We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic surprise!!”

Quex Park and The Powell-Cotton Museum
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Birchington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Established in the 19th Century by John Powell Powell and his successors, Quex Park is an historic country estate of over 1,800 acres in Birchington-on-Sea on the stunning Kent coast near Margate. Quex Park has in more recent times developed a bespoke leisure destination for all the family to enjoy. Within the Park there is a Children's Indoor and Outdoor Play Centre, a Craft Village, a Garden Nursery, Quex Carriages, Quex Paintball, Build-a-base, Laser Rush, Quex Barn Farmshop and Restaurant and in the summer, a giant Maize Maze along with a packed and exciting annual events calendar for the whole family to enjoy. One of Quex Park's best known visitor attractions is the Powell-Cotton Museum, Quex House & Gardens, which attracts visitors from near and far to engage with its eclectic mix of world-class natural history, World Cultures and Asian art. Its natural history collections are of world-class importance as a scientific resource. The Museum as well as Quex House and Gardens are open to the public and is one of the best things to do in the Canterbury area. Within the grounds there is also a beautiful wedding and functions venue Mama Feelgoods Boutique Cafe Entry onto Quex Park is free, and each leisure facility that makes up the destination has its own opening hours and admission fees where applicable. Please see the Quex Park website for further details. Visit us today and expect the unexpected at Quex Park
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“What a fantastic surprise!!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We didn't have any really expectations of what we'd find at this place and were taken aback by the house, the collections in the museum and the gardens!!

The dioramas of the African explorations are fascinating and well worth the visit.

Value wise we got half price entry as there was an event on the day we went, otherwise £7 an adult isn't too bad for what you'll find.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bobdibest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    79
    17
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great for little ones, she ran around finding all the things in the quiz. Loved the way it was set out and managed

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
220 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very pleasant day well spent and full of interest”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

A very nice day spent in these beautiful surroundings. The Powell Cotton Museum was interesting full of artefacts from the Majors safaris whilst I am not a lover of this type of museum (animals stuffed) I am aware it is educational and was quite acceptable in the Victorian era. I did find it very interesting. The gardens were absolutely beautiful and the peacocks were very keen to show off their splendid plumage. The restaurant was very good and the meals were well presented. The only down side was the house didn't open until 1.0 pm but it was a very beautiful house and the lady was very helpful and informative as was all the staff a nice day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family outing”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited the Powell-Cotton Museum and Quex house & gardens on Sunday and loved it. Susan - a family member who lives on the Estate was fantastic and brought the tour of the museum alive! The gardens are beautiful and interesting and just generally our visit was such fun. Great for a sunny or rainy day visit!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive and outdated.”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

The leaflet promised so much. Firstly all the attractions on site, the paintball, kids stuff, gardens, museum etc are separately run and all have their own admission fee. Expensive if you've promised the kids you're going. The £9 fee to see the museum is really expensive when you consider its mostly a collection of dead endangered species (in poor condition at that) which has long gone out of fashion and social acceptability. The house is only open at odd times and we would have had to wait around three hours to see that.
The gardens are nice but feel a bit neglected. Our round garden route was cut short two thirds of the way round by preparations for a wedding. It had taken over the cafe and we got some strange looks n the way past like we were in the way.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quex Park and The Powell-Cotton Museum also viewed

Birchington, Isle of Thanet
Birchington, Isle of Thanet
 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Margate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Quex Park and The Powell-Cotton Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing