We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed in Two Chimneys”
Review of Birchington Vale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birchington Vale
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed in Two Chimneys”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have just returned from the bank holiday weekend at Two Chimneys. I must say I was disappointed. They charge top wack for the pitches but do not provide the facilities to match. The pitch was good but quite a hike to the nearest facilities. There was also a queue at the nearest facilties (my husband went to the loo at 06.00 one morning and waited 15 minutes for the loo - only 3 toilets and 3 showers at this area!!). We also had to wait 25 minutes to do the washing up. We started to use the facilities further away but I found these not very clean. I even went in the shower one day after the cleaner had been in and there was blood splattered up the wall in the shower cubicle. My teenage son went in the swimming pool and he said the water was murky! We didnt use the clubhouse, although, again it seemed very small for the size of the site. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulkellietoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    50
    44
    22
    26
See reviews for
119
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We camped at Two Chimneys for three days and nights from the 19th to the 22nd Aug 2013 which was a Monday to Thursday morning. This was a last minute booking and like you I searched through the reviews to see what people thought of the site. I have to say we were a little apprehensive after reading them but went ahead anyway because of the long list of facilities on site to keep the children entertained and we are very glad we did.
Check in was fast and easy with the helpful and pleasant reception staff.
The pitches are very spacious. We requested one close to the play parks so we could keep an eye on the kids who are aged nine and four.
The parks were very clean and spacious.
There is plenty to do on this site, every day we made use of the pool which always has a life guard present and my wife relaxed on the sun loungers. On one of the days there was face painting by the pool, which was the best we have seen and it was free of charge!
There is bar by the pool and every evening there was entertainment laid on, quiz night Monday, kids disco Tuesday and bingo Wednesday. We went to all three and they we great fun and very well run. The bar staff are very friendly and accommodating. We arrived a bit late for the quiz night and all of the tables were taken, the bar staff found another table and chairs for us and within a minute we were seated just in time for the quiz to start.
Every morning and afternoon a tractor and trailer from a local farm shop came up and down past every pitch selling fresh fruit and croissants which were delicious.
We visited the on site restaurant one evening which was nice and again has a play park just outside so we could let the kids play until the food was served.
We visited the beach on one of the days, Joss bay. It is picturesque and clean but you will need £4.80 to park for three hours.

We had a great stay and would recommend this site to anyone and we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honestreviewer1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Returned at the beginning of august from holidaying at Two Chimneys. We thought it was a lovely campsite.

The staff are helpful and friendly in reception, the site is immaculately clean and the faculties are nothing to grumble about. It suited our basic needs.

However...if you are considering visiting the local beach I would recommend you stay away from Margate beach! It was not our cup of tea. I would however highly recommend a day out at Broadstairs seafront. Beautifully clean, lovely scenery, fab restaurants and amazing ice creams!! We spent 2 out of 5 days there. Also the beach around the corner from everything was much more relaxing.

Another consideration when staying here is the main shower block - the water tends to be cold quite regularly & it gets pretty crowded. There is another block just across the way from the pool area which I used most days & was nearly always on my own in there which was much welcomed.

Other facilities include a plug in the laundrette which charged 50p per use, an iron which is 30p per use and a hair dryer in the main shower block which charges 20p per use. The washing machine is £3.50 a wash and the dryers are 50p.

My 4 year old daughter made lots of friends here & very much enjoyed the children's disco in the clubhouse. Everyone who stayed and worked here were very friendly and we all felt very welcome. We would definitely return again some day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade_Tom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had 3 adjacent pitches on the 1st field after the entrance area, so very close to the showers/loo's. This was great for me, as it was the first time I had been camping and this was my biggest concern! Pitches all a good size with electric where we were.

The showers were ok, but only one hook to hang anything on and no provision to put anything down, such as clothes or towel etc in the cubicle. Also it was a push button operated shower which needed pushing every 20-30 seconds or so, which was irritating. Loo's ok - always had loo roll. At times the floor did get a bit messy from bits of grass, loo roll etc, but on the whole it was ok.

Our 4 year old liked the play areas and the space to run around.

We didn't use the clubhouse at all, preferring to bbq one night and eat out the 2nd night.

Easy to get to Ramsgate from the site and can recommend a look around the harbour and town and the huge primark! We had dinner at the Toby Carvery which was excellent.

Really friendly other campers and no issues with any noise etc. We were a large group of 10.

Friendly helpful ladies on reception.

The local farm shop send in a tractor/trailer with local fruit, veg, and cakes from time to time which is a nice touch.

Would definitely stay again for a short break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

could be so much more if managed better. Proactive customer care would be a great policy adoption. No one cared if we were happy or not, whether anyone one was a satisfied customer or not - no one checked any of the pitches for compliance or or even who was meant to be there in each party, no one from the team even said hello other than in the Reception.
Several incursions by scrap metal 'rats' driving through the site made us feel uncomfortable leaving our kit.
If you like noisy seagulls scavenging at 5.30 am every day, noisy neighbours every night, a poorly provisioned shop but absolutely no interference by the 'customer care' department & no security - then this is just the place to base your self for visiting a lovely part of the country with great beaches and towns all very nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koiboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We are locals and stayed for 1 night with a group of friends, having previously stayed at this campsite on a number of occasions and have always been pleased with the facilities and on site activities.
Our pitch was a nice size and the site itself is easy to get around there are a couple of nice play areas for the children with swings, slides etc and the campsite itself was clean and well kept.
The check in was simple and although it was busy this was because we were ready at reception at midday which is the earliest time you can check in. The staff were friendly the shop adequately stocked and not massively expensive.
We purchased lunch at the diner which is quite tucked away but again the food was functional: burgers/chips/all day breakfasts and my husband confirmed the burger and chips were tasty plus not massively expensive.
The kids loved the swimming pool the pool area has been tidied up with the pool side clean & life guarded at all times which is very handy as the pool was busy due to rain in the afternoon. The park was busy but we did not feel that other holiday makers were too close and the atmosphere on the camp was relaxed and chilled.
We could hear the club house but by 11 pm the camp was quiet and we enjoyed just chatting round our camp with the kids finally in bed and no loud music, lager louts etc. which we appreciated.The toilet block was cleaned frequently and the showers although basic were clean and did the job.
If you want a base with some good facilites then this is ideal for families/couples etc we would recommend and the check out by 11 am was not that bothersome as we have children awake by 7am and for a fab breakkie pop to Quex Barn at Quex Park which is 10 minutes walk or 3 minutes in the car

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

In a nutshell, pitch was a nice size, campsite easy to get around, showers and toilets clean and tidy, shop well stocked, pool clean and guarded, site tidy. Not overly noisy on Saturday night. Had a nice couple of nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolaspop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birchington
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Margate Westwood
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#3 of 12 in Margate
517 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
313 reviews
1.4 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#5 of 6 in Birchington
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchington Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchington Vale

Property: Birchington Vale
Address: Shottendane Road, Birchington CT7 0HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Birchington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Birchington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Birchington Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchington Vale Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing