We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nidd
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 13, 2013

just back from 7 days at Nidd hall ,rooms were fine and clean .food was lovely and plenty of it ,sadly we found dining room very cramped and far too hot ..we prebooked a cool area by a window but were not allowed to open the window ?? staff were so friendly and efficient our waitresses Karin and Elenor were little diamonds ..special thanks to Jane on reception .nothing was too much trouble .The entertainment team were wonderful worked so hard and so very friendly ..we wanted to adopt Chris Couchman...a born show man he will go far .pool and Jacuzzi were lovely .the grounds were absolutely outstanding best we have ever seen , the hotel does look a bit tatty in some areas...corridor carpets need a steam clean and the steps in the pavilion are uneven and dangerous in some areas..car parking can be a problem when the hotel is full...but that's just my little moans..all in all I would recommend the hotel ..just remember to take a fan to the dining room !!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in rooms 126 and 127 ..very quiet..no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pappilonamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nidd W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hello,

So pleased to read that you have enjoyed your 7 days at Nidd hall and found that the rooms were fine and clean with food that was lovely and plentiful.

It was great that the team were so friendly and efficient especially your waitresses Karin and Elenor and Jane on reception. It was also good to read that the entertainment team were wonderful, working so hard and yet so very friendly especially Chris Couchman.

I have passed on your comments onto the team and the ones you mentioned will be put forward in line with our reward and recognition scheme.

The restaurant does have an air management system which works more efficienty with the windows closed and this is being checked.

Kind regards and look forward to seeing you again

Julie

Julie Bracken
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

989 - 995 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 days in historic room . A delight. Lovely building. Lovely rooms. Comfy beds. Staff superb. Food marvelous . entertainment excellent. Not do sure about the wellie throwing. We visited the dales and had a great break. Well done warners.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank androidpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nidd W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hello,

Thank you so much for you great comments anout your recent visit to Nidd Hall Hotel. It was lovely to read that you found the team, the food, the buildings, grounds and the entertainment so wonderful and I have passed your comments to the team.

Each of our properties are very different and they offer a unique experience which then gives choice and variation to our guests and one of the new fun out door activities has been wellie wanging.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Kind Regards

Julie

Julie Bracken
Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We recently spent a long weekend break at the Warner Nidd Hall Hotel. Having never been on a Warner holiday we didn't know what to expect. The room, food, entertainment was first class and we had a good weekend. However the dining room experience was one to be endured rather than enjoyed. The plastic top tables (no cloths) were arranged in rows, elbow to elbow, resembling a school canteen. They were so close there was no room to move between them to the buffet etc. It was a beautiful hot weekend - there was no effective air conditioning and no open windows. WE MELTED. It was so un -comfortable I just wanted to get out. My clothes were stuck to my body. It was sheer hell. I had to shower and change after leaving the dining room.
All day that room was shut up - knowing the problem,( guests were fanning themselves with napkins, menus etc). no one on your team had the common sense to open the windows. It certainly wasn't the elegant, romantic, enjoyable, relaxed experience as portrayed in the brochure. So future guests be warned - take you bathing suit to wear at dinner and leave your lover at home.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank fussyoldfarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nidd W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for writing down your comments on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent first break at Nidd Hall Hotel. I was pleased to read that you found the room, food, entertainment was first class.

I was sorry that you found the dining room too hot, we do have an air management system in the restaurant which is more effective with the windows open and have asked the Maintenace Manager to check that it is working correctly.

Thank you again for bring this to our attention

Kind Regards

Julie
Julie Bracken
Customer Service manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

It was our first visit to Nidd Hall and my word! how impressed we were. The staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. The food was AMAZING, also the entertainment too. The Cliff Richard tribute was fantastic and also the Dancing girls and boys on the Sunday - My word! how they danced, with their hearts and souls, bless them. Lee as the MC was brilliant - no one could have done anymore to "get the party started!". Although we paid standard price for our two rooms they were sparklingly clean and comfortable. The grounds of the hotel were impeccably kept too. A thoroughly brilliant weekend, and shall definitely return to Nidd Hall and have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nidd W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor with regard to your short break at Nidd Hall Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable first break at Nidd Hall; your praise for the team, facilities and the accommodation are very much appreciated.

I would like to reassure you that Warner are constantly motivated to offer the very best standards of service and all comments are relayed to the departments concerned on a break by break basis.

I look forawd to welcoming you back to us at some time in the future.

Kind Regards

Julie
Julie Bracken
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was our fourth Warner Hotel trip and each has been a progressive learning process. All hotels are superb in one form or another and Nidd Hall is no exception. Wonderful country estate with so many sights and seats to help you to relax, comfortable rooms (ours was a Signature room with a patio that faced the evening sun) and professional, friendly staff (Elaina and Kitty) who helped us enjoy our food and drink.

All this was necessary to enjoy an end of season relaxing holiday. However, the hotel made one mistake in seating us and a few other couples alongside at least three large party groups in the restaurant, who tried to out-talk each other, in an attempt at domination. As the ambient sound level gradually rose, possibly due to an all-inclusive drinks policy for the weekend, conversation across a table for two became impossible. The noise at dinner was hard to accept but when the same occurred at breakfast, it was time to ask for a move. Sadly, as we were fourth on a list of complainants and a full hotel, there was no option but to tolerate a slightly subdued version for every meal thereafter. We think that somebody might have had a word! We had to timetable our meals to avoid the focal point of the groups' gatherings. On the Saturday night, we had paid extra for a VIP table and service in the cabaret but because we timetabled an earlier meal to avoid the noise, we could have sat anywhere in the cabaret, we were that early arriving!

Back to Elaina and Kitty, prompt and personal service, especially for my wife's Coeliac needs, helped to offset the restaurant noise, and the food was exceptional. Evening cabaret on Saturday featured a Cliff and Shadows tribute band, Jimmy Jemain and the Knight Shadow, who were really good and, speaking as an ex-musician who played their music when I was younger, I was impressed! The in-house performance group were enthusiastic and hard-working creating an entertaining weekend.

Around the estate were numerous activities to keep you amused and healthy, and a spa to add to the luxury of your stay.

Room Tip: Because rooms within each class can vary, e.g., Signature rooms on the ground floor can have patios...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank discovery47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nidd W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for your comments, I was pleased to read that you had a superb break and enjoyed your experience apart from a rowdie crowd.

I feel that perhaps it was due to the type of break as rowdiness is something which is very rare at Warners, although we do encourage our guests to enjoy themselves.

The team will always try and resolve any issues at the time, when it is brought to their attention and I am sorry if this was not resolved. I have spoken to the teams to ensure that they take action when appropriate so our guests are not dissapointed.

Thank you again

Kind Regards

Julie

Julie Bracken
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Overall a good weekend.
Room 34 Historic not worth extra money. As other reviewers have pointed out view of pool roof.
My friend in room 22 had a dirty bathroom floor and if you book room 22 you will be plagued by wasps thru open window. They nest in the ivy which can't be helped.
Rooms were well appointed, but as usual as singles you feel slightly second class.Quite small for the money.
Generally friendly staff and clean in main areas.
Dining experience a bit disappointing unless you want to pay a supplement for 'posh' dining.Menu in posh doesn't change so limited for food if you want to do posh all weekend.
In the plebs restaurant our table was like sharing a table for four with people almost on our laps.
Plus point table is yours all night-but you probably wouldn't sit there all night anyway!!!
Good service/cold uninteresting starters/excellent carvery and cheese and biscuits good.
Reasonably priced wine.
The entertainment was good and it was easy to access the bar.
Don't buy a charge card to cover what you use during your stay as they may charge you at the end for things you didn't have.
We were given one by management for £20 to cover my friend's dirty floor and they gave her a £20 bill!! This was cleared up but be careful.
Plus points
lovely setting and grounds are fantastic and I thoroughly enjoyed the pool/table tennis/ten pin bowling and croquet.
If you want a relaxing time away from stress this is the place
BUT I did feel that for the money the overcrowded dining and the poor view from the room detracted. However it is an old house.
If I went again I would book a room away from the main house and it would be cheaper.
We enjoyed Warner overall and have now booked another Warner break-do it while there cos they waive single supplement.

Room Tip: Don't book the main house-not noisy but my room cramped and lovely rooms in modern blocks with b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roseellisonjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nidd W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hi,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, I was sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your Historic room and the dining experience. As the Historic rooms are situated in either the main house or the cottage which are listed buildings all the rooms are different shapes, views and sizes and the supplements reflect this and I am sorry that you were unaware of this when the booking was made.
I was pleased that we were given an opportunity to resolve the complaint and sorry for any confusion caused to your friend as the bill was just to show the amount spent. The team on site also waivered the occupancy suppliment due to the problems you had both encountered.
Thank you again

Regards

Julie Bracken
Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Don't try and book afternoon tea here if you have a voucher bought as a present. We chose this particular venue as it was on the way to Leeds Bradford Airport.
You would think it would be easy to book but you would be wrong. 3 phone calls and then we were told to send our voucher by recorded delivery! The type of voucher in question we have used before and I can honestly say that this is the only hotel, tearoom or golf course that has requested the voucher be sent before.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank sandie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nidd W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Hi,

Thank you for letting us know about the poor experiene you had when trying to book for Afternoon tea with the team at our central office.

The reasons for sending in the vouchers prior to the booking is due to the number of vouchers that are not valid at our Hotels.

I have spoken with the team to see how we can make improvements to create a better experience for our guests and I would like to reassure you that we are constantly motivated to offer the very best standards of service and again I am sorry if we have let you down.

Thank you again for letting us know

Kind Regards

Julie

Julie Bracken
GUEST SERVICE MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nidd
1.1 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#1 of 1 in Ripley
781 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,495 reviews
3.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
3,019 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,740 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel

Address: Nidd, Harrogate, Nidd HG3 3BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Nidd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nidd
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nidd Hall is a jewel of Georgian splendour set in 45 acres of landscaped gardens. Enjoy the elegant charms of this Grade II Historic Hotel, perched on the edge of the Yorkshire moors. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Nidd
Nidd Hall Hotel
Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing