We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peasant and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
286 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Peasant and relaxing”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

It`s a medium size resort in Seychelles , Praslin island , this time of the year the currents make for sea weed on it`s small beach which makes it less attractive . It`s tastefully arranged , relaxing place , the food is good and some kill the time by the pool others take a car and wonder around the small island - you can be at the famous - and rightfully so , Anse Lazio in 30 minutes or the UNESCO site , Valle de May in 15 , or take even a bicycle if you`re young enough . Price for a Margarita cocktail is about 7 Eu at the bar or in the evening at dinner red wine by the glass 4 Eu .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrei F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    244
    68
    29
    20
See reviews for
115
507
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had read very mixed reviews about this property. It is an amazing place. We left there only yesterday but felt we needed to say just how good this place is. It is expensive - but far more reasonable than other places in the Seychelles. We chose to go half board and were not disappointed. Although we do not usually like 'buffet'style evening meals the choice was exceptional and the chefs went out of their way to make sure you enjoyed their food. Each night had a different theme and we were not disappointed. This is the first place that we could look at the wine list, wine was more or less English prices.
We stayed in the lovely Black Parrot Suites. These are about 200 yards from the main resort. There are not many rooms and the area is adult only. The rooms are beautifully appointed and we sat on our balcony most nights to watch the sunset. They have their own pool and bar area and so benefit from being quiet.
All the staff are very friendly wherever you are. They go out of their way to ensure you have a superb time. We did the free nature walk and the guide was very knowledgeable. We hired bikes and toured the area.

Room Tip: Our room was 502 and was well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous holiday in the Seychelles. The Coco de Mer Hotel is well-maintained with a lovely pool and has a casual dining area outside with free wi-fi. The main dining room served the usual breakfast buffet with freshly made omelettes and crepes. The dinners were mostly a la carte with good choices and a reasonably priced wine-list. The room and bathroom were spacious with doors leading out onto a private beach area with loungers. There are stunning views of the sea most of the rooms and from the Fisherman's Wharf one would be able to snorkel if the winds and currants permitted it. When we were there there was a lot of wind and a lot of seaweed in the water. There are day trips arranged to the better beaches on the island a few times a week. We certainly would recommend this hotel as we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Coco D'Mer would always be one of our most treasured memories - thanks to the great property and courteous staff. We had booked the place after reading favorable reviews on tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed !!

We stayed in Room 55 - and enjoyed a spectacular view of the ocean. CDM has its own private beach (and a pretty decent one too), a wonderful jetty for a star gazing and a host of other facilities that are really worth your dime. But more than the property, it was the professional and courteous service that stole our hearts.

Our stay was not devoid of issues though. We landed in the middle of on of Seychelles worst summers and the airconditioning was not built for a room of this size. Finally, we had to move our bed around to have a more comfortable sleep. But, given that our manager(s) took personal interest to make us at home - I am going to give them the benefit of the doubt.

On the second instance, I tried booking a package through the hotel for a Sunday snorkelling trip (which I later cancelled) - only to arrange something decent on my own later at about half the price. Again, I can't compare it the quality of the package the hotel was arranging - since I never took it.

Frankly, these were an insignificant botheration in what was otherwise an absolutely awesome stay !! Would recommend CDM to all and definitely stay their again if I am in the Seychelles

Positives -
Brilliant Property, Well-maintained Private Beach, Courteous Staff, Super awesome Spa

Negatives -
Not really a negative, but it wouldn't hurt to do a check of offerings from outside-agents before booking tours/packages through the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NipunSareen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have spent a part of our honeymoon in a Black Parrot Junior Suite at Coco de Mer. The welcome was very warm and we were greeted by one of the managers. The service was very personal and we were very well looked after by the staff at Black Parrot Suites. The suites are located in a separate building with its own pool. The calm and very personal feeling was just perfect for a honeymoon.
June is part of the south-east monsoon season and there was always a breeze on the coast where Coco de Mer is located. As well, it is the season for seaweed on this coast. The beach is cleaned on a regular basis but we honestly still did not feel like going swimming there. However, this was not a big issue, as we were busy with excursion to La Digue, Vallée de Mai, snorkelling at St. Pierre etc. We once joined the free shuttle service to Anse Lazio, which was very convenient and the beach there just amazing. The rest of the time we enjoyed ourselves around the pool reading and sunbathing. I had a very relaxing massage at the spa. The service there too is very personal.
Food was delicious with a lot of choice and prices for drinks very reasonable (on Seychelles niveau).
I would definitely return to Coco de Mer and believe the extra cost for a Black Parrot Junior Suite is worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ilot_paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We booked a last minute trip in February through Expedia. We'd seen the reviews on Tripadvisor had been good and we were not disappointed. I'd planned all the transfers from the airport to the hotel myself, it was fairly easy and saved a few pounds!
The hotel is great, the rooms clean, decorated with beautiful flowers every day. The staff were really friendly and humoured my poor attempts at French on a regular basis. The hotel is a tad isolated, but hop on the local bus to get a good feel for the island and people. Otherwise you'd need a taxi. Eating out was therefore rather challenging, so we mainly stayed at the hotel and ate in the seafront Resturant. The food was delicious, I haven't found a spaghetti dish as good since I've been home! The fish curry comes highly recommended. The menu was however limited. In the other buffet Resturant the food was more expensive, however the Creole night gave us the opportunity the try some local dishes. The breakfasts were tasty, you had the choice of keeping it light and simple with fruits or tucking into the works.

The hotel has lots on offer, beach trips, nature walk, snorkel hire, kayaks, bikes and more, I would highly recommend making the most of these as they are either cheap or free, allowing you to break up the time laying in a hammock! There is afternoon tea and biscuits served at the poolside bar every afternoon, which really rather appealed to me.

Coco De Mer, excellent. Thank you.


  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GourmandGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here 6 nights for he final part of oud honeymoon achter a rond trip in South-Africa. Nice place by the ocean, although it takes some effort toe get around Praslin to visit other places and restaurants. The public transportation was a solution for us during the day and a cheaper pirate taxi at night. 6 nights is enough to visit al interesting places on Praslin while having enough time toe relax at the marvelous beaches. In Seychelles wintertime the beaches at the other side of the island are the best, like cote d'or or anse lazio. The pool of the hotel is very nice and the staff is very friendly if you are friendly to them as well. Rooms are spatious and the bath Is nice. Also very good pancakes at breakfast! So, recommended if you are willing to be a bit more adventurous and self-relying for getting your way around the island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikkasscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Bois de Rose
2.7 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
2.8 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#2 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
3.5 mi away
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
Dhevatara Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#5 of 12 in Anse Volbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Digue Island Lodge
La Digue Island Lodge
#3 of 7 in La Digue Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
5.9 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites

Property: Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Address: Anse Bois de Rose Bay, Anse Bois de Rose, Praslin Island 22965, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Bois de Rose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Bois de Rose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco De Mer - Black Parrot Hotel Anse Bois De Rose
Coco De Mer - Black Parrot Suites Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing