We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This was our third visit to the Gamboa Rainforest Resort but this vacation was differnent. My wife had injured her foot before arrival and we needed the use of a wheelchair. We found the building to be wheelchair friendly and experienced no difficulties. The roads around the resort are passable with some rough spots and we actually wheel chaired portions of the Chunga Trail and Pipeline Road. Because of our slower pace we observed more wildlife than ever before. We would like to thank everyone at the resort, front desk, customer relations, restaurant staff, doorman and transport personel for making this a wonderful vacation. We look forward to visiting again next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tanager2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

I appreciate your comments and we are glad to have met your expectations when visiting our hotel. I personally congratulate my colleagues for their hard work. I hope to see you again in Panama.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

We did not stay in this hotel but were at the bar for a sundowner when we first arrived in Gamboa. It truly was a beautiful place to enjoy the view. The hotel must be very comfortable, but we did not check all that out. There was a gorgeous pool down below.

We enjoyed a couple hours on the balcony admiring the beauty in front of us. The service was efficient and very friendly.

Nice place for an evening drink!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

From the entire hotel staff we appreciate your comment is a great motivation for each of us. We hope to see you again in Panama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This huge resort is located on the Chagres river.,very close to the Panama canal where it is possible both to watch large ships transit the canal and to hike in the rainforest nearby. The hotel is absolutely beautiful with a huge pool, spa and fitness centre and several restaurants, all very tastefully landscaped and decorated. Service was great. But the highlight for me was the stunning panoramic view of the river from our 5th floor balcony. Indescribably beautiful!
However our 4 night stay was too long for several reasons. The hotel is extremely expensive. They over-charge for everything. A bar drink was $8 and a hamburger was $12. This was the only hotel that did not include breakfast in our entire 3 week trip! We had booked online and were supposed to have a European plan. What the heck was that if no meals
were included? There was no free wifi in the room. The tours were extremely expensive.
There is absolutely nothing else in the area so if you don't have a rental car to drive to the hiking trails, you have to hang out at the hotel or pay the exorbitant tour prices.
So if you book this hotel, be prepared to get your wallet out!

Room Tip: All rooms have river views. The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurWaterloo_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thanks for your time to write your remarks, is very nice to read your comments all of them show positive and negative aspects of our hotel. We are continuously working to ensure our guests receive the service they deserve.
Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here for two nights as part of a Caravan tour. Room was very large and overlooked the grounds. Well functioning dehumidifier kept the room cool and the musty smell so many others complain about was not evident in our room. We did have to empty the dehumidifier about 2x daily though. Shower is a rainforest spray, very nice. Plenty of hot water, fluffy towels and gorgeous setting. The pool is large and there are tons of chairs available. We took the little night time "safari" and the guide was able to point out the natural habitat that was out and about that evening. Very entertaining. Food was good (because we were a large group we were served buffet style meals). The staff was very efficient and friendly. There are other activities and adventures that they'll put together for you; bike rides, canal tours, boat trips on Gatun Lake etc.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank srainone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

I appreciate your comments and we are glad to have met your expectations when visiting our hotel.
I personally congratulate my colleagues for their hard work. We are continuously working to ensure our guests receive the service they deserve.
I hope to see you again in Panama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Jetzel as promised here's our review. Location, Location, Location. This was a girls vacation. Gamboa was recommended by family and friends....and what a great recommendation it was. There are many reasons we loved this location. First, it's small (198 rooms) so it gives you the opportunity to get to know staff and meet others staying in the resort. It's close to Panama City so not spending hours on the bus from the airport or to go and venture the sites. We were on the third floor at the very end. The view was lovely and it was quiet. Our room was clean, comfortable and had all the necessities. The hammock was a super bonus! From the time we arrived to the time we left, staff were fantastic; courteous and friendly. From Luis at the Tour Desk who has a great sense of humour, to Francsico at the Front Desk, all the staff at the Monkey Bar, the ladies at the buffet, to Joe in Chagres River View Restaurant - thank you for your service and hospitality. The hotel offers many tours, we planned everything for the morning so the afternoon we could spend by the pool. There is no night life if you are looking for music and shows, you won't find anything. There is a disco but it's only open Fri and Sat nights and that didn't matter to us. By the end of the day whether you did the night safari, saw the orchid gardens, did the Gatun Lake Tour, a 3 hour Kayak, a tour to the Emberra Village or Miroflore Locks, you are tired. We really enjoyed sitting at the Monkey Bar most evenings chatting with other guests, looking at the stars or having a final drink before calling it a night. We met many wonderful people and learned a thing or two about birding in Panama...like did you know there are 950 species...not varieties, but species of birds? How cool is that!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cibm6423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with staff, gives us a pleasure to know that you loved the visit to our hotel and enjoy all the nature. I personally congratulate my colleagues for their hard work. We hope to see you again in Panama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I agree with everything that SuziSouthwestFL said immediately preceding. (In fact, we were on a Caravan trip at nearly the same time.) Overall, the accommodations were spacious, view from our window lovely, food good for a foreign country (very American-like and the desserts are fabulous), and a generally good experience. Being in the rain forest, there are issues with mold. In fact, each room has its own dehumidifer. The best thing about the resort though is its location -- ecotours, trips to the Embara Indians, and a wooden touring boat that enters the Panama Canal all leave right from the property, which is extremely convenient.

Room Tip: Try to get a room close to the main lobby -- it can be a long walk if you're in an outer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thanks for your comments, are very helpful to improve the service of our hotel; we will continue working hard to provide the best service and product to each of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have seen so much advertising of the Resort, and have stopped by during the day when in the Gamboa rainforest, but we were clearly disappointed with our stay there.

The rooms were very nice and spacious. We were on the 7th floor with an outstanding view of the river and the furthest away from the restaurant, bar and pool so it was quiet. The building itself is very nice and if one understands the history of the old town and the facilities, one can appreciate it much more.

What was wrong then.... unfortunately the pool closes at 1800. We saw them turning people away at 1730! I am not sure why as swimming under the stars would be wonderful.

When we got there with our reservation we were offered 3 free activities. The night safari, the ecological safari and free use of bikes. We got ready to go for the night safari until we found out it was on a vehicle (with 5 people to a row) and they had large floodlights, basically to blind the animals (a bit like night hunting, not fair). We let that one go and did our own walk at 10 pm where we experienced a young ocelot and a very large armadillo!!!

The next morning the eco tour was the same, so why bother going in a car when we can walk on our own. In the morning we were lucky to see a group of toucans and a few falcons.

We did not use the mountain bikes as we prefered hiking. Unfortunately the Pipeline Road hike is not included when you are a guest at the lodge as the price has increased from $5 for foreigners to $30!!!! This for a 2.5 km hike... we passed on that one and did some other intersting walks.

The breakfast (included in our room price) was very good and plentiful. We chose not to have the buffet dinner, but to dine in the a la carte restaurant. Unfortunately right near the restaurant there were very bad odors from the water treatment that made the dinner very unpleasant. This odor was in the main staircase leading from the lobby to the pool area.

The price of the rooms, when booking in Panama is much more than if you book via a travel agent (we met a number of people on tours there, and were amazed at the 40% difference in price, and they had 3 meals included).

Having said that, I would recommend travellers to book in advance just to experience one night in the rain forest, but go knowing that most activities are extras and they are fairly expensive for Panama.

Room Tip: 7th floor. Best view and away from the restaurants and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank polarbearpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay. All your comments are very valuable for us, and will be taking the right corrective actions, and avoid from happening again.
Once again please do accept my apologies and i hope to see you again in Panamá
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
6.4 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#25 of 115 in Panama City
971 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
18 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#1 of 9 in Colon
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
#23 of 115 in Panama City
634 reviews
15.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#16 of 115 in Panama City
1,350 reviews
14.6 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#19 of 115 in Panama City
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamboa Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Address: Goethals Blvd. | Soberania National Park, Gamboa 7338, Panama
Location: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Price Range: $115 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamboa Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the heart of the Panamanian rainforest lies the completely unique Gamboa Rainforest Resort. This magnificent destination rests where the scenic Chagres River meets the Panama Canal and is the only resort property in the area. Few places on earth offer such an amazing natural experience while providing an unsurpassed level of luxury. Escape the noise and hectic pace of everyday life and surround yourself with the tranquility of the mystical Soberania National Forest. Here, just a short 30-minute ride from Panama City, on 340 acres overlooking the stunning Panama Canal, you can commune with nature in a pristine environment where explorers and pirates once tread. Our Panama Tours offer an exhilarating variety of jungle adventures such as an aerial tram, guided boat tours, fishing expeditions, and much more. Our tours are designed to show you wildlife in its natural setting amidst the colorful splendor of the jungle flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gamboa Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamboa Rainforest Hotel Gamboa
Gamboa Rain Forest Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing