We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food, Drinks, Nature and Calm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Gamboa was our second resort during our two weeks trip to Panama (first was Royal Decameron).

I really enjoyed this resort. It was in a beautiful rainforest surround by nothing but Nature. This resort is so quiet...seems like everyone is in bed by 8pm. Too funny. I was there with my husband, we were just coming back from getting married at Decameron and took 3nights in Gamboa. Here's some reviews:

FOOD:
One word... YUMMY! The À la carte was soo good. It's the only place where I found (within Panama) beef that would melt in your mouth. The buffet was also very good...always amazed by the Dessert Table. The wine was really good and they certainly don't dillute the alcool here (found out the hard way...but whatever that's what vacation are for!).

The only remark I have has nothing to do with the resort but with the clients (you might get some obnoxious and pretentious vacationers around you).

RESORT AND SERVICE:
The service at the resort was good. They actually had a consultant in to help them with customer service, which says a lot about how the resort's value their client and the service they offer to them. Hats off for that. The Resort itself is not that big...one pool, one à la carte and two buffet (one at the main building and the other one at the Marina). But what is amazing about this place is the amount of wildlife you can see!!! Go do the Tram, we saw Toucans, Blue Butterflies, Sloth, heard the howling monkeys, etc.

ROOM:
The rooms were quite nice, totally enjoyed having an hammock on the balcony and a ceiling fan over it. Big room, huge bathroom. Tv with cable, internet access if you buy it. Although, it was pretty cool to have free access to internet at the lounge (Monkey Bar). Super silent and no use for ear pluggs...unless you don't want to hear the birds at 4:30am.

In conclusion, love the place, enjoyed my 3nights, not sure if I would stay for 2wks here but would definitely come back for a week!

Room Tip: Room 221 was quiet, king size bed and huge bathroom. Could see the aguti in the morning!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savoiei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with staff, gives us a pleasure to know that you loved the visit to our hotel and enjoy all the nature. I personally congratulate my colleagues for their hard work. We hope to see you again in Panama.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,700)
There are newer reviews for Gamboa Rainforest Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 795 of 1,700 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Like so many things in Panama, this is a place worth driving through the crazy traffic of Panama to get to. Just heaven on earth, an absolute sanctuary. Whoever designed this resort obviously did it with a deep love for the rainforest. It's a work of art with an appreciation for its surroundings. However, they could really use some signage to get to and from Tocumen International Airport. I recommend taking a hop flight from Tocumen to Albrook to avoid the traffic and then it's smooth sailing in through Gaillard Avenue. Or take a cruise in. The road to Corridor Norte from the airport is the hardest to find (billboard needed). Once you find Corridor Norte, it's easy. Take that all the way to the Madden Avenue exit. Another billboard at that exit would be handy as well.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

I really appreciate your comments and suggestions this will make our hotel a better place to visit. I have noted each of your recommendations because all are great help for us. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Located about 30 minutes from Panama City, this hotel gave us a chance to recover from the traffic and noise of downtown Panama City. Nested in the rain forest on the banks of the Chagres river, you will quietly engulf yourself in this multi building property where a very spacious and open lobby welcomes the visitor.

The room was very spacious and comfortable with a large bathroom. The balcony was large enough to have a hammock and I particularly enjoyed a quick nap in the late afternoon still of the day.

The grounds are well kept and the pool is large and well kept. There is also a spa but did not have time to try it.

The hotel has 3 restaurants however only 2 were open during our stay. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner in the buffet restaurant and found the food acceptable with a wide variety of meats, salads deserts and drinks. However we also quickly found out that the other restaurant venue was more upscale and charged accordingly.

The hotel is starting to show some wear but you must also take into account that it is a tropical property and the elements take their toll faster. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pascalphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, is very nice to read your comments all of them show positive and negative aspects of our hotel are a vital help to us for continue providing excellent service to our visitors.
Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

No grumbles here! We had a lovely week at this resort. Our room was large and comfortable; everything worked very well; housekeeping standards are excellent. Enjoyed the food choices; thought the a la carte restaurant had a much higher standard than many other all-inclusives we have visited; buffet was fine; burgers by the pool from the Monkey Bar outstanding! Good staff; absolutely no-one was unpleasant or unhelpful; all of our requests were dealt with courteously and promptly. Beautiful, peaceful pool; you don't have to get up at 5:30 to put your towel on a lounger; it's not crowded. Would return without hesitation.
Note to those who may be concerned about rooms with a "musty smell": This is the tropics; it's very hot and humid, and this is an air-conditioned building (i.e., you're not leaving your windows open to let the breeze waft through). Pack an AirWick or a Fabreze freshener in your luggage, run the dehumidifier when you arrive, and all will be fine in about 12 hours.

Room Tip: You will have a slightly better view of the river from a higher floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OntTraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

I appreciate your comments and we are glad to have met your expectations when visiting our hotel, from the entire hotel staff we appreciate your comment is a great motivation for each of us.
Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama.
Cordially yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The location is excellent: you are in the middle of a natural reserve thirty minutes from Panama City. It could be a great opportunity to educate people about the environment and initiate them to the beauty of the rainforest. Unfortunately this is not the mission of this hotel.
The tours offered by the hotel unfortunately are guided by environmentally unconscious and poorly educated people. In the lake Gatun tour they feed monkeys from the boat... The hotel should invest to prepare them better. We still had the luck to spot many interesting animals!
If its your first encounter with the rainforest, you will enjoy it, otherwise go to Costa Rica which sets the standard for ecotourism. Panama has a very high potential and I really hope they will develop it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raicomment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Great location to do pipeline tour, spend half day on canal and see the canopy.
I prefer to use this as a base to do those activities than take cab or bus from Panama City.
Views wonderful. Location great. Activities also good.
All prices for activities expensive whether done from any of the vendors but this is a central location.
Food OK, not great, but scenery and activities make up for it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Public Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

From the entire hotel staff we appreciate your comment is a great motivation for each of us. We hope to see you again in Gamboa Rainforest Resort.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A truly incredible facility on Lake Gatun. A first class operation with beautifully appointed rooms, great balconies with comfortable hammocks, fantastic view of the pools, swim up bar and manicured grounds overlooking the Chagres River. The food was well prepared, great buffet or numerous entree selections available, with inside or veranda dining seating. The entire staff was attentive to my every need. I was only there for two nights but would have liked to have stayed a month to explore and enjoy some of the available tours.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j7paige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Public Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, all of them make us so glad and hope to see you again in Panama. Once again thank you so much.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
15.4 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
15.6 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Panama Megapolis
15.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
Hotel Riu Plaza Panama
#20 of 115 in Panama City
2,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Panama Marriott Hotel
Panama Marriott Hotel
#15 of 115 in Panama City
1,130 reviews
6.4 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#25 of 115 in Panama City
931 reviews
18.0 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#1 of 9 in Colon
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamboa Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Address: Goethals Blvd. | Soberania National Park, Gamboa 7338, Panama
Location: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Price Range: $110 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamboa Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the heart of the Panamanian rainforest lies the completely unique Gamboa Rainforest Resort. This magnificent destination rests where the scenic Chagres River meets the Panama Canal and is the only resort property in the area. Few places on earth offer such an amazing natural experience while providing an unsurpassed level of luxury. Escape the noise and hectic pace of everyday life and surround yourself with the tranquility of the mystical Soberania National Forest. Here, just a short 30-minute ride from Panama City, on 340 acres overlooking the stunning Panama Canal, you can commune with nature in a pristine environment where explorers and pirates once tread. Our Panama Tours offer an exhilarating variety of jungle adventures such as an aerial tram, guided boat tours, fishing expeditions, and much more. Our tours are designed to show you wildlife in its natural setting amidst the colorful splendor of the jungle flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gamboa Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamboa Rainforest Hotel Gamboa
Gamboa Rain Forest Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing