We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely awesome!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quex Park and The Powell-Cotton Museum

Quex Park and The Powell-Cotton Museum
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Birchington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in the 19th Century by John Powell Powell and his successors, Quex Park is an historic country estate of over 1,800 acres in Birchington-on-Sea on the stunning Kent coast near Margate. Quex Park has in more recent times developed a bespoke leisure destination for all the family to enjoy. Within the Park there is a Children's Indoor and Outdoor Play Centre, a Craft Village, a Garden Nursery, Quex Carriages, Quex Paintball, Build-a-base, Laser Rush, Quex Barn Farmshop and Restaurant and in the summer, a giant Maize Maze along with a packed and exciting annual events calendar for the whole family to enjoy. One of Quex Park's best known visitor attractions is the Powell-Cotton Museum, Quex House & Gardens, which attracts visitors from near and far to engage with its eclectic mix of world-class natural history, World Cultures and Asian art. Its natural history collections are of world-class importance as a scientific resource. The Museum as well as Quex House and Gardens are open to the public and is one of the best things to do in the Canterbury area. Within the grounds there is also a beautiful wedding and functions venue Mama Feelgoods Boutique Cafe Entry onto Quex Park is free, and each leisure facility that makes up the destination has its own opening hours and admission fees where applicable. Please see the Quex Park website for further details. Visit us today and expect the unexpected at Quex Park
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Absolutely awesome!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I really loved all the historical information on offer, the exhibits and to know the amount of cultural difference was amazing!! I really hope I can volunteer here in the future, the Museum and the House fascinated me that much!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hollieeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    78
    15
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not to everyones taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The house was closed due to a wedding but the gardens were pretty (for autumn) tho could do with a bit more maintainence. The Museum consisted mainly of many stuffed animals in displays. Not for everyone I admit but in their day were probably very educational. To be fair you could study the animals far better here than you could in a zoo where they tend to be far away or sleeping. Vast collections of African artifacts etc and hubby enjoyed the gun collection. We got half price admission as it was Heritage Day and also a Craft fayre (which was extremely disappointing) so well worth the money. Doubt I would have thought so had I paid full price.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MeggyStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great for a rainy day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I took my 80year old Mother here, as she had previously visited as a child. The museum exhibits are extremely well displayed, with plenty of friendly guides offering comments and answering questions. You can continue through the museum to visit the house, and although only a few rooms are open they are very detailed, with informative guides mingling with viewers.
We had lunch which provided a nice sit down, then strolled in the garden.
A beautiful location - take your reading glasses!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallylonglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day at Quex House and Garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We took a pleasant train trip from London to Birchington and a easy walk from the Station to Powell-Cotton Museum. What a surprise of the outstanding quality and quantity of the exhibitions. My favourite was the Primate display. An added bonus was meeting of family, Susan, who also happens to be from Australia. Susan brings a warm and personal note, insight, obvious passion with much enthusiasm to the Museum. Job well done Susan! Meeting her made the visit much more memorable. What a gem tucked away in Birchington. Highly recommended to all who visit UK. Had lunch in the restaurant which was delightful. Spoil yourself - go see it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank SKINewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

For a very reasonable cost we visited this place at 3pm and wished we had come earlier. There are rooms in the old house to view with lovely furniture, ceilings etc
Then there is the museum. There are 'diarama' of stuffed african animals, from pouched rats to rihinoceros and giraffe. It is lovely to see all the animals together and see their respective sizes. We were amazed at the small sie of the cheetah. We sped round parts of the museum because we had so little time, but we still had only 15 minutes for a brief peek into the lovely garden with a woodland walk (where children can do a quiz), lawns and a beautiful flower garden with fountain.
I would willingly go again and would aaim to arrive when it opens!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank E J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quex Park and The Powell-Cotton Museum also viewed

Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Quex Park and The Powell-Cotton Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing