We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gamboa Rainforest Gatun Lake experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Took the Gatun lake experience through the Gamboa rainforest resort. The resort is very beautiful and had a lovely brunch in their restaurant.

The boat ride for the Gatun lake experience was very fun they road us around all over the lake and found many creatures for us to view, white faced monkeys, howler monkeys, Toucan's, crocodiles, turtles, various birds.

The guides were great spoke english and spanish and gave us a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
Thank Buffy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful remarks is joy to read your comments, gives us a pleasure to know that you loved the visit to our hotel. Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panamá.
Sincerelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

870 - 876 of 1,782 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Gamboa was a great resort if you like something other than the typical beach vacation. The beach was only 1.5 hours away and day trips would take you there. We wanted to tour the city and through a worker found Jorgoes Morales. He has an air conditioned van. He took us to the many attractions that we wanted to see plus some hidden gems along the way. He is English speaking, friendly, he knew short cuts to get to the places we wanted to go. He even joined us on the Panama Canal tour.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, all of them make us so glad and hope to see you again in Panama. Once again thank you so much.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Gamboa Rainforest Resort was a truly great experience, and far better than I expected! They provided excellent customer service throughout. The tours of the rainforest, Panama Canal and Chagres River were amazing and very affordable; they even offer guided walking tours and night tours for free. The grounds were impeccably maintained and the pool was fantastic. The rooms are huge (though they are a bit dated) clean, and have a balcony view that inspired me to get up early every morning. The only aspect that needs some attention, is the buffet; not bad, just not great! I would recommend the delicious hamburger they serve in the bar for dinner amidst the breathtaking view on the porch. Don’t waste your time in Panama City, stay at Gamboa.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thanks for your time to write your remarks, is very nice to read your comments all of them show positive and negative aspects of our hotel. We are continuously working to ensure our guests receive the service they deserve.
Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama.
Cordially you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here March 1, 2013 for a one night stay before flying to David the next morning. We arrived at 10:30 am. Resort was full but front desk helped us with a place to change our clothes and holding our luggage while we had lunch by the pool and backtracked to see the Panama Canal (30 or so minute taxi ride for $30 each way from a driver somewhat connected to the hotel). Beautiful grounds and river view. Nice integration of interior design and natural environment. We ate at the upscale restaurant and were slightly disappointed in both the food and service. Free breakfast buffet was excellent with many hot food options. Room was fine with good A/C.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Springvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your time to write your comments, are very helpful to improve the service of our hotel. We hope to see you again in Panama.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a beautiful resort in the Rainforest. They have this silly way of numbering their floors in the elevator...the topmost floor is the lobby...(L) understood! Rest of the floors (going down) are numbered with letters R, SR, etc etc...and next to these they have the room numbers in very small letters the first 2 days is total commotion in the elevator because people can not figure out which floor they need to get off for their rooms! If this hotel had a big frame inside the elevator in large letters explaining which letter stands for what room numbers it would help...instead they have a big worthless picture hanging inside the elevator! The two days we stayed the rooms were never made/cleaned...our refrigerator was broke we complained several times but nothing was fixed...finally gave up! Service is slow...lack of ability of communicate with tourists in English.

Room Tip: Not a big difference, all rooms are the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank txtraveller555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Gamboa Rainforest Resort. We regret the issues you experienced with your room. We are making every effort to correct the timeleness of our room cleaning and maintanence. We have a very large resort and unfortunately there are times when some valued customerrs are left waiting.
I apologize again and I hope that you will come again and see what progress we ahve made.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is the fourth time we have stayed at this property and will do so in the future. It is a beautiful facility in a spectacular location. With plenty of time in advance, we had requested a room not too far from the lobby area as my husband has difficulty walking. The room we were assigned, while well appointed, was the farthest away from anything. Fortunately, they offered us the use of a wheel chair; otherwise we would have left. As far as the food, on each stay the buffet was very mediocre, to say the least. On future occasions we will order a la Carte or go to have dinner somewhere else. The Sunday brunch, however, is very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, is very nice to read your comments all of them show positive and negative aspects of our hotel.
We are continuously working to ensure our guests receive the service they deserve.
Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spent one night. Lovely location, comfortable and nice sized, well-maintained rooms. Enjoyed walking the property in the morning and seeing the group of Capybaras and numerous birds. Appreciated the welcome punch and the fact that they had wheelchairs available for guest use. Very handy in our case as we were travelling with an older gentleman who had difficulty walking, and the room was quite a distance from the restaurant and lobby. Our stay included the buffet breakfast and dinner. Food was ok, fruit naturally great, but the rest average buffet fare. Nice offer for separate child menu at no extra cost. Good service.

Room Tip: All rooms had a great view. Adjoining rooms for people travelling together is possible and quite nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuhGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Appreciate your comments are very important for the operation of the hotel. we will continue with the customer service plan to ensure that all our staff will deliver a good service always.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
6.4 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#27 of 116 in Panama City
987 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
18 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#2 of 9 in Colon
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
Tryp by Wyndham Panama Centro
#16 of 116 in Panama City
1,231 reviews
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
#22 of 116 in Panama City
657 reviews
15.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#14 of 116 in Panama City
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamboa Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Address: Goethals Blvd. | Soberania National Park, Gamboa 7338, Panama
Location: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Price Range: $97 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamboa Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the heart of the Panamanian rainforest lies the completely unique Gamboa Rainforest Resort. This magnificent destination rests where the scenic Chagres River meets the Panama Canal and is the only resort property in the area. Few places on earth offer such an amazing natural experience while providing an unsurpassed level of luxury. Escape the noise and hectic pace of everyday life and surround yourself with the tranquility of the mystical Soberania National Forest. Here, just a short 30-minute ride from Panama City, on 340 acres overlooking the stunning Panama Canal, you can commune with nature in a pristine environment where explorers and pirates once tread. Our Panama Tours offer an exhilarating variety of jungle adventures such as an aerial tram, guided boat tours, fishing expeditions, and much more. Our tours are designed to show you wildlife in its natural setting amidst the colorful splendor of the jungle flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Gamboa Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamboa Rainforest Hotel Gamboa
Gamboa Rain Forest Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing