We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mateo and Beatrice make this place special”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mateo's B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gamboa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mateo's B&B
Ranked #4 of 4 Gamboa B&B and Inns
Jasper, Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mateo and Beatrice make this place special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

IF you understand that this is a budget place with shared bathrooms you will love the location and the wonderful couple who run it. Others have mentioned all the positives including the cleanliness and the price. We stayed here three different times during our month in Panama. Best to book ahead by at least a few days as it is popular.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jampack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
23
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sneek, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

It was a really nice experience to stay at Mateo's and Beatrice's Bed and Breakfast. When we arrived, Mateo and his grandson (who could translate, as he speaks English very well) took us on a tour through Gamboa. They showed us some interesting places which was very nice.

The room was good, the view on the rain forest made it special. The bathroom was a bit old, and the door couldn't be closed.

Beatrice's breakfast was fine, we enjoyed sitting on the porch watching the animals. In the evening we had a great conversation with Carlos, the grandson. He knows a lot about almost everything, and he can tell you many things about Panama.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Pros: Very convenient to several hiking/wildlife trails in the area. Can use the kitchen to prepare food. Inexpensive. Lots of wildlife in the backyard in the early morning hours. Mateo is extremely friendly (Spanish only) and will go out of his way to show you around and provide guidance and information about the area (he even took us for a drive around town and told us all about the local community and its history).

Cons: Very basic accommodations - clean, but not at all upscale. Shared bathroom (we happened to be the only guests so we lucked out on this one). If you don't want to make a new friend, you may find the "Mateo experience" a bit overwhelming. Also, there is not a lot in Gamboa in the way of eating establishments - jut be prepared for the lack of services.

For what it is, this was a lovely and affordable spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Spent a couple of nights in Gamboa staying in Mateo's. I have to commend them on the level of help they gave us in getting around. We had no transport and it isn't that easy to get around in Gamboa or to the nearby sights, but Mateo volunteered to drive us everywhere and show us around. He really went out of his way and is so sweet, we felt really as though we were taking advantage of him. The room is very basic but no problems sleeping there. Apart from the occasional creature making odd noises during the night, it was quiet, peaceful and cool enough with the fan and air through the vents. I would strongly recommend this B&B for a very reasonable place to stay in (very hot!) Gamboa as they are welcoming, friendly and win my vote compared to any of the other places I contacted in Gamboa for accommodation (who were almost rude in their responses to me). My ratings are based on very basic accommodation!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelGirlCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bklyn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed at Mateo's for 3 great nights. Our room and a great view of forest. It was nice seeing all the birds and animals just by sitting on their porch. Beatrice is a great cook and does not skip on portions. I can truly say that they were sincerely hospitable . All this for $35 a night plus $8 for dinner, with a breakfast included!

Phil Hoff

Room Tip: The one with 2 beds,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phil25Bklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

The accommodations that we had a Mateo's were plain but spacious. We had a nice cross breeze, so sleeping was comfortable without air conditioning. Our hosts were very helpful. Two of our party could speak Spanish, so communication was not a problem. Mateo's grandson, Carlos, was also around and he can speak English. We were in Panama for a birdwatching holiday, and Mateo's was a wonderful introduction to the birds of Panama. They have some beautiful birds that come to their feeders, a steady stream in the early morning, among them, the blue-crowned motmot, the red-legged honeycreeper, the crimson-backed tanager, the plain-coloured tanager, the gray-headed tanager, the red-throated ant tanager, the flame rumped tanager, and the common tody flycatcher. There are gray-headed chacalacas in the trees and crested guans. In the immediate neighbourhood we also saw so many colourful birds, the violaceous trogon, the golden-hooded warbler, the green honeycreeper, the keel-billed toucan, and chestnut-mandibled toucan, the masked tityra, and the yellow-rumped cacique. Of course we saw many less colourful birds as well. We couldn't have asked for a nicer introduction to birding in Panama.
The price was very very reasonable, and included a generous breakfast. We also chose to have a few evening meals that Beatrice prepared. And we the privilege of feeding the gentle tamarin monkeys.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowgeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed just two days to Mateo's B&B, but it is a really good place to stop for more days.
Nice hospitality they are friendly, the place is clean and you can use the kitchen.
A really good place if you like birdwatching and wildlife in general. A lot of birds sing in the morning and also the monkey screaming.
The area is nice and quite.
It is really simple to reach the sendero oleducto (Soberania Park) and other places around.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annalisa95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamboa
6.5 mi away
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
Radisson Summit Hotel And Golf
#26 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Westin Playa Bonita Panama
15.9 mi away
American Trade Hotel
American Trade Hotel
#6 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Hotel Coral Suites
Hotel Coral Suites
#23 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
14.3 mi away
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
Wyndham Panama Albrook Mall
#7 of 116 in Panama City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
Holiday Inn Panama Canal
#28 of 116 in Panama City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mateo's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mateo's B&B

Property: Mateo's B&B
Address: Calle Humberto Zarate | Casa 131A, Gamboa, Panama
Location: Panama > Colon Province > Gamboa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Gamboa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and quiet bed and breakfast in Gamboa, operated by Mateo and family. Like no other guest accommodations in Gamboa, the large backyard and simple cabins sit nestled next to dense rain forest and adjacent open space— where Mateo has been feeding birds, monkeys, coatis, aguitis and other friends for 15 years. The site is ideal for birdwatching and generally enjoying the nature and tranquility of Gamboa. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing