We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainforest Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gamboa Rainforest Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spent one night. Lovely location, comfortable and nice sized, well-maintained rooms. Enjoyed walking the property in the morning and seeing the group of Capybaras and numerous birds. Appreciated the welcome punch and the fact that they had wheelchairs available for guest use. Very handy in our case as we were travelling with an older gentleman who had difficulty walking, and the room was quite a distance from the restaurant and lobby. Our stay included the buffet breakfast and dinner. Food was ok, fruit naturally great, but the rest average buffet fare. Nice offer for separate child menu at no extra cost. Good service.

Room Tip: All rooms had a great view. Adjoining rooms for people travelling together is possible and quite nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuhGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Appreciate your comments are very important for the operation of the hotel. we will continue with the customer service plan to ensure that all our staff will deliver a good service always.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

828 - 834 of 1,721 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Spent seven days/nights at this spendid resort on a Panama birding tour. Gorgeous scenery,
and we could bird right from our balcony each day. Since we were up early and off to bird the
Pipeline Road, et al, we didn't get to use many of the facilities there. The restaurant was A-1
and the buffets terrific. Drinks were somewhat high, but if you can, buy your beer and wine at
a market prior to arriving. There is a fridge and safe in the room. We also ate at the riverfront
restaurant (excellent),overlooking the Chargres River & Panama Canal. Front desk and house-
keeping were very good as we did experience a minor problem with our room door lock. Our
room #441 was excellent overlooking the river, rainforest and pools. We had the good fortune
to have Jamaican Fruit Bats hanging from the outside corridor ceiling of our room and also on the ceiling of our balcony !!! Neat !! This room is close to the restaurant/bar/lobby areas with
wonderful views and amenities.
.

Room Tip: We were in the 4th floor - excellent views. #441. Outstanding for birding and access to the pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hplunkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thanks for your comments, are very helpful to improve the service of our hotel; we will continue working hard to provide the best service and product to each of our guests.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had booked this resort only for a few nights. We chose it because of the reviews and that the guide, Garceth, for the Embera tour would pick us up there. We were very very pleased that it exceeded our expectations. I wish we had more time there. The resort and grounds are beautiful. All the rooms have amazing views. We spent far more time in the pool than we originally intended. It was never crowded and the service at the pool bar was excellent. We did not have the opportunity to take some of the tours. We will come back for that. The bird and wildlife were abundant. The hammock was probably everyone's favorite spot. We were a little surprised that more of the staff did not speak some English. We did a fine job with pointing and miming and got everything we wanted. When we arrived the light outside the doorway was burnt out. I mentioned it to the front desk because it makes it difficult to see to even put a key in the door. We went to the bar for a quick drink and by the time we came back it was fixed. The walkways to and from the rooms are beautiful with all the plant and animal life along the way. I would very much like to come back and spend more time taking advantage of all the tours.

Room Tip: The junior suite rooms with the loft have beautiful views and are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful remarks is joy to read your comments, gives us a pleasure to know that you loved the visit to our hotel. Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama. Cordially yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I wish I could have a chat with the architect who designed this hotel. I would ask him or her, "What exactly were you trying to achieve here? Is this supposed to be a luxury resort where visitors will enjoy top-notch lodgings with bucolic vistas? Or were you aiming for a genuine experience in the rain forest preserve?"

The Gamboa Rainforest Resort is a fine hotel with many commendable features (more on those in a minute). The problem is, it tries to do too many things at the same time, and falls short of the mark on many of them.

On first entering the magnificent, three story lobby with breathtaking views of the river and forest, I thought, this must be a superior establishment. And, in some ways, it is. The rooms are large and nicely furnished, the bathrooms are impressive and decorated with magnificent tile. And yes, there are lovely balconies with comfy hammocks and beautiful views. Our room was cool and not at all musty, in spite of the local humidity. But, towels were rarely replaced. The shower head in the bathroom provided only a modest flow of water. If you would like to have ice in your room, no problem--grab your ice bucket, take it to the restaurant where the wait staff will fill it for you, and then carry it back to your room.

The restaurant aspired to high cuisine (albeit, with some strange choices, like a "Western-style" buffet at dinner). The food was generally delicious, and the desserts the best we tasted in Panama. But service in the restaurant was indifferent or simply absent. If you need a clean fork or a refill on your coffee, my advice is to get up and get it yourself. On the morning breakfast line, I waited an eternity for a simple omelet.

So perhaps you thought this would be a rain forest adventure, something like staying in a banda camp in the Serengeti? Not even close. You will see the forest from your room and the hotel's impressive grounds, but you must board a boat and go into the surrounding river environment to see the wildlife. Fortunately, our tour provided that option, and it was well worth the time. If you want to really experience the park, you will have to leave the hotel and its manicured lawns far behind.

Perhaps the most notable feature of the hotel is its vast, serpentine swimming pool with a sweeping wall of cascading water under which one can rinse away the heat of the tropical sun. While we were there late one afternoon, there were plenty of comfortable chaises, refreshing breezes--a real delight. But at the bar, there was no service at all.

Be sure to visit the oddly incongruous, but nevertheless very comfortable library on the second floor of the main building. There is free wifi service here, and (unlike the rest of the lobby) the spacious room is comfortably air conditioned. Do not be deterred by the fact that the decor seems to have come straight from a private English men's club.

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Gamboa Rainforest Resort, even though we never really figured the place out. Accept that service here is often haphazard, and you will end up having a fine time. If the owners of this hotel ever figure out what they want the place to be, it has the chance of becoming a first class destination.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

I really appreciate your comments and suggestions this will make our hotel a better place to visit. I have noted each of your recommendations because all are great help for us.
We will continue working hard to provide the best service and product to each of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful setting. Rooms were very spacious with beautiful views of the Chagres River from the private balcony. The pool area was spacious with plenty of seating and lounging areas. The swim up bar was great. There are many activities to choose from.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaBell1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your time to write your comments, are very helpful to improve the service of our hotel. We hope to see you again in Panama.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My Wife and I spent a week at the resort with another couple - the resort itself is very nice , great pool area, and good views from almost everywhere of the Chrgres river and jungle. The Buffet and Restraunt are adequate. The staff tries very hard , but English is not widely spoken here, so ability to speak some spanish will be helpfull. Defintitely recomend a room on a higher floor - not particularly for the view , but the lower level rooms have avery musty smell to them , and in the cas eof our firends room had what appeared to be mold spores on the wall. The hotel was packed not allowing them to switch rooms , and after great debate with multiple staff at the resort , they sent a cleaning crew to the room , and left an air purifier / dehumidiefier that greatly improved the room. If you are looking for wildlife , be prepared to get up early and go looking for it , we were lucky to see toucans, monkeys , sloths etc , but on our own time without guides by getting up and out before 7am. oncethe sun is up , good luck , as the animals are in the forest. There are Capebaras in full view often to see from the pool area. Alot of walking , and a resort for older people , seemed there were a few families with small kids , or couples 55+ at the resort, consider that when booking. Depending on the type of crowd you are looking for that is perfect or no good at all. No need to invest in any walking tours , you can do it all yourself. We looked on our own for tours , and while noramlly off resort is challenging I highly recommend scubbapanama.com - snorkelled with them , great day , and Panama Atlantic Tours - email hughesariel@hotmail.com -Ask for Ariel- amazing half day tour of Panama - both speak excellent english and take you to touristy places as well as not if you like. Allows you to see both the Caribbien and Pacific in 2 days. Overall had a fun time at Gamboa - just be clear on what you expect when you get there.

Room Tip: Get a room higher up in hotel to avaoid musty smelling lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, is very nice to read your comments all of them show positive and negative aspects of our hotel are a vital help to us for continue providing excellent service to our visitors. We took note of yours recommendations about the smell in the rooms. Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama.
Cordially yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this resort recently as part of our Caravan tour of Panama. It was excellent in all respects. The views are spectacular and the pool area was a real jewel in the rainforest.
The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable.
The staff was attentive and polite.
The buffets were well done to include an omlette station in the morning.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowtrooperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jetzel M, Guest Relations Manager at Gamboa Rainforest Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

I appreciate your comments and we are glad to have met your expectations when visiting our hotel, from the entire hotel staff we appreciate your comment is a great motivation for each of us.
Thank you very much and hope to see you again in Panama.
Kindest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
15.4 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
6.4 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#25 of 115 in Panama City
959 reviews
18 mi away
Melia Panama Canal
Melia Panama Canal
#1 of 9 in Colon
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
#24 of 115 in Panama City
615 reviews
15.2 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Panama
Waldorf Astoria Panama
#13 of 115 in Panama City
1,324 reviews
21.3 mi away
Radisson Colon 2000 Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gamboa Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gamboa Rainforest Resort

Address: Goethals Blvd. | Soberania National Park, Gamboa 7338, Panama
Location: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gamboa
Price Range: $121 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gamboa Rainforest Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the heart of the Panamanian rainforest lies the completely unique Gamboa Rainforest Resort. This magnificent destination rests where the scenic Chagres River meets the Panama Canal and is the only resort property in the area. Few places on earth offer such an amazing natural experience while providing an unsurpassed level of luxury. Escape the noise and hectic pace of everyday life and surround yourself with the tranquility of the mystical Soberania National Forest. Here, just a short 30-minute ride from Panama City, on 340 acres overlooking the stunning Panama Canal, you can commune with nature in a pristine environment where explorers and pirates once tread. Our Panama Tours offer an exhilarating variety of jungle adventures such as an aerial tram, guided boat tours, fishing expeditions, and much more. Our tours are designed to show you wildlife in its natural setting amidst the colorful splendor of the jungle flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gamboa Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gamboa Rainforest Hotel Gamboa
Gamboa Rain Forest Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing