We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
Nearby Hotels
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$70
$61
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Panama Canal(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$77
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Central Park Hotel(Panama City)
$55
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$121
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AZ Hotel & Suites(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$55
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saba Hotel(Panama City)(Great Value!)
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,850)
Filter reviews
1,850 results
Traveler rating
526
688
348
164
124
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
688
348
164
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschagres rivermonkey bartour deskaerial trampanama canalmonkey island tourpool barcaravan tourgift shophammock on the balconyall inclusive packagenight tourorchid gardenfree nightrainy seasonriver viewembera indian village
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
847 - 852 of 1,850 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I want to start off by saying this is the first time I've felt compelled to write a hotel review, but I just think that Gamboa Resort online presents itself as far more elegant and high-end than it is. My boyfriend and I were booked in for 3 nights here. The first night was okay, yes views are AMAZING!!! The food was very so-so and everything dies out at about 9 pm with only reception on 3 TV channels and no movies to watch. The hotel pool and pool bar is very run down and in desperate need of a renovation. just didn't see the value in the place. We heard there was a golf course a few miles away at a newly built Radisson and we were anxious to check it out. The staff was very unhelpful as we tried to call a taxi to get check out this course 10 minutes away and they told us it's be close to $50 US charge, and then told us to take the public bus instead which was only 50 cents. The public transporatation was very sketchy but wemanaged to make it to the Radissson where not only did they beat Gamboa's price, they have a BRAND NEW MODERN BEAUTIFUL hotel set amongst the rolling hills in the rain forest. Their shuttle service even drove us back to Gamboa so we could pack our stuff and go back to the Radisson. If you golf you will be floored by the Radisson golf course as well- it was stunning. Stay at the Radisson Summit- do not be fooled by the Gamboa Resort.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TeriLynne86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your time to write your comments, are very helpful to improve the service of our hotel. We hope to see you again in Panama.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The resort is in the vicinity of the Soberania National Park Rainforest, If you are a bird watcher and nature lover, you are walking distance away from experiencing these. The resort also overlooks the Panama Canal near the continental divide. The hospitality is great and so is the food. Definitely a great place to stay if you are visiting Panama City.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ajay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

I appreciate your comments and we are glad to have met your expectations when visiting our hotel, from the entire hotel staff we appreciate your comment is a great motivation for each of us.
Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama.
Cordially yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This resort is in a great location if you love the outdoors. However, the accommodations were just average. The Service was average and the food was average. The views are spectacular. Compared to North American standards, do not expect a five star experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azucar360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thanks for your comments, are very helpful to improve the service of our hotel; we will continue working hard to provide the best service and product to each of our guests.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Getting to the resort is an adventure in itself, even with GPS added to our rental car. There are hardly any street signs - so my best advise is to print out directions with actual pictures of the road from the airport to the resort. Once there, that is what our Client Relations Manager did for our tours in Panama and it worked extremely well!
The resort is in a remote location, however it's location is what makes it so unique... right in the heart of the Rainforest - simply incredible views!! Our room on the top floor(4th) with a hammock in the balcony,facing the Chagres River , allowed breathtaking views of the sunrise. Rooms were clean and spacious.Be prepared for the dehumidifier to get full every 8 hours during the humid months.
The buffets were so-so and so was the menu. Housekeeping wasn't always on their toes with regards to our needs (3 people - 2 towels!) however, kudos to the management staff who went out of their way helping us with some much needed documents regarding our transportation. Also the Aerial tour, night tours, Lake Gatun tour were conducted by our very informed guide Gina. Wild life at it's best and Bird watchers delight indeed :)
We drove and explored El Valle, Panama city, the Mira Flores locks, and all other tourist spots.. thanks to the help of the Manager on duty who was kind enough to check the ships schedules and print out our "pictorial" road maps on every trip.

Room Tip: The high floors (4th floor) facing the Chagres River have the most spectacular view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laju M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

-----------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for your feedback, is very nice to read your comments all of them show positive and negative aspects of our hotel are a vital help to us for continue providing excellent service to our visitors. We took note of yours recommendations about the food and rooms.
Please feel free to contact us any time that you decide visit Panamá and welcome back.
Coordially yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It is the second time we go to this resort to spend the day. The landscapes are incredible and it is worth going. The funnicular excursion is very good, with great service from the guides. Now.... The food from the buffet has considerable decreased in quality and selection in relation to the first time, a few months ago... Very dissapointing. There are some other options inside though.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank HMP S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We thank you for such a touching comment regarding your recent stay at the Gamboa Rainforest Resort. We apologize that our buffets do not feel your expectations at all.
We will share your feedback with our Food and Beverage Manager so we can ensure different dishes that are the delight of all our guests.
We hope you give us the opportunity to service and welcome back.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews