We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
25
27
7
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
27
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rainforest resort b bs pipeline road residential neighborhood common room the ground floor panama city yogurt great place to stay tower feeders birders birds identifying reheating lodging ammo
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 63 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2018

Loved it! Acara, motmot,parrots,honeycreepers, hummingbirds etc...come in great numbers to the feeders. There is A/C, bicycles,excellent birding guides, and a partial trip to the Panama canal offered through Canopy Tours. Panamanian meals were very good and served with wine at supper. We took half day tours and relaxed, read, walk or biked in the afternoon. Don Goya room 3 was very comfortable and clean. Would come again.

Room Tip: Ground floor has no steps but is separate from main living area. Second floor is great if you can do a flight of steps.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanopyFamily, Guest Relations Manager at Canopy Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Canopy B&B during your time in Panama - we are happy to hear you enjoyed all that we have to offer. Thanks for taking the time to review us, and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2017 via mobile

As other reviewers have mentioned, enjoying this lodging is largely about expectations. If you imagine you are staying at your friend's grandma's house, it will be enjoyable. It isn't much like an expensive hotel. After settling in, I liked it. I liked the very nice, though non-English-speaking, staff. I liked the many-windowed room - similar to a screen porch - better after a staff person worked on the windows to get about 90% of them to open - I was bummed the first night when there was a lovely breeze but we were able to open only one window. I liked the quiet; the common room where we spent our evenings; and of course the lovely birds in the yard. Wifi worked well enough in the common area, but we couldn't pick it up past the entry to the room. Do be aware that there is nothing to do in Gamboa after dark and that dining options are close to zero. We walked one evening to the nearby resort, which offers mediocre food, and another evening just ate snacks we had brought with us. No mention was made of any supper at the B&B; perhaps one has to arrange it in advance, not sure - but that was OK. Breakfast varied depending on who was on staff that morning, but there was cereal as a fallback. Also know that Uber does NOT work in Gamboa no matter what anyone tells you, so be sure to have a plan for getting out of there. And, if you imagine you're going to walk to Pipeline Road and be in a fit state to want to keep walking once you get there, think again. When our hope of using the B&B's bicycles to get there was dashed (flat tires), we decided to walk. It was hot as Hades (not much shade on the way there), so we ended up turning around in a state of near-heat exhaustion almost as soon as we arrived. Of course, if you're an actual birder, not lazy city people like us, you'll probably get up and go in the early morning before it's so hot. There is one tiny tiendita in the town where you can get canned beer, Coke, and potato chips. Most of the part of town that fronts on the canal is a secured zone that guards prevent you from entering. Off to the left (southwest I think), you can cross the railroad tracks and sit on the grassy bank, under the high-voltage lines, and watch the ships. I highly recommend going on a guided walk from Canopy Tower - we saw marvelous birds and animals and enjoyed it very much.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2017

Located in the peaceful town of Gamboa, enjoyed owls calling at nights and bird feeder packed with birds. Staff is excellent, always willing to push an extra mile to reach your needs. Highly recommended for nature tourists

Room Tip: Book early. Mobility problem clients can request the lower rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

I had room 3, the best room, but that is not saying much. The bed was fine, and the A/C worked but the shower dripped the entire time I was there and when I used the shower, it dripped through to the sitting room below. This had clearly happened before, since there were tiles cut out of the shower and a part of the sitting room ceiling cut out. A friend became quite ill with a sinus infection, and I believe it was the mold in the building. The place was not well maintained in any way. There was not one comfortable place to sit--not in the rooms, the sitting room, the dining room, or the outdoor patio where we sat a lot to observe the wildlife in the feeders. The housekeepers would not have changed the towels all week had we not asked for some clean ones, and they were not observant about refreshing other bathroom items unless asked, although they were very accommodating in other ways. We paid for lunches and dinners, but some were microwaved and there were no homemade dessert. Tea served in the afternoon had only packaged cookies. The main courses and side dishes were mostly quite good. The food We loved our guide, Danilo Rodriguez, Jr. and also Jorge and Deysa. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BirderPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017

We were allocated room 3 which was spacious, airy (Windows on 2 sides), a/c, and ensuite shower. As well as a small desk and chair and spacious wardrobe too. The room was kept clean and the walls were all freshly painted white.

Breakfast consisted of eggs plus extras, yoghurt, cereal, fruit, and toast. You could have any combination and this was fine and freshly cooked.

For our first night we had arranged an evening meal at a cost of $22 (plus tax) per head and the money for this was deducted from our bank before we arrived! The quality of the food was extremely poor, one of the worse meals we have ever had in fact. The main course consisted of pork slices (we think they were), lumpy rice, lentils, and plantain. That in itself is ok, but it appears that the meal was transported from their sister lodge, Canopy Tower or somewhere and reheated in a microwave, the pork slices ended up like leather, and as for reheating rice in this hot climate! On the plus side though you were provided with a nice bottle of Chilean Cabernet Sauvignon, so although we could not eat the meal we ended up hungry but merry. ... ... For our subsequent meals we used the Rainforest Resort 10 mins walk away but there is no other choice in Gamboa to eat. I think it would be far better not to offer any meals than to serve such bad quality and mention this on their website as people do not expect main meals at a B&B.

The dining/sitting room was bright and airy, plenty of seating for the max 10 guests. Useful library also in situ. Outside there was a bench and chairs where you could watch the wildlife and birds come down to the feeding tables and we saw so many birds here and around Gamboa town.

Staff appeared to be rotated every day from Canopy Tower, some had little English, but we are in Panama, and managed to communicate. However, if you have a problem and need assistance there are staff available via phone that speak English. It would have been nice to have had a permanent 'host' as one does in most B&Bs instead of a new member of staff each day. Must mention Jorge, who had good English, very courteous and helpful especially with identifying birds would definitely recommend him.

On our last night we were to move into room 1 which is on the ground floor, but having checked it out it had a nasty damp smell, so decided to leave a day early. Must say that room 3 did not have that problem but this was on the top floor and we were happy with that. Diovelis at Canopy's main office was more than helpful with re-arranging our travel plans via email and refunded our room charge immediately.

We spent 6 days here, and found enough walks to do. Gamboa is an unusual place, some of it appears to be stuck in time, but pleasant enough all the same. What we did not like was the noisy neighbourhood dogs one of which badly bit a young girl living next door to the B&B but of course there is not a lot they can do about that.

A previous review mentioned the safety of the stair carpet, this was addressed during our stay with a new runner that reached down to the bottom step.

Room Tip: We managed to get wifi in room 3, light and airy
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pandsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews