We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“whats happened”

The Minnis Bay Bar & Brasserie
Ranked #18 of 40 Restaurants in Birchington
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“whats happened”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Don't know whether it was just having an off night or whether they have changed chefbut the standard does seem to have changed dramatically. Went for a special meal on fathers day and was very disappointed with dull tasteless food. The meat which used to be lovely was thin dry and tough. Also the portion size has decreased dramatically. Please go back to how it was as you were almost michellin star standard

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gohans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    188
    105
    105
    103
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birchington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Saturday lunch”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Minnis had not very good reviews a while ago, but as we are moving to Minnis Bay we thought we would try it. We were so glad we did. It was a great meal at a good price and we couldn't fault the service.
The chef/owner has turned the restaurant around we would gladly recommend it to anyone.
We will definately become regulars.
The outside is being updated and looks as though its going to be a good and attractive area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PMACZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Although we are locals and have been to a couple of the special nights held here regularly, we had not tried the a la carte menu before, but chose it for a friends birthday meal. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The innovative menu was varied with something to suit everyone. Presentation of the food when it arrived was excellent. Everything freshly cooked. Lovely setting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RayP1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We booked here with a voucher for a 5 course taster meal. We hadn't realised just how much food there would be. We were asked for our drinks order and handed the "deal" menu. We genuinely thought that we had to choose which of the 2 selections for each course, no we had it all! The waiting staff were very good and said just to let them know if we needed a break between courses. The food was all very good.

The restaurant we ate in is upstairs and has a lovely view over the sea.

I have to say we were pleasantly surprised with the standards of the whole evening. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank magwii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere today”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Lovely sunny day, some great live music thrown in , the bar has been restocked and better choices abound. Mostly though the service was much quicker, everything seems cleared away and the ambience was really improved. Looks like some new staff and a better focus on the customer.
Well done at the Minnis.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lahDdah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Minnis Bay Bar & Brasserie also viewed

Birchington, Isle of Thanet
 
Birchington, Isle of Thanet
Birchington, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to The Minnis Bay Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing