We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
Nearby Hotels
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$69
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Panama Canal(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Park Hotel(Panama City)
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$121
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AZ Hotel & Suites(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$55
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saba Hotel(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,850)
Filter reviews
1,850 results
Traveler rating
526
688
348
164
124
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
688
348
164
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschagres rivermonkey bartour deskaerial trampanama canalmonkey island tourpool barcaravan tourgift shophammock on the balconyall inclusive packagenight tourorchid gardenfree nightrainy seasonriver viewembera indian village
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
744 - 749 of 1,850 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The resort is beautiful and offers many short tours. The areial tram was great and the Gatun Lake tour was nice (you see monkeys and if you're lucky a crocodile) The rooms were lovely and spacious, with a great balcony overlooking the river and a hammock. The food and drinks on the other hand were not great and the service was iffy. We did have a waiter one night from South Carolina who was fabulous. The staff's English is not great, so brush up on your Spanish. Overall I would recommend staying there for a few days and taking some tours.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and that you were fully satisfied with our services. We will be delighted to welcome you back in our hotel, shall your plans bring you to Panama again in the future.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just returned from a very enjoyable stay at Gamboa, would recommend a visit. The setting is so beautiful, we were up graded to a lovely suite overlooking the rainforest. Service excellent - everyone very helpful and friendly.
Anyone visiting Panama should try to spend a few days at this resort, with all its many trips there's plenty to do and see.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mel_burke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful remarks is joy to read your comments, gives us a pleasure to know that you loved the visit to our hotel. Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama. Cordially yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at the Gamboa Rainforest Resort for 2 nights as part of our trip to the Panama Canal with Caravan Tours. This resort sits on a beautiful, large piece of property with lovely views.
The food was very good. However, wherever you looked, you could see that this resort needed a lot of tender loving care!! From much need painting on the outside to dead plants throughout the property. Instead of planting the plants, they just took the large black pots them come planted in and placed them around. However, many of the plants were dead. There is debris, in many visible places that is not picked up on a daily basis. The rooms are spacious, but there was some mold/ or dirt (not sure) around the A/C vents in the room. The bathroom in the room we were in needed a lot of attention. A make-shift type of cabinet under the sink, which didn't match anything else was obviously put there to hide the pipes under the sink. Let's just say, this resort needs a going over! And by the way, it's really not a rainforest.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DryHeat5621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

I really appreciate your comments and suggestions this will make our hotel a better place to visit.
I have noted each of your recommendations because all are great help for us. Thanks again.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We decided on a lark to try a timeshare trade to this resort during our spring break. We were concerned a bit at what the quality of a timeshare in Panama might be and having read comments about the resort being tired and overpriced. I am delighted to say that we went away and had a great time. Yes, the bungalows look tired and dated. It probably is true that a higher room gives a better view; however, beyond this, we were very happy with what we had. We were in room 247, relatively low, but a suite that was decorated with interesting furniture and decor from India and south east asia, reflecting the crossroads that is panama. We were at the treetops which did block the beautiful river view a bit, but was a boon when watching the birds flitter at the tree tops. We even had a little kitchen (though not well equipped) and a comfortable hammock. The Monkey Bar had a stunning view of the chagres river. Margaritas on the rocks were $7 and a cold Balboa beer $4 which seemed reasonable to us. There was a disco, a little movie theatre, a beautiful pool and four restaurants (Monkey Bar, a buffet beneath it, a sit down a la carte and one for lunch and drinks at the marina that had a stunning view of the river and all the birds). One could also see the confluence of the Chagres and the panama canal from this restaurant. We had a 20% off on all food through RCI so we thought the costs were very reasonable. Food for 7 days, drinks including a bottle of wine each night, the trip up the teleferico, tour of the aquarium/orchid garden/serpentarium, a boat trip to monkey island, a night safari, and a partial transit of the canal that was 7 hours cost for the two of us $1020. To eat, drink and do all these tours for $150/couple/day was completely reasonable given that this is the big resort for the region. We had a rental car (free parking) so we did the pipeline road walk on our own (birders were disappointed that the guide was not more knowledgeable). Doing the walk cost $5 each to get into the park and was amazing. The birds were not as impressive as expected, but the mammals made up for it as we were surround by a dozen white faced capuchin monkeys which crossed the road into howler monkey territory setting off screams and tree shaking that was unforgettable. Sloth and anteaters were on the trail also. This is a 10 minute drive from the resort. Food was adequate, not gourmet, but acceptable. We do not like buffets (though breakfast was good with fresh made omelets and delicious banana walnut bread) but the a la carte was acceptable and had a more quiet, romantic atmosphere for dinner (you must make reservations). There is a buffet at the river restaurant also, but the corvina was delicious when we ordered a la carte. The staff were friendly, english was found most of the time and my rusty spanish was easily enough to take care of every need over the week. All in all, we had a fantastic time and would repeat without hesitation. We were there in the dry season (high season). Obviously, the experience could be very different if you were there in the rain. Even though it was 90+ each day, the breeze tempered the heat and humidity and made our bones thaw pleasantly from this horrible winter. Air conditioning in our room and the rsort was excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite as it gives you an extra room. Higher the better, but even 2nd floor on building to the left was good if you like birds.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aagourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thanks for your time to write your remarks.
Appreciate your comments are very important for the operation of the hotel. We will continue with the customer service plan to ensure that all our staff will deliver a good service always. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed there in December of 2013. It is about an hour ride from the airport. We got a cab when we arrived in the airport and they charged about $45. You could probably negotiate a lower price but we did not know that at the time. The first room we were assigned was on the third floor and the moment we walked in we could smell the mold. We went to the desk and asked to be moved and they moved us to a room on the 6th floor. It was 100% better. Make sure you ask for a room on a high floor. There are only 3 restaurant options in the hotel and one down by the water. They do offer an all-inclusive option but we did not know that when we booked. We also did the half day kayak tour which was good and the Ariel tram. The lookout tour has a great view and you can get there either from the tram or you can do the hike. We also did the free morning nature walk which was interesting. All in all I would recommend. Just remember you are staying in the rain forest. There are bugs etc around. It's not a normal big city hotel. Note: All of the front desk staff spoke English so that was very helpful.
Note: There is free wi-fi in the lobby but not in the rooms.

Room Tip: Request a room on a top floor in the main building. It is very quiet at night no matter where your room is as you are in the middle of no where.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 628MM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and that you were fully satisfied with our services. We will be delighted to welcome you back in our hotel, shall your plans bring you to Panama again in the future.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews