, bacon and eggs, pancakes, waffles, cheese, salami, milkshakes, orange, water, toast - seriously everything.

Around the third day we stopped buying water and just used to fill our bottles from the tap in the bathroom. We both drank that for the rest of our holiday without incident and seriously its the nicest water I've ever drank anywhere in the world.

Prices inside
By now you should know that there is nothing cheap in the seychelles. You pay the same or more as in the uk. Small bottle of beer will cost you up to £3. A meal with some wine will cost you up to £30 each. A decent bottle of wine costs around £12. The fact that a donation is made to a local school for that particular bottle also gives you the feelgood factor! Cocktails cost around £6. In the coco de mer they do a great range of cocktails. My only niggles are - they should use more fresh fruit rather than cartoned and they need to increase the measures of alcohol used.

I recommend you stock up in Heathrow with spirits and home for (pringles and choccies) for some home comforts. You can bring in 2 litres each into the Seychelles. They also have a duty free shop once you've gone passport control. Use it...

Location
This is the only reason why I've not given 5 stars. I'm not sure whether this is just the time we visited but this side of he coast is prone to lots of seaweed. So much that you will find it difficult to swim in the sea. Its also incredibly windy. Remember as well this is an island so expect 9 changes of weather a day each day!

One side of the beach (Black Parrot side) is artificial.Its sand up to a point then an artifical raised sandy lookaliky bit. That said on the Coco de Mer side they have built a walkway to a small beach thats palm fringed, pure white sand and huge granite bouldered at the end.

One nice thing is to walk up to the Black parrot part of the hotel and have a drink in their bar. Its high up, overlooks the sea. When we went we were often the only people there sharing a bottle of wine watching the sunset. Ahhhh - romantic eh?

The hotel is isolated. There's nothing around that you could visit (ie beaches, restaurants by walking). You'll need to go by taxi (10-15E) or by bus (5SR) but the buses stop early ie around 7. If you want to hire a car you can do it in the hotel for 50E a day which includes insurance of 10E. You might be thinking bike is an option. Just be prepared for the journey you will need to take will involve some very steep hills. Just wait till you take the bus back -that is an experience in itself!

The guide books (Lonely Planet) all mention La Rochers as a great place to eat and a hidden gem which is ten minutes walk away. Bad news. The onwers sold it and its not open anymore.

One of the great things though the hotel does is give a free bus ride to Anse Lazio beach. It departs at 9 and picks you up at 3. This is a fabulous beach and possibly the best snorkelling we found. The bus also goes along the Valley De Mai route so try asking reception to ask the driver to drop you off there (20E admission). It goes Monday to Friday.

The hotel also does it's own free nature walk every Tues/Thurs and Sat. Coco De Mer sits in some 50 acres of jungle and it owns that as well. The walk lasts two hours and you go up the mountain eventually coming out on some large granite slabs with great views over the indian ocean. The guide gives lots of info about the trees, birds and flora and herbs. While we there someone slipped on the way down and hurt themselves. It happens - its nobody fault. When we went back to do the walk on our own a few days later the hotel had put in loads of wooden steps to improve the path. Thats how much they care. On our own solo walk we saw the elusive Black parrot ( 3 of them).

If you like activity there's a couple of walks you can do across the island. They're not taxing in any shape or form but get you out and about.

The hotel is only 5-10 minutes from the jetty by bus or by taxi. I recommend you go at least for 1 day to La Digue on the ferry (20E return) and if possible go for a night and just book into a B&B off the cuff. This was our favourite island for beaches, people, attitude and life!

Right. Thats it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spunx77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We have just returned from our wedding and honeymoon in the coco de mer hotel. We stayed in the Black parrot suites which were gorgeous, roomy and spotless, we had 508 which offers a duel aspect view over the ocean.. stunning! The hotel staff were exceptional, nothing is too much trouble for them. Philip the manager was amazing, he personally made sure everything was in order for our wedding day which was absolutley perfect,he even videoed it for us on our camera! we wed on the fishermans wharf which was decorated with palms and flowers for us and then we had a romantic meal there in the evening, it was very personal and romantic.We took our own music which was played throughout the ceremony which was a lovely touch.
The rooms we had was very spacious and very clean, the room lady did the room out beautifully every day, and the bed looked amazing each day with different designs on the bed and bath with fresh flowers dotted around the room.

The food is fantastic (and plentyful), be prepared to gain a couple of pounds! We stayed on half board which was ample.

The whole hotel is spotless, people constantly working on the gardens and beaches, we stayed in July so there was some seaweed on one beach, but the hotel has a couple of beaches and the other one was clear,so it was not a problem, the hotel puts on free coaches to the other side of the island to anse lazio beach which is a beautiful larger beach. we hired a car so were able to explore and find secluded coves around the island, all of which are stunning.
We visited the valley de mai, which was fascinating (although I wouldn't recommend a private tour, you dont need one).

The entertainment was very low key but really nice (dont go here if you want to party!) the staff did traditional sega dancing once per week and encouraged people to join in which was fun.

The black parrot area which was seperate from the main hotel is lovely, with its own bar, pool and infinity pool, although no restaraunt.

we travelled on the winter season, so there was a mixture of scorching sunshine with short squally showers (which werent a problem) and it was a bit breezy.
Overall we had a brilliant time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caz1johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Springfield, PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

The hotel rooms are really nice. The added animals etc... made from towels on your bed each day are great. The breakfast are very good with lots of selection although one day there was no manager on duty so the staff could have cared less about you. The dinners are not until 7:30. This is a little late when you have to get up for tours etc... They had very few patrons when we were there because of the seaweed, but they run a daily bus to Anse Lazio beach which is possibly the best beach in the world. The seaweed was not even that bad, as the snorkeling off the hotel was pretty good. We saw lots of fish. Overall this hotel is in a very quite place and will not disappoint.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PacificSuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We have just returned from our honeymoon where we spent the second week at the Black Parrot Suites. It was totally blissful and a perfect choice for our honeymoon. We had room 504 which apparently is the biggest of the suites and beautiful with a lovely view of the sea from all the windows. The rooms are big, modern, bright, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. The shower was huge, as was the whole bathroom and the bath behind the bed was lovely so you could have a relaxing soak whilst looking out the windows to the sea and all the balconies are private. The only thing I could say about the room which is such a tiny minute criticism which is that it lacks wardrobe space but as I say such a insignificant thing and certainly I don't think anyone would consider it an important factor in chosing a hotel!

We were so well looked after by all the staff without exception, they were all incredibly friendly, helpful always polite and they seemed genuinely interested in doing whatever they could to make sure you are looked after. The Suites have their own host/butler and they were just fantastic as well.

The pool area at the suites is clean and again has a wonderful view and is beautiful and tranquil, in fact we were told we were there is their low season but most of the time it seemed like we were the only people in the suites as we never had anyone else around the pool area at the same time as us so it did feel very exclusive.

The food was great, good choice, nice variety and we enjoyed that it changed from one night to the next so one evening it would be a buffet and the next it could be an a la carte menu. The bar prices were fine, similar to here in the UK actually which may sound like it's expensive but basically there's not that many places to go now in the world where we get dirt cheap food and drink anymore really are there? One tip though if you're a smoker, they sell cigarrettes at the hotel at the bar but they are very expensive (about £8 a pack of 20 Malborough lights!!!) so get them from a supermarket when you're out and about.

We made use of the gym facility at the hotel and used their snorkles and took a kayak out one day too and borrowed books from their library.

On our last day Emeline from the suites arranged a trip for us, we were picked up by taxi and taken to the Jetty where we went over to La Digue which is beautiful and well worth the visit, it's even more laid back than Praslin. We had a private driver who took us all around the island and one of the very few vehicles on the island, everyone tens to cycle or catch an ox cart! We had a lovely lunch at a beach restaurant and then relaxed on a beach there (can't remember the name of it though but it's in the national park) and then returned back to the hotel on the last ferry and taxi back to the hotel. The trip cost us £110 for the two of us which I thought was good value in comparison to the ones the rep tries to sell.

Having read the other reviews before going we were prepared for the seaweed in the sea at the beach for the hotel so actually we didn't use the beach there but we did go to Anse Lazio on the courtesy shuttle bus and it is ever bit the idyllic picture postcard beach and definately worth going.

One major plus for me with the Seychelles for me as a whole is that I did at all get bitten by mosquito which I always do when they're around but I even gave up using the repellent as I just didn't see any at all.

I would thoroughly recommend the Coco De Mer and Black Parrot Suites particularly is you are looking for a relaxing beautiful holiday where you are very well looked after which exceptional personal service and an all round delightful hotel. Do not choose this for a holiday if you a looking for a lively, sprawling resort or a location with lots of shops and lots of bars/clubs as you won't find that here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jidsprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Coco de Mer is a small hotel on Praslin Island with an awsome view on the sea (no big surpise on the Seychelles.) It's a lovely hotel with the rooms on one side of the main area, the suites being on the other. We chose the suite and I think it was a good decision. It had a pretty small a step-down bedroom with a jaccuzzi which we never used. The bathroom was big and nice, plus it had a cozy terrace/balcony overlooking the garden and the sea.

Breakfast was all right. We had lunch and supper at the poolside restaurant. Interestingly, here one of the waitresses was really not loving either her job or the guests but we could live with her attitude - we turned to another waitress. Otherwise the staff were great. The owner's wife was from Austria, she was a very nice lady.

The beach was great (again, no surpise), but the sea was full of seaweed. Probably because of the wind direction which changes according to seasons, as I understand. Swimming in the seaweed is no fun so we opted for the pool.

Praslin Island is one the most romantic places of the Seychelles, if it's not an understatment since everything is most romantic there. Our favourite sport was Cote D' Or beach which I can't describe, it would sound so banal. Just go there and see it for yourself. There's a beautiful restaurant/arts gallery on the beach where we had dinner one night. Oh my... Anse Lazio is the most famous beach but then again, see it for yourself. Wherever you go, you can't miss. It's just pure paradise.

Vallée de Mai is a must. It's like Jurassic Park and it's real. You walk in a prehistoric rainforest. I've never seen anything like this in my life.

Also, you can visit many of the smaller island from Praslin. We went to La Digue which is like 20 minutes from Praslin on a boat. Oh my, oh my... The paradise of paradise. On La Digue you can only walk or rent a bicycle. No cars are allowed.

It's easy to get to Praslin from Mahé. Either you take a small prop plane (it's the fastest way) or take the catamaran. Praslin is a must when you're on the Seychelles and Coco de Mer is a very good choice if you prefer a quiet and lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiG-29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Bois de Rose
2.7 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#4 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
2.8 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
5.9 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites

Property: Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Address: Anse Bois de Rose Bay, Anse Bois de Rose, Praslin Island 22965, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Bois de Rose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Bois de Rose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco De Mer - Black Parrot Hotel Anse Bois De Rose
Coco De Mer - Black Parrot Suites Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing