We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Windmill by Richard Phillips

The Windmill by Richard Phillips
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: British Pub serving Seasonal Kentish Produce.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

it was all good, beautifully decorated, very comfortable with a really interesting menu

the food was extremely good value for money, great presentation, good choice

the specials menu with two courses for £10 was exceptional value for money

we will be returning, but do book, it is in great demand

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahdavis100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    160
    104
    80
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

First trip to the wind mill
Knew it wasn't going to go that well when the waiter insisted we not only ordered our starters and main at the start but also our desert. His reasoning was that they were busy and the wait later would be a long one
No vegie options food very salty
All in all a disappointing meal. But the company was good so not an entire waste of time
Richard Phillips needs to spend more time perfecting the restaurants if has rather than looking to expand

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormshill
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stunning transformation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

we called in on the off chance and were lucky enough to find there was one unreserved table! The service was impeccable and they have found the perfect balance between high class service and welcoming and friendly. I felt like I had been going there for years! The food was amazing, beautifully presented and so tasty. The menu is not huge but enough to find something for everyone. There was a lovely roaring fire and live music too. A great evening and a gorgeous meal in lovely surroundings. Highly recommend for a special night out or just a lovely meal that you don't have to cook!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank happyshopper65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Log fires, good food and friendly service; a good place for lunch on a cold day in February”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We might never have discovered this lovely pub were it not for a Travelzoo offer that we had taken advantage of; £35 for 3 courses and coffee/tea for 2 people. There was a a good selection of dishes on the Winter Menu. My wife had starter of ham on toast topped with a fried egg accompanied by sautéed mushrooms. I opted for mussels which were delicious. Mains were calves liver and fish pie which were both excellent and then an individual baked alaska for my wife and a more-some chocolate dish with raspberry sorbet for me. We would happily have paid the usual £29.95 per head for this menu and plan to return. It should be noted that they offer a 2 course £10 lunch menu; £12.00 for 43 courses.

Despite modernisation the Windmill has retained a nice pub atmosphere with warming log fires. The service, which has been criticised by last summers visitors, could not be faulted on our visit which was on a busy lunchtime on a cold Friday in February.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Forestaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe Kent
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I took friends here when it initially opened, disappointed, but decided to go back and try again.
I am very pleased I did.
The food was excellent and the service greatly improved.
The coffee needs attention but that was a minor irritation compared with the overall experience.
Not sure about the large dog next to us laying on the seat.
Very well behaved but as I said not sure.
This was a Richard Phillips Travel Zoo offer but the whole experience meant I would return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windmill by Richard Phillips also viewed

 
Hollingbourne, Kent
 

Been to The Windmill by Richard Phillips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing