We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful Stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Even in winter, it's an amazing view. Come and see the view in Summer!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Even in winter, it's an amazing view. Come and see the view in Summer!
Bright, modern lounge with fabulous ocean view. Bright cosy lounge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Even in winter, it's an amazing view. Come and see the view in Summer!
Bright, modern lounge with fabulous ocean view.
Bright cosy lounge.
The well equipped kitchen area.
Wake up every day to a view of the ocean!
Comfortable double room, continuing the coastal theme.
Second bedroom also coastal themed.
Driftwood mirror in chalet.
One of the driftwood wall art pieces decorating the chalet.
More driftwood wall decor.
And another!
Coastal themed decor.
You could wake up to this every morning!  What you see is just a snapshot of the 180 deg  panorama!
Driftwood chalet in attractive setting with uninterrupted sea view beyond.
The picturesque location of Driftwood.
Large play area and Crazy Golf.
Clubhouse where you can relax on the terrace while keeping an eye on the children in the play area.
A quiet moment in the indoor pool.
The beautiful woods, on the edge of the Park.  Great walks can begin here.
Looking across the estuary to Appledore from Instow beach, just 20 mins away.
Wonderful 2 mile long beach at Westward Ho! Just 20 mins away. Great for surfing and rock pooling.
You can walk along the coast path from the chalet to this picturesque harbour at Clovelly.
Another stunning beach at Croyde.
The nearest beach at Bucks Mills, just a 3/4km walk through beautiful woods on the edge of the site.
A lovely comment from one happy guest.
Another happy customer!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bucks Cross, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Farhan S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Stay”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a fantastic break at Driftwood. The chalet was clean & tidy and had stunning views of the sea. The host had some good surprises in the chalet.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2016
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Driftwood. It's very pleasing to know you had "a fantastic break".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcoming, warm and cosy lodge, great place to stay”
Reviewed April 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a lovely time at Driftwood, the lodge is lovely, very clean, bright and comfortable. The owner had left many little extras, like tea, coffee, shampoo, washing up liquid. This together with the bright decoration, wonderful view made for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the lounge window
Liked least: The inclement weather
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2016
I'm so pleased you had an enjoyable stay despite the weather! Thank you for taking the time to write your helpful review which gives others an insight into what they can expect when holidaying at Driftwood.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny F
Congleton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful home from home”
Reviewed November 6, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We found Driftwood via an online search and were very pleased with our booking. When we arrived, we were delighted, absolutely everything has been thought about, even an arrivals pack in the fridge which was very welcome after the long drive!

Driftwood is spotlessly clean and the rooms have all be done to a very high standard, with some lovely creative touches.

The amenities in the complex are great and kept our daughter thoroughly entertained. The surrounding area is beautiful with plenty to do and see nearby. We also ventured a little further into Cornwall as the boarder is only a 15-20 minute drive.

All in all, we would highly recommend this as a holiday destination for couples and families alike. Thank you Pat, for a wonderful week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style of accommodation, location and amenities
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments, and am so pleased you had everything you needed to make your stay at Driftwood comfortable and feel like "home from home". I hope you will return one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H
1 review
“Absolutely perfect in every way.”
Reviewed October 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

It's hard to describe this place because it's so good. I stayed with my partner and it was incredible. The view is breathtaking. I only wish I had a longer stay. The chalet it's self is so comfy and cosy, not to mention very clean. It's decor is wonderfully done and gives such a relaxing feeling. It was perfect for our romantic holiday and I will definitely be looking to book it again next year. Pat, the owner was incredibly helpful and very easy to communicate with responding to messages promptly and professionally. It has everything you need to enjoy a holiday, whether you're a couple or a family. Anyone who stays here will have a truly great time. We had our holiday passes waiting and enjoyed full use of the facilities. The evening entertainment was brilliant. I cannot thank Pat enough for providing such an excellent place to stay and excellent service as well.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2015
I could not have asked for a better review than that! Thank you so much for those wonderful comments, which I really appreciate you taking the trouble to write. I look forward to welcoming you back to Driftwood.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LorraineS...
South Cave
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and cosy seaside chalet”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Stayed three nights in September 2015, husband and myself for some peace and quiet. Chalet was so clean and smart with beautiful seaside ornaments tastefully made by the owners. Lovely blue and white colour scheme, modern kitchen and bathroom, loads of DVDs and books and games for children and scones, cream, jam and milk in fridge. Best of all was the location overlooking gorgeous Bideford Bay and all on a lovely caravan park with clubhouse, pool etc should you choose to use it. Loads to do all around the area . Very relaxing few days, thank you, highly recommended to my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2015
Thank you so much for leaving this kind review of your stay in Driftwood recently, which is a great help to others when choosing where to stay. I'm really pleased you found it to be cosy and hope you'll come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne C
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family holiday - cosy, clean chalet with stunning views”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A lovely weeks holiday at Driftwood. Very clean, cosy and a lovely welcome pack including wine, cream tea and more. A great place to stay and would recommend it. My son loved the pool table at the clubhouse and there were lots of places to visit such as Bideford, Instow, Appledore (we did crabbing there), Bude and Ilfracombe. A great holiday and communication from Pat Wray was excellent.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2015
I'm so pleased your that you had a lovely holiday despite the awful weather. Thank you for your kind and helpful comments which are very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calm4Engl...
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday home - well equipped, sea view, great location”
Reviewed July 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed for 10 days in June and can definitely recommend Driftwood. It was clean, tidy and so well-equipped. There was everything you could need and a welcome pack of food basics (and a cream tea!) waiting for us. The chalet has a balcony/terrace with a sea view and is located in a quiet part of the holiday park but only a couple of minutes walk to the main facilities. There are two excellent swimming pools and a good play area with swings etc which my three year old loved.
There is lots to do on site but also good attractions, such as the Big Sheep, beaches at Instow & Appledore only a short drive away.
Pat the owner was very helpful throughout the booking process and when I couldn't turn the oven on (it worked fine - I just hadn't read the handbook!) she replied to my text within minutes.
We recommend Driftwood and will probably try to book it again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very well equipped. Good on-site facilities and lots to do locally
Liked least: EE phone network is terrible there! Couldn't get signal/internet most of the time
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2015
What a lovely review! I really appreciate it when guests like you, take the trouble to do it, which helps others book with confidence. Thank you so much. I'm so pleased you had a lovely stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Driftwood.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing