We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxing weekend away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shedfield
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect relaxing weekend away!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have now spent two weekends at this hotel over the past couple of months and have not been disappointed. We arrived to a very warm welcome and our room was beautiful and immaculate with an incredibly comfy bed. We used the more casual of the restaurants for dinner, great service and great food! But breakfast is totally amazing! great choice and superb waffles! We will definitely be returning here in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cookie78_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Meon Valley, we welcome customer feedback. Do try our Broadstreet Restaurant for dinner next time you stay as we are gaining great comments on the experience. Great food, presented well. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    355
    198
    91
    56
See reviews for
296
298
14
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A lovely relaxing spa day with friends. Very friendly service. The spa facilities are basic and the layout a little disjointed as the treatment rooms were on a different floor to the spa/pool area, but it was clean and the treatments were amazing. There isn't a separate restaurant to take lunch within the spa area, hence having to get dressed to use the main hotel bistro. The Afternoon Tea is a real treat! Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments, it can be a little disjointed with our layout however I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and have passed your afternoon tea feedback to our chef. We hope to see you again soon at Meon Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
248 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A little gem, beautiful hotel in lots of land, rooms lovely and warm, food excellent, spa even better, staff charming facilities well maintained. An ideal hotel for a business trip or a getaway i guarentee you will enjoy you stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hallchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Spent one night here, how nice to go to a hotel and find only good things to say. Great greeting, offered a discounted suite which was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Had a massage in the Spa which was very professional. Fantastic Gym and nice pool area. It had everything we needed. A nice meal in the Zest Bistro, with a good choice of food. Drinks rather expensive but worth it. All staff were very nice and helpful. We will be going back again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moores77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, General Manager at Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, our team are always delighted with such feedback and it makes it all the more worthwhile for their efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were treated to a spa break by friends and what a treat it was! The spa area is fresh and clean, the pool is really good for swimming and lovely and warm. The steam room is very large and hot and the fitness rooms and equipment are state of the art! My spa treatments were lovely and so relaxing that I drifted into sleep. Our room was comfortable well stocked with tea making, bathroom goodies and towels. The television worked a treat and the beds were very comfortable. The room was a bit too hot and even though I turned down the heating it was still far too hot for a good nights sleep, very cold outside so I wont dwell on that. It was a shame that the main restaurant was closed, however we did enjoy our food in the Zest restaurant. I would happily return if an offer comes my way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janjanevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Overall positive, but some real highs and lows in terms of service. The hotel is clean and attractive, and the reception and waiting staff were courteous, attentive and helpful. The reception staff dealt easily with out complicated reservation and a mix of cash and reward point payments. The restaurant staff found us a private room for dinner, and reorganised the tables at breakfast to allow a large group of us to eat together.

However, the fact that the restaurant was closed on Saturday night and we had to eat from the bar menu was disappointing. We had also booked to play golf on Saturday morning, only to turn up and be told that the course was closed having been sent a text message the day before to confirm our tee time. Unfortunately, our last experience of the hotel was having to wait around 1 hour for a bar snack on Sunday lunchtime in the nearly empty Zest restaurant. I am just glad that my 1 year-old nephew has a calm disposition, as he was getting very hungry!

Room Tip: Rooms in the 300s are close to the bar, restaurant and fitness club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

May 2012 was our second visit to this venue for a 3 night golfing week-end. Ideal for a group of golfers; the accommodation and food, and the facilities adequately met our needs.
I have read reviews since our visit, some of which are over critical. This property is a functional hotel and country club, suited to short term stays by a section of society (both male and female) whose main aims are to enjoy spa and sports facilities.
Our group of 16 golfers will again be making use of Meon Valley in May 2013 - we shall enjoy it !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shedfield
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
8.8 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,745 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,665 reviews
3.4 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,013 reviews
0.7 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Sandy Lane | Near Southampton, Shedfield, Southampton SO32 2HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton > Shedfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shedfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the secluded Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club, unparalleled luxury accommodations nestled on 225 acres of stunning Southampton rolling countryside. Experience true tranquility at The Retreat our hotel's deluxe spa or enjoy a day on our 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Southampton
Southampton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing