We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic and Welcoming”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Flat

Our Lake and the View Around The Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Lake and the View Around The Bay
Walland Farm The Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Our Lake and the View Around The Bay
Walland Farm
The Kitchen
En suite Shower Room
Our View
Bracken & Dreamer our Barn Owls
Millie and Mrs.Tiggywinkle in the Hedgehog Hospital
Hill Top Pygmy Goats
Driveway
Our View
Ross with his Harris Hawk, Mars.
Our View
Ross flying Mars
Row a boat on our lake.
Lounge
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bucks Cross, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
alf211
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic and Welcoming”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This was such a good place to stay, really high quality accommodation. The owners were very helpful. Had beautiful views out to see, and we enjoyed kayaking on the lake!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Kayaking
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophie B
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Amazing family run place where nothing is too much hassle”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This place was amazing. The cottage was clean and well presented with a stunning view across their own private lake and out to sea. The owners were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble. From borrowing a tupper-ware to letting us use their kayaks on the lake and offering to do a Falconry session with us. Even when we left, one member of the groups' car wouldn't start and they came out to help get it started.

A lovely family run business at a great price. I'm already planning when I can next book in to come and stay!

Thanks for everything.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome from the family and the kayaks!
Liked least: The 'find us' page on the website
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic, totally completely recommended - go and stay there!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The setting is STUNNING, the cottage is gorgeous, the view is wonderful, the peace is awesome but what really made this visit for me (and us) was the kindness and hospitality of the owners. They couldn't do enough for us, and clearly really enjoyed looking after people. They absolutely made the visit!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hosting of the owners
Liked least: Take lots of layers - it's a stone cottage so gets chilly!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular view, amazing house and lovely hosts!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here as part of a Hen Do Weekend for my friend. The view from the house was stunning and. We we extremely well looked after. Extra outside chairs were brought out to us, we were told about the animals and we even given the chance to kayak on the lake! The house was well furnished and filled with plenty of kitchen equipment and entertainment options. Am definitely going to try and return for a weekend get away with my other half. With the beach down the road and numerous attractions nearby why would anyone want to go anywhere else!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view/lake
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 30, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality/the view
Liked least: Got a tiny bit lost but called and they directed us.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$79
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing