We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Adventure Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Reviewed April 10, 2005

Gamboa Rainforest Resort met all of our expectations. My family of four stayed there for six (6) nights March 22nd-28th. The resort is very isolated, but there are plenty of activities at the resort or around the area. I suggest the Monkey Island Tour, the Aerial Tram, and the Night Tour looking for wildlife on the grounds of the resort. Many of these tours book up quickly, so book early in your stay.

The rooms were large and very comfortable. We had to move out of a Junior Suite because the upper level was very warm as the air conditioning did not adequately cool this area. Stick with the Deluxe River View Rooms. Most meals were served buffet style, and the food quality was excellent. The exercise room is OK, not too many pieces of equipment, but enough to get a decent workout.

The staff is very friendly and accommodating, and most speak English. The housekeepers are good, but most do not speak English so practice up on your Spanish.

We took several trips out of Gamboa since we had rented a 4-wheel SUV (it is not necessary to rent a 4-wheel drive car unless you plan to do some off-road trips - the main roads in Panama are fine for normal vehicles). El Valle (about 2.5 hours drive) is beautiful, and there is a Canopy Adventure (zip-line tour) that is great fun. We also contracted with a tour company named Adventures In Panama (----) for a Jungle Adventure Tour that included rappelling down waterfalls in the rainforest - quite an exhilerating trip! Definitely not for anyone who is not in shape. Before and after the rappelling, we spent time in the Embera Indian Village which is really a step back in time - a wonderful experience.

You can book tours to the Embera Indian Village and many others through the Gamboa Resort tour desk located in the lobby of the hotel. The Indian Village tour is a different than the one we took (no crazy rappelling down waterfalls!), but is worth the cost and time to visit the Indian Village.

Overall, a very interesting and satisfying family vacation. I would highly recommend staying at the Gamboa Rainforest Resort. Panama is nice, but still very third worldish outside of Panama City. Make sure that you speak some Spanish - most Panamanians do not speak English which is contrary to most information that I received prior to our trip. I loved visiting the Panama Canal Visitors Center at the Miraflores Locks. Unfortunately, the rest of my family was bored stiff!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Simmrouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,329 - 1,335 of 1,741 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, ON. Canada
236
Reviewed April 1, 2005

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2005

24  Thank cherryvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2005

19  Thank jeffspaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2005

9  Thank Smeddum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2005

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank KirklandJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2005

13  Thank zzzzzCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
6.4 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#25 of 115 in Panama City
972 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
18 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#1 of 9 in Colon
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
#23 of 115 in Panama City
636 reviews
15.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#16 of 115 in Panama City
1,357 reviews
14.6 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#20 of 115 in Panama City
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamboa Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Address: Goethals Blvd. | Soberania National Park, Gamboa 7338, Panama
Location: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Price Range: $114 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamboa Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the heart of the Panamanian rainforest lies the completely unique Gamboa Rainforest Resort. This magnificent destination rests where the scenic Chagres River meets the Panama Canal and is the only resort property in the area. Few places on earth offer such an amazing natural experience while providing an unsurpassed level of luxury. Escape the noise and hectic pace of everyday life and surround yourself with the tranquility of the mystical Soberania National Forest. Here, just a short 30-minute ride from Panama City, on 340 acres overlooking the stunning Panama Canal, you can commune with nature in a pristine environment where explorers and pirates once tread. Our Panama Tours offer an exhilarating variety of jungle adventures such as an aerial tram, guided boat tours, fishing expeditions, and much more. Our tours are designed to show you wildlife in its natural setting amidst the colorful splendor of the jungle flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gamboa Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamboa Rainforest Hotel Gamboa
Gamboa Rain Forest Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing