We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Walkers Heaven”

The Dirty Habit Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Dirty Habit Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: There���s nothing taboo about good food, so The Dirty Habit pub restaurant in Hollingbourne near Maidstone is perhaps misleadingly named. Of course the name actually refers to the origins of this historic building on the famed Pilgrims Way, close to the North Downs and dating back to the 11th century, The Dirty Habit started life as a brewery owned and run by monks who also allowed weary travellers to rest here as they made their way to Canterbury. Gloriously characterful, The Dirty Habit maintains features from throughout the intervening years, including cosy fireplaces and ovens, gnarly old beams and a long Georgian oak bar too. From the comfy Monks Corner to the beautifully refurbished terrace, there���s a space to suit your occasion. While the bar serves a wide range of beers, ales and spirits, as well as a good wine list, the food menu caters for all tastes and budgets, The Dirty Habit���s award winning chef using locally sourced produce in dishes ranging from traditional British pub grub to more exotic offerings.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I regularly visit this restaurant at weekends as they allow you to park your car and walk along the pilgrims way and beyond. If you go into the pub they have specially made leaflets with dog walks around the surrounding areas. I have done most of them and they are very good. Upon arriving back to the pub you can choose from an excellent home made menu. On Sundays they do a great roast but also you can choose from the normal menu as well. Eat in the bar area and your dog can sit with you. The staff are very helpful and the food is top notch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JimmyDeany73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aline K, events manager at The Dirty Habit Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear visitor,

Thank you for posting your lovely feedback on trip advisor this weekend. As you enjoy the walks so much, dont forget to get your walk signed off once completed at the bar. You can enjoy a free drink when you have done all of them.

We look forward to seeing you soon at the Habit,

Aline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
There are newer reviews for The Dirty Habit Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

656 - 660 of 744 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

We went to The Dirty Habit yesterday for a Sunday roast and what a great meal it was.
Big sized portions, tasty meat, well cooked vegetables and then great deserts to follow.
All in all a great place to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheSussexTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aline K, Events manager at The Dirty Habit Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear customer,

We like to see a happy Sunday Service Diner! Thank you for letting us know and sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.

See you very soon at the Dirty habit,

Kind regards

Aline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We've been to The Dirty Habit many times and returned for a family Sunday lunch for 9. What could have been a wonderful occasion was spoiled by this pub seeming to be a victim of its own success. We decided to visit here again as we love our local game and this always has great local meats/game - pheasant, pigeon, venison, etc. Lovely.

Table booked for 13:00 but by 14:30 the mains had not been served and we had to ask a number of times where our food was only to be told the kitchen was busy. It would have been nice to have been spoken to before we went asking and maybe to offer some bread, etc and a further drinks ordered instead of being marooned for over an hour.

Just not good enough service or food to justify the £6-8 for starters and £16+ for mains. We will avoid in the near future and find somewhere else which is a shame as we've had good meals there before.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank freedonkeyrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aline K, Events Manager at The Dirty Habit Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Diner,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on trip advisor and I would like to extend my sincere apologies that your experience on this particular occasion did not match your expectations.

Your feedback has been discussed at lengh with the team , so as not to see it reoccuring in the future.

Should you wish to visit the Dirty Habit in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact me though the pub or e mail me at events@elitepubs.com prior to your booking.

With kind regards,

Aline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The food was very disappointing and expensive for the quality of the food that we received! the meat in the pie was obviously a very seriously old piece of meat which is cheap to buy and the liver was not calves liver as it was as tough as old boots and the largest piece of liver that was on my plate had a continuous tube running right through it from one end to the other, a reputable cheif would had made sure that all tubes would have been removed before cooking. with regards to the Wifi well that did not work at all so not a good advert for working lunch with customers! Will definitely not be returning to the dirty habit and i will spread the word that this is seriously over priced and under quality of food that is received at the Dirty Habit - shame really as the building and decor is lovely!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bev W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natelite, Guest Relations Manager at The Dirty Habit Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Diner,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your lunch at the Dirty Habit. Please accept our apologies we did not get it right with the food on this particular occasion. Your comments has been discussed at lenght with the Head Chef to ensure this does not reoccur in the future.
Thank you again for your comments, as it is only by receiving feedback such as yours that we strive to improve the standards we offer.

Kind regards
Aline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

we booked for 8 on a Saturday night, it was busy we were well looked after I didn't find the food as good as i expected some of our steaks were over cooked but they did change them, after our meal the manager did come over to make sure we were happy which was good,I would go again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank brianandmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natelite, Events Manager at The Dirty Habit Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Diner,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on trip advisor. We have taken your feedback on board and discussed them with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Aline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dirty Habit Restaurant also viewed

Hollingbourne, Kent
 

Been to The Dirty Habit Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing