We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, lots to see”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
washington, dc
Level Contributor
117 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Nice location, lots to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2006

We enjoyed our two night stay at the lodge. It's a great base from which to visit Pipeline Road, Miraflores, Summit Zoo, etc. A beautiful site and property in so many ways, yet you can't help but think of things they could do better. Our bird guide Carlos Acosta was terrific. Most of the tour desk staff seemed pretty helpful. Some of the reservation desk and bar staff weren't at all. Worst margarita ever at the bar here. Totally flavorless. Food just ok at Los Lagartos and hotel dining room. We enjoyed staying in the historic villas for the most part. We could walk right out in our back yard and see all kinds of great birds (toucans, trogons, etc). Villa was nice and bright with windows on three sides. Nice to have a little sitting room, but we never used the kitchen. Would have preferred a villa not directly in front of a speed bump/tope/policia muerto. Lodge's buses and other traffic roar up and down the road till late at night - gearing up and down as they pass over speed bump. Made sleeping with windows open nigh impossible. Bed sheets were sort of pilled/fuzzy - almost like flannel -- just made you feel hotter. And yeah, we know it's the tropics but found those 3 or 4 two-inch cockroaches a bit unnerving the first night, especially when on the ceiling over the bed. We'd go again to enjoy the surrounding area, but would be sure to get a villa off the main drag - or maybe get a nice room in the hotel itself if we could score one for less than $300!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank glover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    618
    296
    140
    103
See reviews for
435
672
60
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
westchester, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2006

If you long for the days you were an enlisted man in the army, you might like this hotel. (We were told by another guest that the Hotel was in fact barracks) If army barracks are not your thing, you are going to hate it. I found it poorly maintained, incredibly overpriced, with very poor service and with a staff with a terrible attitude. In addition, we expected to be cheated on our bill, as we had already observed others complaining as they checked out and we were not disappointed. We were over-billed by almost two hundred of dollars and the person at the desk was either completely stupid or an expert at stonewalling anyone reviewing their bill for accuracy. We finally gave up and accepted a smaller, but still incorrect adjusted bill, as we had seen others do.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank grannytraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2006

We were there for 4 days from 12/29 until 01/02. We booked through Nolitour Canada. Our package was for a villa suite, buffet meals, drinks and one a la carte dinner.
Weather was perfect. No rain, very warm and blue skies.
Hotel setting is outstanding. Jungle is at the door and if you walk early in the morning in the paths, you may see toucans, parrots, monkeys and dozens of other species. Capibara are playing on the villa's lawn. Nature proximity was what we enjoyed most of this hotel.
Villas are renovated 1930's houses used by the canal workers. Lots of history in the walls, tastefully renovated. Not for people who expect international standards. Those may prefer the rooms in the main building. This main building has an enourmous spectacular lobby.
The lay out is huge. Some small Eco exhibits are spreaded all over the site. There is a laisser-aller atmosphere. You do not choose this hotel for this. The pool is great. But I think that the management of this hotel do not understand their clientele. They play loud pop music at the pool bar, which seemed to annoy most of the people, mostly nature lovers.
Tennis courts were in bad shape but are under renovations. Grounds are not manucured as we can see in some tropical resorts.
Buffet food was very good for the breakfast and good for lunch and dinner. A la carte dinner was an horrible experience. Which leads me to the main problem of this hotel: service. The waiters show some attitude and could not care less about cleaning tables, taking care of orders, etc. I can speak good spanish but that was of no help. An hotel of this envergure having such a bad service is totally surprising. After two days, we deceided to clean tables and dress our table by ourseves, which seemed the only way to make something happen.
The management tried to create a New year's eve atmsophere with theme dinners and a party which was so sad and boring. Really not a place to party, which is exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank jftoulouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2005

Our family of 4 stayed at Gamboa for 1 night. We had a balcony with a tremendous view of the Chagras River and canal. The birds and other wildlife are tremendous. Make sure to take the boat trip into the canal... We saw 2 types on monkeys, sloths, and many types of birds.

Dont expect wild nightlife. If nature and relaxation is what you want...this place is perfect.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Geoexplore99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2005

We would love to go again. Beats the crowds and the prices in the Caribbean!! By Central American standards, Gamboa was EXCELLENT but even by USA standards, this was a nice, comfortable resort. Just don't expect perfection... The food isn't 5 star, it is down home good Panama style. There are bugs: it IS a rainforest, right? There is a slow, small town pace here -- do not come looking for activity-filled Club Med. There are no nearby malls. And thank heavens for that! Instead, take the Monkey Island boat tour and see all sorts of creatures in the wild... we saw monkeys and birds and Iguana and we marveled at the big ships in the canal. The spa was wonderful and relaxing. People are very friendly and kind. One weird quirk -- no washcloths were provided in our room. We thought it was an oversight but when we moved on to a hotel in Panama City, none were provided there, either. Once we asked, we were cheerfully provided.
We stayed in the deluxe river view room and it was HUGE even by USA standards... very big bathroom, too. All of the water is fine to drink (we had a neighbor who insisted on boiling hers... really, there is no need). The tram into the rainforest was a truly neat experience. The pool is awesome (think Las Vegas: waterfalls, huge water gardens... almost over the top) and we were two of four people there!?!
See photos of the room and the gorgeous lobby.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Girloadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
15.4 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
15.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
15.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#17 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#15 of 117 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
6.4 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#26 of 117 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
18.0 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#1 of 9 in Colon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamboa Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Property: Gamboa Rainforest Resort
Address: Goethals Blvd. | Soberania National Park, Gamboa 7338, Panama
Location: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamboa Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the heart of the Panamanian rainforest lies the completely unique Gamboa Rainforest Resort. This magnificent destination rests where the scenic Chagres River meets the Panama Canal and is the only resort property in the area. Few places on earth offer such an amazing natural experience while providing an unsurpassed level of luxury. Escape the noise and hectic pace of everyday life and surround yourself with the tranquility of the mystical Soberania National Forest. Here, just a short 30-minute ride from Panama City, on 340 acres overlooking the stunning Panama Canal, you can commune with nature in a pristine environment where explorers and pirates once tread. Our Panama Tours offer an exhilarating variety of jungle adventures such as an aerial tram, guided boat tours, fishing expeditions, and much more. Our tours are designed to show you wildlife in its natural setting amidst the colorful splendor of the jungle flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gamboa Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamboa Rainforest Hotel Gamboa
Gamboa Rain Forest Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing