We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hollingbourne
1 review
“Brilliant Staff”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed for one night, ideal base for Leeds castle the room was lovely and clean, the food in the restaurant was good. The staff were exceptional very helpful and all willing to go that extra mile

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorners1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Thorners1975
Thank you very much for posting your review. I was delighted to read how you enjoyed your stay with us back in October and sorry I was unable to respond sooner. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    352
    272
    126
    75
See reviews for
176
448
24
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife and I chose this hotel as a base for 2 nights to explore an area we hadn't been to previously. It did the job in that respect as we toured around Kent and parts of Sussex.

The accomodation. The hotel is a good size and well placed for major roads. There is a large car park and grounds. The rooms are a bit cramped and a tad dated. The room was hot on arrival so we had to sleep with the windows open in October to make it comfortable. The walls are a bit thin so we were entertained both evenings by the couple next doors's sounds (sorry but it is true!)

The restaurant serves good food an a good breakfast. Whilst we were there is was never over busy.

The Seb Coe health club is a good size with a good selection of rooms and equipment. I used the cardio area around 6pm and it got very busy with gym members (not hotel guests) and i had to listen to them moan about how busy it was that week. The pool is a good size with a super jaccuzi. The saunas are within the changing rooms meaning you can't share one wife your wife.

The staff we came across were fine. Reception instantly provided us with complimentary toothpaste when we asked where we could buy some.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank br00kd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear br00kd
Thank you very much for your comprehensive review which I read with interest but was unable to answer sooner. I am pleased you enjoyed the facilities in the Leisure club. The Saunas are separate which appeals to some but not all but the steam room is a favourite and located on the poolside. We have noted all your comments and have hopefully resolved the warm bedroom issue in time for this summer. I am sorry you were disturbed by noise from the adjoining room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed here for two nights on a deal through hotelshopuk, it's excellent value with friendly helpful staff. The leisure facilities are clean and were very quiet allowing us to have a relaxing time. The hotel has recently changed to a mercure and is in the process of rebranding. We had a lovely stay and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Namruts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Namruts
Thank you very much for posting your review following your stay in October. We are now six months into the rebranding as Mercure Maidstone and we are seeing many new benefits. I am delighted you enjoyed the leisure facilities and found them clean and that you had a relaxing time. I am sorry for not responding sooner but hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ste Mere Eglise
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Not having been advised that it was no longer the Ramada, now a Mercure hotel, it took quite a while to find. At Reception they were totally disinterested. The room, on the third floor, was a long way from the lift and extremely sparcely furnished, so we asked for a better room and ended it with a sparcely furnished room on the second floor a long walk from the lift and overlooking a pile of flat roofs and buildings. Aside from not being very clean, there were few towels in the bathroom, a pool of water by the loo and nothing about the room that would make one think is was anything more than two-star. The mattress was of a very poor quality. It was intimated in the advert that Wi-Fi was free - it was, actually, £4.95 an hour. There was an electric fan plonked in the middle of the room in case it became warm, with no convenient place to plug in either that or the kettle.

The restaurant, empty except for ourselves, was frankly appalling. The food was not fresh - tinned and frozen and the fish was stale. We didn't stay for dessert. We left before breakfast.

My husband has stayed in hotels all over the world and I've stayed in quite a few myself, ranging from no stars to five stars and frankly, this is the worst hotel, in all aspects, that we have ever stayed in.

I felt sorry for the peacocks in the grounds, they'd be better off at Leeds Castle.

Room Tip: Just don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hollingbourne hotels

uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Rooms were fine and clean - size seemed ok. Staff as has been reported before were extremely helpful, especially on reception.

However the food was not good, have had so much better and paid less in local pubs. Suggestion to management stick to a very simple buffet type affair as the food was poorly (overcooked) and seemed to be freezer type stuff which had been warmed through!

Had a lovely swim in the really nice pool, but the changing rooms were dirty - paper towels on the floor and a certain amount of grime.

Could be a lovely place shame it was spoilt by an overambitious menu and poor cleanliness.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hopefullUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic D, General Manager at Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear HopefullUk
Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased you found the staff extremely helpful and the hotel clean. I am sorry we let ourselves down on the food during your visit and have taken note of your comment with a new menu due out in May. We have a lovely pool and a new leisure manager who is on top of all areas of cleanliness in the club. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hollingbourne
15.3 mi away
Mercure Tunbridge Wells
1.4 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.6 mi away
Hilton Maidstone
Hilton Maidstone
#8 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Maidstone
Days Inn Maidstone
#14 of 15 in Maidstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
17.2 mi away
Mercure Dartford Brands Hatch Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel

Property: Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel
Address: Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel Ashford Road, Hollingbourne ME17 1RE, England (Formerly Mercure Maidstone Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Hollingbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hollingbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Maidstone Great Danes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Maidstone
Maidstone Ramada
Ramada Maidstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing