We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to see jungle near the hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
San Diego
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to see jungle near the hotel.”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 5 days taking all the tours that were available. The grounds and view are great. The first night we donned our trusty head lamps and strolled the grounds of the hotel. We were very lucky to spot several large spiders, lots of toads, lizards as well as a sea of fireflies. Half way into or walk we started hearing low pitched chirps. They seemed to be coming from the grass about 50 yards in front of the pool. As we got closer to the area we noticed several ruts that were filled with water from a previous rain. Our lights reflected the eyes of a Cayman laying in one of the ruts the "chirping was calling to her babies! Awesome! Two hours after getting there And we are face to face with her. We took a couple of photos and backed out as not to bother
Her or her brood. The food was as expected the buffet is fine just get there early. On Sundays there is a special brunch which is packed make reservation early or plan ahead. The tours are pretty good for the most part. A lot depends on which guide you get as to how much you'll see.if you take the three hour hiking tour take mosquito spray or netting. 23 bites on my face alone. We would go again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoChefjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful remarks is joy to read your comments, gives us a pleasure to know that you loved the visit to our hotel.
Thank you very much and We hope to welcome you back to Gamboa Rainforest Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    627
    301
    145
    105
See reviews for
446
684
63
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

A lovely set of buildings and a very large swimming pool. Wonderful views from the hammock on your veranda.
Large clean rooms with cool air-conditioning which you really appreciate when you have been outside.
Nice restaurant and very a interesting foyer with intricate iron lace work.

Room Tip: Only stayed in one room, but I imagine all would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelpied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with staff, gives us a pleasure to know that you loved the visit to our hotel and enjoy all the nature. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just returned from several days in Panama. The Gamboa resort was beautiful with stunning views. The room was very comfortable, large and clean. The tram ride up to the observation deck was incredible. We saw a sloth, tons of birds and several iguanas. The guides were sisters and they were knowledgeable and fun. I recommend fishing with a guide. It is inexpensive and a great way to see the area. Lots of monkeys, crocs and ships. Our guides name was Marco and he was great. The only downer about the trip was the service in the restaurant and both the monkey bar and pool bar. It is so slow. The servers seem to disappear and it is impossible to get a drink or the bill. Be patient otherwise, it will make you crazy. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thanks for your time to write your remarks, is very nice to read your comments all of them show positive and negative aspects of our hotel.
We are continuously working to ensure our guests receive the service they deserve.
Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama.
Cordially you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in May 2013, during the rainy season and had a great time. The lay out of this resort is stunning, with beautiful views in all directions. It was much quieter during the week, a lot of people show up on the weekends, due to the close proximity to Panama City (30 minutes). Once here, you are at the mercy of their buffet, but we enjoyed it. For $11 each, you can get a soup and varied salad bar, which is decent. Service is good, lots of activities with tours, swimming, and bar activities. Great place for families or relaxing, we recommend the river tour. Nice spa facility. No wi-fi in the rooms, but it forced us to be social in the lobby. Our only complaint: tile floors make for a lot of noise in all directions. Would like to return!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lasergirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
I appreciate your comments and we are glad to have met your expectations when visiting our hotel, from the entire hotel staff we appreciate your comment is a great motivation for each of us.
Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama.
Cordially yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We spent a couple of days here. The view from the balcony is the most impressive I'd seen in Panama. We saw a variety of birds when we were out walking and a crocodile down by the lake. The rooms were good and we enjoyed the rainforest experience. They offer several activities each day which make the days quite interesting. We liked the aerial tram ride.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jilly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with staff, gives us a pleasure to know that you loved the visit to our hotel and enjoy all the nature. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
226 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The building was built in the same style as the Americans used when it was a recreational area for Americans. There appears to be three different sections; built at different times. Our first room was in the middle section by age. It was very large with a nicely tiled bathroom, balcony with hammock and a view of the water. Then the door lock did not work and we were forced to move and the only space was in the oldest section. This could have happened at any hotel and does not detract from our review. The next room was in the oldest section. It was large, but not quite as large as the first. It had wicker furniture, a little balcony and also overlooked the water. The air conditioning was noisy and it did not have a dehumidifier as most rooms did. The meals were good and the staff was pleasant. We saw and heard a number of wild animals around the hotel and when we were nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for posting and sharing your recent stay with us, we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the food at our Restaurants.
Please accept our apologies if you didn’t feel the room exceed your expectations.
So next time we hope you will provide us with another opportunity to serve you when your travels bring you back to Panamá.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama Province, Panama
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at the Rainforest Resort for a getaway from the city and were surprised how lush the area was even in the dry season..They lost our reservation but made up for it by upgrading us to a 2-level suite!! Breakfast was amazing, but snack and drink prices were crazy expensive..We live in Panama and local beers that cost $.80-$1.00 elsewhere where $4 there...The front desk manager was great and helped us out when our reservation was lost and we were thankful she was there!!
A unique experience near the city, on the river with a beautiful backdrop but once is enough...

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite if you can and don't stay on the ground floor, all rooms are musty!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for posting and sharing your recent stay with us, we are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our rooms, restaruant and specially the spectacular view of the Chagres River.
We hope you give us the opportunity to service and welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
15.4 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
15.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
15.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#17 of 113 in Panama City
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#16 of 113 in Panama City
1,101 reviews
6.4 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#25 of 113 in Panama City
883 reviews
18.0 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#1 of 9 in Colon
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamboa Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Property: Gamboa Rainforest Resort
Address: Goethals Blvd. | Soberania National Park, Gamboa 7338, Panama
Location: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamboa Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the heart of the Panamanian rainforest lies the completely unique Gamboa Rainforest Resort. This magnificent destination rests where the scenic Chagres River meets the Panama Canal and is the only resort property in the area. Few places on earth offer such an amazing natural experience while providing an unsurpassed level of luxury. Escape the noise and hectic pace of everyday life and surround yourself with the tranquility of the mystical Soberania National Forest. Here, just a short 30-minute ride from Panama City, on 340 acres overlooking the stunning Panama Canal, you can commune with nature in a pristine environment where explorers and pirates once tread. Our Panama Tours offer an exhilarating variety of jungle adventures such as an aerial tram, guided boat tours, fishing expeditions, and much more. Our tours are designed to show you wildlife in its natural setting amidst the colorful splendor of the jungle flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gamboa Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamboa Rainforest Hotel Gamboa
Gamboa Rain Forest Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing