We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, Romanitc and Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nidd
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Coast UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Romanitc and Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

A Friday to Monday stay at this Fabulous venue, was much more special than expected! the Hotel staff are just wonderful.
From check in to check out they put themselves out to make sure our 3rd stay with them was more the fabulous and relaxing.
My Husband has Parkinson's and is very fail, so we had room service every morning, and on Saturday as they had a function in the Terrace Room where we usually dine. The chef from the Rawson Room cooked what we wanted which wasn't on the menu especially, and it was delidelicious, we danced around our suite (The Bronte Room) to the music played below our window! how romantic is that!

Room Tip: We usually have a suite, which is 'The Bronte Suite' room 9, which is really really nice, ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    401
    172
    61
    47
See reviews for
156
745
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abergele
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at Nidd Hall on our honeymoon in March. A very luxurious experience....enjoyed every minute. Everything was perfect.The grounds were spectacular and the food was excellent. There was a choice of an a la carte restaurant or the dining room....the attention was made you feel special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle H, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Congratulations to you both and thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon here with us at Nidd Hall Hotel and I was pleased to hear that you had a lovely time and look forward to welcoming you for some more special memories.

Michelle Holdsworth, Guest Relations Manager posting on behalf of Rob Jenkins, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I am a regular local visitor to Nidd Hall for Sunday Lunch and have always found the food to be fabulous. Excellent thought out menu, well presented and delicious. The meal is excellent value for money with a set two or three course menu. The service is excellent and the atmosphere and surroundings are delightful. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle H, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor, with regard to your visits for Sunday Lunch in the Terrace Restaurant, it was lovely to read what a great time you have each time you come.

Your kind comments and praise for the food, the team is very much appreciated and I can assure you that all feedback is very important to us, as we continually strive to improve the Warner experience with the services and standards we offer.

Michelle Holdsworth, Guest Relations Manager posting on behalf of Rob Jenkins, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Have stayed at quite a few Warner historic hotels now. Admire the ethos, these lovely buildings given new life. The clientele is older (at 55 we feel young) but I admire the older guests for still getting out there!! just frightens one some times. Our patio room was not as nice as Thoresby and when we asked to change the two alternatives were worse, so desperate race to reception to make sure original room not gone. But you know I think some of our initial disappointment was stress and as the week rolled out we felt ourselves relax and enjoy all of it. Well except for entertainment. PLEASE WARNERS SHOW MOVIES SOME WHERE, ANYWHERE, WE GET BORED STIFF IN EVENINGS. Would be happy to pay for latest movies. The best way to describe a warners holiday is like being abroad on half board basis (breakfast is a feast so need to eat till dinner) but unfortunately without near guaranteed sun. Also Nidd being in yorkshire (Gods country and I'm from Norfolk) means loads to do in area. Go, try, enjoy.

Room Tip: upgrade on arrival if can, they will let you view both rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveblue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle H, Public Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable break at Nidd Hall and I have passed on your comments about a movie area in the evenings to the team at Nidd Hall and we are looking at areas to see where this is possible.

Once again I thank you taking the time to write on Trip Advisor, as your feedback is invaluable in helping us make changes both at Nidd Hall Hotel and within Warner Leisure Hotels and we hope earnestly to welcome you back to us in the future.

Michelle Holdsworth, Guest Relations Manager posting on behalf of Rob Jenkins, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Fabulous hotel with lovely grounds. The staff could not do enough for you. We had the Hunt Room which had three Georgian windows and lovely views over the grounds. Variety of entertainment on offer with a Jazz band and in-house entertainment (also good). Food and service to the usual Warners standard.

Room Tip: Book one of their Historic Rooms which are much larger than the standard and other types of rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle H, Public Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback, I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable break at Nidd Hall and it was lovely to read what a great time you had; your kind comments and praise for our Entertainment, food and Dining service team is very much appreciated and they will be recognised within our rewards scheme.

Michelle Holdsworth, Guest Relations Manager posting on behalf of Rob Jenkins, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We booked a 3 night stay in an Historic room. We were given room 7 on the first floor which had lovely views but the room didn't live up to my expectations. The room was small with a queen size bed and no "history". I complained and was offered a choice of two cheaper rooms but they were dark/and or not so nice views. Apparently they have many complaints the same as ours as people expect something they are not given. This is because we booked via the internet ?? anyway l gave up and accepted the room. Overall the room was pretty clean although quite bashed about furniture wise. The bed was rather hard and not that comfy. We had a fridge which was handy and a cheap iron which wasn't really much use. The staff however were amazing, customer service at its best. Our waitress was lovely and l have no complaints what so ever. The food was of a good standard with a choice of menu of hot buffet. Not restaurant quality but very tasty pub grub wise. I thought the charge for tea and coffee with your evening meal was a big no no. Breakfast was excellent, hot and plentiful full English, fruit, cereals and pastries all on offer with free tea or coffee and fruit juice. The entertainment team gave 110% and obviously not West End standards were still entertaining, l loved the MC, Ben. What did let the venue down though was the uncomfortable seats in the lounge .After an hour watching the entertainment we were very stiff and fed up. There was plenty do during the day but we were out exploring the wonderful Dales and York, stunning area. We met some lovely people and over all had a lovely time. Warners do need to sort out some things though.

Room Tip: Check before you book if you are after an Historic room what exactly you are getting. The website is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariechez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle H, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write down your comments on TripAdvisor and speak to the team with regard to your break at Nidd Hall Hotel. May I apologise sincerely for any disappointment that you encountered whilst on your short break with us. I have taken all your comments on board as these are really important to us as we are making changes to benefit all our customers.

I was pleased that you found the team to be friendly and helpful and that they gave excellent service and that you enjoyed the entertainment although not the seating.


Michelle Holdsworth, Guest Relations Manager posting on behalf of Rob Jenkins, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at Nidd Hall for a week from 27 May until 3 June 2013. We had booked two Signature Rooms to accommodate my husband and I and my Mother-in-law who has limited mobility and is in her 80s. I had discussed her needs at length prior to booking.

When we arrived we went into reception and I have to admit I was instantly disappointed as the whole area had no 'wow' factor but looked like a small desk area stuck in a hallway. The staff however were lovely and we were made welcome. We were given a map to get to our room. This journey involved driving round to the other side of the hotel where we had been told there was loads of parking. We discovered this was not the case as there were no spaces and we had to park on the road. We then had to walk a fair distance to find the doorway in and then walk the full length of the corridor to get to a lift, go up to next floor then walk back down to the other end of the corridor to reach our rooms.

Mum's room was large with a huge bed but the bathroom had areas of black mould round the shower area. Our room was the same in size but our shower was a disgrace. There was no mastic between the shower base and the wall, the room smelled of damp and there were several areas of the room that hadn't seen a duster in a long time. Disappointed doesn't cover it - I think the least you can expect is a clean room that doesn't smell.We made a note of the areas that needed fixed and handed this to the lady on reception, she apologised and said she would get this remedied. two men arrived the next morning and spent a few hours sorting out the shower problems. The cleaning didn't improve for a few days! The beds were really comfortable :-)
Mum never used her safe. It is screwed to the floor of the wardrobe and there was no way she could reach it. :-(

We met Sebas, our waiter, at dinner. he was great. He was very helpful, took an interest in our likes and did his utmost to help us. The food was fine, we always found something we liked to eat. We are not fussy on 'carvery' style service and often the queue there was quite long. The staff serving there were also superb though and could not be faulted. Breakfast was good too but again we prefer freshly cooked and delivered to your table rather than collect your own. There were some 'serve to table' options available. We were disappointed to discover that on changeover day (Friday) our waiter was changed. However Michel (sp) was also very helpful.

Like some other reviewers we found areas of the hotel were looking tired and in need of 'mending'. Carpet with tape over worn areas, chipped paint, marked walls - none of these make for a positive impact.

Entertainment: There is plenty to do. We tried a few of the daytime activities and enjoyed them. The evening activities were also well planned. We really enjoyed the comedian and the jazz band who were guest artists. The entertainments team had many talented members and they work really hard, on and off stage, to be friendly and make sure you enjoyed yourselves. Well done! Our only gripe was that it would seem that the hotel runs on a split week timetable. Many guests stay either Monday to Friday OR Friday to Monday so we were less than happy to see that the evening entertainment shows we had seen during the week were repeated again at the weekend - with the talent available I'm sure that could be improved. The highlight for Mum was Sunday afternoon on the lawn when the sun shone and the entertainment was outside. This was great fun!

Drinks/bar service: Prices were what we expected, perhaps a few pence more but this was fine. However I enjoy a Cosmopolitan cocktail and despite bar staff getting the book out and reading to see how to make it I rarely got a good one. In fact twice it was delivered to me and it was orange - it should be a clear pink! I was assured that cocktail training was taking place soon. One member of staff, James, did manage to make a good one. Thank you James!

On the whole we did enjoy our break but I think the hotel management need to take a long, hard look at how they assure quality. We should never have been given a room in that state and as we needed a room adjacent to Mum to help her moving room was not an option. Nidd Hall has a lot going for it, get these issues sorted and it would be superb. Staff should be congratulated - they are your best asset. The room and 'tiredness' issues are why the overall rating is very low.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle H, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your comments, I was sorry to hear that you did not feel the WOW factor during your short break with us. I have taken your feedback on board as this is really important to us as we are making changes to benefit all our customers and the bedroom, dining and entertainment experience is a major part of that.

We are in the process of moving the safes to a more convenient location and the new Bar manager has been training his team to ensure they are at the high standards that we expect.

I have passed on your praise to Sebastian in the restaurant so he will be recognised in line with our reward and recognition scheme.

Thank you again

Michelle Holdsworth, Guest Relations Manager posting on behalf of Rob Jenkins, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nidd
5.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,400 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#1 of 1 in Ripley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel
Address: Nidd, Harrogate, Nidd HG3 3BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Nidd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nidd
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nidd Hall is a jewel of Georgian splendour set in 45 acres of landscaped gardens. Enjoy the elegant charms of this Grade II Historic Hotel, perched on the edge of the Yorkshire moors. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Nidd
Nidd Hall Hotel
Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing