We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice, wholesome meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quex Barn

Quex Barn
Ranked #9 of 39 Restaurants in Birchington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A nice, wholesome meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Quex Barn has two restaurants, this one is in Birchington (the other is in Canterbury) The food is usually of a good standard, and is particularly of good value when they are promoting their special lunch prices. Iy is good to see the meat coming in from their butcher (in the shop section of the Barn) and being taken into the kitchen for cooking.
There is a reasonable choice of food on the menu.
Food in the shop section is rather expensive and sometimes not of the very best quality - I wonder whether it is left on the shelves a little too long.
Overall, a nice place to have on your list of places to drop into from time-to-time.
The Canterbury venue does nice breakfasts from 8 am which sets you up nicely for the rest of the day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JVE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    87
    29
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We have visited the barn for breakfast and lunch and have also attended private functions there.
The food is lovely for breakfast and lunch. I can't comment on evenings as we wouldn't choose this setting for an evening meal.
I think because it feels more like a cafe than a restaurant.
The staff do need a bit of training in customer care but are pleasant enough. One young lady is great however.
We asked to split a bill once and the waitress couldn't do it as she didn't know how!
We have taken family there for breakfast and my grandson loves feeding the chickens with the food you can buy from the barn cheaply.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Breakfast rather expensive and not really good value. Rather thrown on the plate and the eggs for the three of us had obviously being under the grill

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TopTeenBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely freshly cooked food in nice surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have been to Quex Barn on several occasions and have never been disappointed. The menu is varied and full of delicious ingredients. I understand that a great many of them are from Quex farms. The staff are always friendly no matter how busy they are. Prices are very reasonable especially when considering the quality of the food. As a bonus there is an excellent farm shop attached, selling even more delicious things. The restaurant always seems busy so it is well worth booking a table in advance just to make sure you are not disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nannienorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deal
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice restuarant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just been to Quex barn today . Had the 9.95 lunch .Good sized portions ...if a little too big. Staff helpful and friendly .

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyastorDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quex Barn also viewed

Birchington, Isle of Thanet
 
Birchington, Isle of Thanet
Birchington, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Quex Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing