We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, arrogant receptionist and food poisoning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gilleleje Badehotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gilleleje
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, arrogant receptionist and food poisoning”
Reviewed December 13, 2010

We arrived on a sunny Saturday and was appointed the kind of room we expected and had paid for: On the top floor with a view - perfect!
The receptionist reserved a table at the restaurant for dinner. For the remain of the day, we didn't se the receptionist again. The reception was empty (could be because only a few guests were staying there that weekend, but still a little strange ...).
We had a lovely dinner, three courses, the main course was salmon. We spend a good deal of money to get the perfect wines for the menu. Unfortunately, we got food poisoning - from the salmon, we assume - and spent most of the night at the bathroom ...
the next morning we couldn't enjoy the breakfast and we were still feeling bad when we checked out. We told the receptionist (a new and ignorant lady) about the food. We told it in a very polite way, saying that it might have been the ingredient and not the hotel kitchen that was the problem. She said she would call the chef, so we waited for about 20 minutes while she did. When she returned, she told us that another guest had salmon and she did not complain, so we must have had it before we came there. No apologies that we had such a bad night, no offering us a little discount, no hoping that we would get better - only the bill.
We were angry but didn't have the energy to complain more. Just wanted to go home and sleep.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Havenisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    46
    22
    12
    3
See reviews for
13
59
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Reading the mixed reviews on TripAdvisor, I was not sure what to expect when I booked this hotel. I stayed at the Gilleleje Badehotel for almost two weeks in June 2010. The hotel had a wedding booked one weekend, and moved me to a better room at the same rate and let me stay in it for the remainder of my trip. The first room (#20) had a balcony with a view of the water and a window with a view of the parking lot. The second room, #16, had two windows with a view of the water and one window in the bathroom with obstructed views of the water.

Without exception, the staff was friendly, helpful, warm and genuinely concerned about the guests. The breakfast (included) was typical European: cereals (try the muesli!), yogurts, fresh made breads, croissants, fruit, eggs, cheese, cold meats, juices, etc., served with French press coffee or tea. The restaurant is a destination for dinner, but we were out sightseeing so much I never had a chance to try it.

The room and bath were clean and comfortable. Room #16 was very spacious, with a separate sitting area, while #20 was smaller. The bed was OK, but lighting in both rooms could be improved. The shower is strange, situated in the corner of both bathrooms, without an enclosure, just the shower curtain to keep the water from going everywhere.

If not for this hotel, I probably wouldn't return to this part of Denmark, but my stay was so enjoyable, I would come back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paris4LDMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

My partner and I went to celebrate his birthday at Gilleleje. He had booked a room where we would have a view over the water. When we arrived on Friday at lunchtime they told us there was going to be a wedding on Saturday and if we didn't mind they needed our room for wedding guests so we "had to" take the appartement. So instead of a small room we had two bedrooms. From the room we chose to sleep in we could se the blue water from the pillow in the morning. The living room had four glass doors leading out into a terrace and a sea panorama that made us speachless.
This was at the end of August and we had a warm and friendly sun shining over us for three unforgettable days.
We came travelling by train and were told there was a path to walk along the sea to the hotel. The path went high up on the mountain side with the rocky beach and lovely Danish gardens underneath. It was quite a bit to walk (about 40 minutes) but well worth it if you are used to walking. Bring a bottle of beer and some Danish pastry and take a break and smell the roses!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Comet49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2007

My husband and I just spent a wonderful week in Copenhagen but I wanted to get out of the city for a few nights and were looking for a hotel by the sea. The Skovshoved Hotel which is only 7 kilometers from Copenhagen was fully booked so we chose the Gilleleje Badehotel even though it was much farther because their website explained it was originally built as a beach house and showed a lovely room with a balcony. The website says, "Most of our rooms have a balcony and a view to Sweden."
We took the train from Copenhagen to Helsingor (travel time- 30 minutes) then transferred to a smaller regional train to Gillileje (45 minutes). When we arrived I first noticed that the hotel did not look as nice as on the website homepage yet still had hope that the room would be nice but was extremely disappointed. It was a cold motel type room with no balcony and no view whatsoever! We asked to move but the nicer rooms were fully booked. It was such a let down that we would have gone back to Copenhagen that night but the hotel where we'd stayed was booked as well so we were stuck.
We checked out the next day and complained about reality versus their website. Yes, the room on the website was one of the newer rooms, the attendant said. I asked, "How many rooms have a balcony and a view to Sweden?" The girl answered that 8 of the 22 rooms have a balcony. This is certainly not "most of" as their website showed.
I would not recommend this hotel although Gillileje is a quaint fishing village and has a nice small town area.

  • Liked — The location, Gilleleje is a charming fishing village.
  • Disliked — Ambience only in commom area, certainly not in the sparse room.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rydelldesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gilleleje hotels

Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We stayed at the Badehotel during our honeymoon. The location is superb (although a significant distance from the town - do get a taxi from the train station!) We loved the cliff-top views and the swimming jetty from the small but beautiful beach. The cliff-top walk (either to Gilleleje or in the other direction through the national park) is a joy. We also enjoyed two excellent evening meals in the hotel restaurant.

However, the hotel rooms are sparsely decorated with none of the amenities one might expect for the price - no television, hairdryer or other luxuries. The bathroom was depressingly rudimentary. None of this would have mattered if the weather had been good, but during our stay we suffered heavy rain and the lack of entertainment or home comforts became a real problem. This was compounded by the presence of heavy smokers in the hotel's public areas, which meant that we felt confined to our room. The staff were reasonably friendly, but we were disappointed to be billed at the end of our stay for extras that had appeared to be complimentary when offered and the price of alcoholic drinks was steep even by Scandinavian standards.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank MsCathO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2006

We stayed at this delightful small hotel on the sea in mid-November. It is about one hour from Copenhagen on the highway or you can take a slightly longer coastal route that is quite lovely. A train also goes from Copenhagen to the area. There is hiking and cycling in the area and a couple of great castles are within a 30-45 minute drive. The hotel is over 100 years old and was renovated a few years ago. The hotel and rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The fireplace in the lobby area is a great place to sit and have a drink; the den is equally cozy. Our room included a small sitting area and small balcony with a table and chairs and view of the sea. The bed was very comfortable and included down comforters and pillows. We had free Internet access in the room (we had our laptop with us). The only downside is that the bathroom is quite small and the shower is open to the sink and toilet with only a curtain to keep the water from going everywhere. Fine for a short stay though. The restaurant is excellent. We had a very good dinner there. The cold breakfast buffet was good as well. I enjoyed using the wellness area one afternoon. They offer complimentary use of the sauna and steam room. Massages are available, but must be booked in advance. We really enjoyed this small, quaint hotel and plan to come back in good weather and take advantage of all of the outdoor activities. We give this hotel an above average rating. If the bathroom was larger and a little less spartan we would probably give it a rating of excellent.

  • Liked — Location, comfortable, low key style, very good restaurant
  • Disliked — Small, spartan bathroom
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank atdrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilleleje
0.6 mi away
Kysthusene Gilleleje
Kysthusene Gilleleje
#2 of 2 in Gilleleje
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
14.1 mi away
Comwell Borupgaard
Comwell Borupgaard
#1 of 2 in Snekkersten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
9.0 mi away
Helenekilde Beach Hotel
Helenekilde Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tisvildeleje
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Sauntehus Castle Hotel
Sauntehus Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hornbaek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
13.7 mi away
Beach Hotel Marienlyst
Beach Hotel Marienlyst
#1 of 4 in Helsingoer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
24.2 mi away
Kurhotel Skodsborg
Kurhotel Skodsborg
#1 of 1 in Skodsborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilleleje Badehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilleleje Badehotel

Property: Gilleleje Badehotel
Address: Hulsoevej 15, Gilleleje 3250, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Gribskov Municipality > Gilleleje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gilleleje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gilleleje Badehotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Gilleleje Badehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing