We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Hollingbourne
Post
Inbox
Search

“Service at its worse.”
Review of The Windmill

The Windmill
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: British Pub serving Seasonal Kentish Produce.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having driven non stop for more than 200 miles to ensure we got to our "dog friendly" restaurant of choice in time for lunch on our return from holiday in Devon and having arrived at 1.45pm. we were "greeted " by " we are busy so cannot accommodate your dogs inside" OK we will eat outside under the covered area in the garden we responded. " no you can't do that we have taken in the umbrellas". As the covered area has a tiled roof upon a permanent structures the use of an umbrella was of course irrelevant. At that point we assumed we were not welcome and that the owners were not interested in relieving us of our hard earned cash, and we left and went to another restaurant nearby where we were well received and made very welcome. Suffice to say we will not be returning to The Windmill any time soon.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Service
Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just visited the Windmill for a Sunday lunch, it was booked last minute (I’d highly recommend you book... easy to do on their website).
It’s been a few years since I last visited and it’s been refurbished since then. Despite it being busy you didn’t feel cramped and the service was quick without being rushed.
My partner and I both had the roast beef and yes the prices are higher than other places (£17) but it is so worth it! On the plate was two very large and thick pieces Of med-rare juicy beef, a purée (think cauliflower), mashed swede, roast potatoes, roast parsnip, carrot, red cabbage, French beans and a ginormous Yorkshire pud all drizzled with a glossy red wine gravy.... clearly homemade and probably took days to make. The quality of the food was well worth the price.we then followed it (after a little break) with the strawberry tart and basil ice cream.... heaven!
The staff were very welcoming, attentive but were more than happy to give us time between courses.
This place is Kent at its finest! I will definitely be returning.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank katiejZ5447NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile


They advertise a vegan menu but don't seem to be able to deliver. We booked on open table. I rang half an hour before leaving home to confirm vegan requirement, there was no answer (although they were open), I left a message. When we got there they said, 'we will have to check with the chef, we have already had a vegan in today!'. Needless to say there was no proper vegan meal available, they had obviously served their one vegan meal. We were offered olives and veg with pearl barley as a main. I can do that at home, I don't go out to eat such a basic offering. This was our second attempt to have a vegan meal at the restaurant. The first occasion we booked direct but they forgot to tell the chef!

We complained to the manager. He wasn't bothered. As we walked away he just shrugged his shoulders.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Ali-Andreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have lunched at the Windmill for several years. Its excellent quality and fantastic value- the express lunch menu has three choices for each course - priced at £17 is hard to beat. Service very good. Local beer excellent if a little expensive - nice atmosphere and busy - always a good sign.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TunbridgeWellsDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Easy to park.

Lovely old traditional pub.

Attentive staff.

Good food at a reasonable price.

Will return.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank _theverralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windmill also viewed

 

Been to The Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing