We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel with excellent service and accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spent a really amazing 7 nights at the Coco de Mer hotel on Praslin. The room was just superb: with al nice terrace, nice bathroom, large bed, and even a bath in the 'livingroom'! The rooms were cleaned tidy every day with flowers on the bed and in the bathroom. The roomservice was really luxurious, because they even lightened the lamps next to the bed in the evening! The breakfast buffet was magnicifent! Everything was available: eggs, bread, milkshake, fruit juice, fresh fruit, oatmeal, pancakes. It was everydag a feast to have breakfast in this hotel. There is a private beach, but it was not very 'attractive' because of the seaweed. We finished every day in the lounge with a nice cocktail. The buffet in the evening is rather pricy, but the 'A la carte bar' offers good alternatives. The pool is also nice. The 2hour hike up in the hills with guide Joseph is highly recommended. Praslin itself is a much more quiet island cfr to Mahé, with more beautiful nature.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 824 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

I ..spent a wonderful relaxing holiday in the Seychelles,the highlight of my stay was at the Coco de Mer Hotel on Praslin Island
From arrival thru to departure,their warm and friendly welcome,immediately made me feel at home,the service standards and hospitality, never faltered.Accommodation ,was superb,large ,airy very spacious room,tastefully decorated,most comfortable.meals served in large portions,high quality,tastefully prepared,and presented. I have many allergies,my special needs were catered for with undeniable care ,
My heartfelt thanks to The Kitchen Team.
This hotel is truly set in Paradise ,beautifuly manicured gardens ,gleaming ocean blue pools,(kids as well)coconut palms swaying in the breeze,lush tropical surrounding,white beach,what more can one dream of .Oh !yes,the Spa ,,truly rejuvenating,warm ,caring hands,fragrant ,hot oils ,lazing in a luxurious spa,heavenly spoilt .This is what a holiday is about ,Seychells is not expensive ,it's an experience ,imerse yourself in her glory and beauty,the wide blue ocean,cloudless sky, white sands, glorious orange sunset,romantic starry nights.Can one put a price for all this ,truly nature in her element.
No wonder many couples have their dream weddings and honeymoons here .I watched (from a distance)a couple tying the knot on the Fishermans Wharf,what a magnificient sight in the sunset,the setting,flowers,fine detail,meticulously planned,congratulations Mr Phillip,wedding planner,and team.
Overall I had an awesome holiday,my humble Thanks to the Management and Staff,I take away a priceless memory,for sure to return someday to The Coco de Mer Hotel to once again saviour ,their impeckable Hospitality.

Room Tip: Lie on your back ,listen to the music of the waves ,feel the cool breeze on your warm forehead,enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 544Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We got married on 14th July 2012 at the coco de mer and it was brilliant . We couldn't ask for anything better . The staff were all genuinely helpful and were always happy . We must say a huge thank you to phillip the wedding organiser who went out of his way to make sure everything went smoothly .the black parot suites are amazing and you are away from the main hotel . There are only about 12 suites with a private pool and the black parrot suites have a member of staff on duty up untill about 11 . (Fiona was wonderful)
The food was so good . I could keep on saying how beautiful and relaxing this place is but I'm sure you get the point by now . What I will say is that if you you chose to stay here stay in the black parrot suite . Once again thank you to all the staff for making our wedding go without a hitch . If we could afford it we would go back tomorrow

Room Tip: Black parrot suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frazer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have just returned from 8 nights at the Black Parrot suites at Coco der Mer and would agree with a lot of the comments made by recent reviewers. Our room was large and very comfortable except for the bed, which could do with being replaced. The staff are so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. At times we were the only people using the fabulous pool and facilities and it felt a lot like our own private villa.

The Waterfront Spa is staffed by two wonderful therapists and we loved their individually designed treatments.

Although we had a wonderful time, our holiday was somewhat spoilt when our room was broken into while we were at dinner on our second night. Luckily, we didn't lose anything as they were obviously looking for cash, which was safely locked in our room safe and our cameras and my Kindle were left untouched in the room. The hotel owners, managers and staff were wonderful and immediately moved us to another room and by way of apology, organised a day's car hire and a good bottle of wine, both free of charge. We can't fault their response but the incident was a little unsettling.

The food was good but we were very grateful that we had taken the advice of another reviewer and booked in half board as the dinner buffet was very expensive.

July is not the best time of year on this side of the island and you can't really swim in the sea because of all the seaweed. The hotel solves this by offering a free shuttle to Anse Lasio on the other side of the island, where the swimming and snorkelling were idyllic. We also did a day trip, organised through Select Seychelles, to La Digue island which was a highlight and we'd strongly recommend it.

All in all, we'd rate the Black Parrot as very good, but it falls just short of Paradise.

Room Tip: If you want to have peace and quiet and avoid noisy children, it's worth paying the extra to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy-PE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Huge room with private veranda. Lovely pool, great over water hangout. Friendly staff especially the guy who hired out the kayaks and did the garden tours - climbing the coconut trees was good. Unless you have a car you will end up eating there, the food was fine but buffet night was very expensive - there are better, more atmospheric, places to eat. Two tiny things- doors and windows were left unlocked (twice) after the rooms were cleaned and fake plastic ferns were a bit naff - overall the decor was fine but felt a touch dated.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davofrombr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Not long back from a wonderful holiday in Seychelles. My husband and I booked through the internet directly with Kuoni, and their local representative tour operator Creole were perfectly organized and efficient throughout our trip.

Journey
Flew with Emirates from Glasgow to Dubai, Dubai to Seychelles. It took 21 hours from our front door to arriving at Coco De Mer in Praslin (15 minutes Air Seychelles flight from Mahe), so a heck of a long journey but definitely worth it. Have seen some negative comments about Emirates in other reviews, however we thought they were fine - everything was on time, connections not overly long, food was acceptable and there were plenty of movies and games to keep the sleep-deprived traveler occupied. Only travel hitch was that on the return journey we had to spend six hours at Seychelles airport due to the timing of the Air Seychelles flight from Praslin to Mahe, so it took 25 travel hours to get home but it didn’t dampen our enthusiasm to return one day.

Hotel
There is no doubt that Coco De Mer is a beautiful place to stay. More suited to couples than children as there is not much for kids to do except splash around in the sea and pool. It certainly has that Wow Factor, and everything is meticulous presently. Our room was beautiful - we paid a bit more to stay in a Superior room with the ocean just outside our door. The beaches were picture-perfect and pretty much deserted, and the pier was a great place to hang out in the evening and admire the star-filled night sky. On the days we didn’t have any trips planned, spent a thoroughly relaxing time wandering the grounds, lazing around on hammocks reading, playing large chess and taking the sea kayaks out. Forget the mini-golf though as it is tiny and in desperate need of repair. The hotel offers a free nature trek up into the hills behind the hotel and the view from the top is definitely worth the climb - the guide was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and obviously loved what he did for a living.

There were some downsides which I will touch on briefly, some others that I won’t that we found more amusing than off-putting, however I must stress that these things did not affect our holiday that much but are the only reason my review falls from a perfect five to four stars.
1. The evening buffet - although it was delicious with plenty of choice, the price was astronomical - around £80 a night for a couple (including one beer and one cheapo glass of wine). Needless to say we found ourselves looking for alternatives like the pool bar that was just as nice but almost half the price. Unfortunately the pool bar was only open about three times during our ten night stay, so found ourselves ordering room service a few times which was the same menu and price as the pool bar. The package we booked was B&B and an upgraded room - if we were to go back I would definitely ditch the room upgrade and go with half board instead as there is not really anywhere else to go unless you book a taxi into the small town or hire a car.
2. My usual bug-bear of swanky hotels - having to pay for internet usage. £5 an hour is steep, but a good excuse not to check email for 10 days.

Snorkeling just off the beach outside the hotel was a little cloudy at times, but did manage to see plenty of rays and many varieties of fish. The best snorkeling was at the end of the pier but go early as all the fish tend to take shelter from the sun during the heat of the day. The hotel feeds the fish every morning, however a couple of times we went snorkeling and they must have forgotten to feed them that day as the fish were trying to nibble on us - my husband and I are divers and comfortable around sea life, however hundreds of hungry fishes nibbling at our masks was a bit disconcerting so we didn’t stay out too long.

Day Trips
We booked all of our trips and car hire through Creole Travel, and I could not recommend them highly enough. Prices were reasonable, everything was organized seamlessly and the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. I won’t go though all the excursions we did (about one every second day) but will touch on two of the highlights.

1. Car hire - Praslin is a small island and it doesn’t take too long to drive from one end to the other. The roads are certainly an experience - plenty of hairpin bends with frequent 10% gradients is not for the faint-hearted, especially at night. We had a tiny Kia and discovered that we had to turn the A/C off in order to get enough juice to make it up most of the hills on the island. Drove to Anse Lazio beach on the northern tip of the island twice (went back for the sunset) but the hotel does offer a free shuttle bus there every second day. Great snorkeling around the rocks at Anse Lazio and a very beautiful beach, definitely worth a visit whilst on Praslin.
2. Bicycle tour of La Digue was by far the best excursion we did. There are very few cars on the island so the vast majority of travelers are on bikes, and there is plenty of time in a day trip to cycle from one end of the island to the other, even at the leisurely pace that we rode (and sometimes walked) at. The beach at Grand Anse is a must-see - absolutely stunning but swimming is not recommended due to the strong currents. Definitely take loads of sun cream, cover up and water as you are outside in the heat all day.

In a nutshell I would definitely go back to the Seychelles, they really are a breathtakingly beautiful collection of islands. I would recommend Coco De Mer to other travelers - everything about the hotel and surrounding area was stunning and as beautiful as we had anticipated. We went looking for a relaxing holiday with a few short trips thrown in and were not disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, but some could be a walk from the beach. Superior rooms are a stone's t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TravlinSaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Coco de Mer September 2011 staying in the Black Parrot Suites for one week. We had an absolutely fantastic holiday made perfect by the staff, room, views, beach, facilities, restaurant and food. Everything was excellent and would love to reurn one day. Staying in the Black Parrot Suites is certainly worth paying just that little bit extra.

Room Tip: Black Parrot Suites at the Coco de Mer a must, especially with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Bois de Rose
2.8 mi away
Paradise Sun
Paradise Sun
#1 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,464 reviews
5.8 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Orangeraie Resort and Spa
2.7 mi away
Le Duc de Praslin
Le Duc de Praslin
#3 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Le Domaine de La Reserve
Le Domaine de La Reserve
#4 of 11 in Anse Volbert
1,093 reviews
5 mi away
Castello Beach Hotel
Castello Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Anse Kerlan
196 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel L'Archipel
Hotel L'Archipel
#1 of 1 in Au Cap
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites

Address: Anse Bois de Rose Bay | Praslin Island, Anse Bois de Rose, Praslin Island 22965, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Praslin Island > Anse Bois de Rose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anse Bois de Rose
Price Range: $303 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beauty, safety, peace, tranquility and quality, surrounded by nature, and named after the unique Coco de Mer Palm tree which, although extremely rare, occurs in abundance in the tropical forests, around the Hotel. This traditional yet modern, four star hotel lies in over 200 acres of natural beauty on the edge of the Indian Ocean. Spacious grounds, comfortable rooms, private location and a friendly atmosphere offering spectacular views of the surrounding islands, forested mountainsides and glorious sunsets. Located on the 2nd largest island in the Seychelles, Praslin, at Anse Bois De Rose, on the South west coast • Distance from airport – 8 km (15 minutes by taxi). • Flight time from the main island, Mahé, is 15 minutes • 55 Minutes by high speed ferry boat Adjacent to the Coco De Mer, our junior suite wing, “the Black Parrot Suites”, are perched on an imposing granite rock out-crop, that offers magnificent views of the Indian Ocean and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coco de Mer - Black Parrot Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco De Mer - Black Parrot Hotel Anse Bois De Rose
Coco De Mer - Black Parrot Suites Seychelles/Praslin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing