We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time but definitely not the last!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nidd
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time but definitely not the last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

My wife and I had never holidayed at a Warner venue, and decided to 'test the water' at Nidd Hall. The venue is very impressive - secluded but not too isolated with extremely elegant accommodation and grounds. We had an Historic room which was well worth the upgrade, being spacious, full of character and with a great view of the Church. Despite a full hotel, we felt as though we had the floor to ourselves. The wine fruit and chocolates were a lovely touch!
We booked several activities which we began enjoying immediately, and whilst we spent a good deal of our time exploring the area, we managed to try all sorts of things that we may otherwise never have made the time to do. (line dancing, archery meditation etc)
We ate in the Terrace restaurant on one evening, and the Rawson for breakfasts and the remaining three evenings. The food was excellent throughout our stay, but I would especially recommend the Terrace for an absolutely superb meal on our first night.
As we were out during the days, we were unable to enjoy the various vignettes but the varied evening entertainment was really good. A fabulous pool and spa, which we managed to enjoy despite me forgetting to pack a swimsuit (my thanks to the spa staff for the loan of a pair of trunks).
All in all we had such a surprisingly great time, that we were really tempted to book a further break back at Nidd. However we decided to save our return for later, but we were so impressed by our Warner experience that we have booked to go to Thoresby Hall in September.
Thank you very much to all the staff at Nidd Hall, and we will certainly be back for more.

Room Tip: Our Historic room was great, but we had a look at a Signature room which was also very impressive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benny3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    401
    172
    61
    47
See reviews for
156
745
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

Had a lovely time with my sister chilling for my birthday and loved it. Chilled by the pool all day Saturday and used sauna and steam room, fell asleep by the pool and had a pot of tea when i woke up! Ate in the Terrace restaurant which was out of this world amazing and then took in the entertainment by evening. Everyone there really friendly and thoroughly enjoyed the gardens and visited nearby Knaresborough and Harrogate. The free activities get booked up quick such as archery so make sure to book in the free stuff early doors.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimOzPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

cannot fault this hotel or its staff it is not cheap but we know this when we book
it was well worth the money food great staff great entertaiment great something on all day with plenty of activities outside nice ground to walk in
Only problem we had was the weather wet at times cannot blane the hotel for that

Room Tip: Try to upgrade if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Mum and I came for our fourth visit last week. We chose Nidd Hall because it is for adults only (I'm a Headteacher and need a break from children when on holiday). Another reason is that entertainment is provided, which is a big plus for women holidaying alone. We had previously stayed in cheaper rooms, but much prefer paying the extra, even though it's considerable, for a quality room. Our view over the gardens, bathrobes and welcome pack and very spacious accommodation made it worthwhile. We ate in the Terrace twice and once in the Rawson. Food was generally of good quality, the hotel has upped its game as it is much better now than on previous visits. In the Rawson, however, several menu choices had run out, even though we ate, reasonably early, at 8 p.m. I agree with other contributors about the cramped and noisy experience in the Rawson. As a returning guest, I was very specific about where I wanted to sit. The best resource the hotel has are the staff. They were overworked, but always attentive and courteous. The worst part of the stay is the arrival. Despite staggered arrival times, the queues were unacceptable, and guests were becoming grumpy. We sat in the lovely drawing room to allow the long queues to disperse, but despite the high premium we had paid, there was no express check in. The entertainment was good, with Paul bringing a very professional approach and steering his team very well. The choir and wine tasting were excellent, and Freeway do their best to entertain a mixed age crowd. The exception was the comedy night, which was dreadful - we went to our room after the first act, so were very disappointed w hen our evening came to an abrupt end.The hotel could do more to entertain the younger members of the audience, though as it does have an oldies feel.Overall, we had a lovely few days and have booked again for next year.

Room Tip: Be prepared to pay extra for better rooms and dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linsky28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

All the Warner hotels are great, and the service is wonderful. Although there were lots of people there on holiday, we were treated as individuals and it was special.

Room Tip: Book as soon a possible to make sure you can get in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonynwuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

The hotel is well signposted and easy to find. As our room was in the East Wing, we parked in the East Wing car park which soon got full and made finding a space difficult at times. As we are members of the Concierge Club, our check in was in the library. On this occasion, the process took quite a while as the receptionist responsible for members was busy elsewhere. However, once she did arrive, we were dealt with efficiently.

Our allocated Signature room was on the second floor overlooking the garden. It was an older style Signature and of the usual high standard. However, it was very near to the Entertainments area and we were concerned about noise levels. Our forebodings proved to be justified. Even with the windows shut, we could hear the band and when they had finished, there was music etc from the late lounge until 12.45pm so not a good first night’s sleep. First thing next morning we went to Reception and were moved to a room at the end of the same corridor which was an improvement. We were staying for a week and as another couple had requested this room we had to move again on Monday, this time to a new style Signature on the first floor so our holiday was a little spoiled with all the moving from room to room.

The food was of good quality and well presented. Unlike other Warner hotels we have stayed in, bread and water were not offered automatically but available on request. The tables for two in our allocated area were far too close together and that part of the restaurant tended to get too hot. The waiting and bar staff efficient in the main, though one night we had nearly finished the main course before the wine arrived.

We found the entertainment to be the best we have encountered so far at Warners. There is a resident band, Freeway, who have played there for 14 years and also a touring 4 part vocal harmony group, Fortissimo, both excellent. The in-house entertainments’ team led by Paul are very good and versatile. As well as running the quizzes etc they put on Vignettes as the Nidd Hall Players, designed to be a fun way of imparting local historical information.

There is a good games’ room – games on offer include table tennis, snooker, darts, shuffle board, a giant Connect 4 and a 2 lane Easy Bowl (£2 per person per game)

Near the Holiday Shop there is a computer with internet access (£1 for 20 minutes) which was a bit on the slow side and did have a dodgy mouse.


Outside, there is bowling and a tennis court which did not seem to be operational. ). There is a small putting green which was not as good as others we have used at Warner’s.

Nidd Hall itself is a well maintained historical house and there are plenty of places such as the Drawing Room and Mountgarret Bar where guests can relax . The well attended grounds are extensive with a large lake. The ducks have cottoned on as to when breakfast is served as they wait outside the restaurant expectantly during the early morning and start quacking when they see guests emerge!

We found the standard of cleanliness to be high throughout the hotel and service on the whole to be good. An improvement could be made to the exterior of the staff accommodation as this looked scruffy and was at odds with the rest of the hotel.

There is a lot to see and do in the area – Ripley Castle, Harrogate, Fountains Abbey and Knaresborough for example – and Nidd Hall is a good hotel to be based. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scowlsandgrowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We chose to pay extra to stay in the Historic rooms in this Warner break hotel. This was a massive disappointment! The room was overly warm with no way of cooling it down and we had to endure the constant drone of the heating plant for the pool as that is what we over looked. We did not sleep well at all. Not what you expect for £90 each per night. The room wasn't particularly clean; dust, fluff and cobwebs were evident in lots of places and the floor was so damaged under the carpet that we kept tripping down the dent. We were misinformed twice by the rather uninterested receptionist and were served very small portions in the restaurant; not good as we both have hearty appetites and needed more to fill us than the pensioners who swarm this place. The food was well cooked and tasty but was at the extreme end of fine dining. For example the feta cheese salad starter was merely 3 cubes of feta cheese with half a sliced tomato and two sprigs of rocket. My six foot two husband had eaten it in two mouthfuls as i did with the cheesecake slab that measured 2 inch by 1 and half inches. :( In fact sadly this hotel only seems to cater for elderly guests so if you are under 70 years of age don't go. The entertainment is geared at this same age group and is a huge disapointment. We have stayed at Thoresby Hall another Warner Hotel and that did have higher standards of hygiene and a more deverse age range of visitors. We didn't expect this from an adults only break; we are both in our late 40s and felt very out of place. Warners need to cater for their younger guests a little more or risk only being associated with pensioner breaks!!

Room Tip: Don't pay the upgrade for the Historic Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitten00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nidd
5.1 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#1 of 1 in Ripley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel
Address: Nidd, Harrogate, Nidd HG3 3BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Nidd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nidd
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nidd Hall is a jewel of Georgian splendour set in 45 acres of landscaped gardens. Enjoy the elegant charms of this Grade II Historic Hotel, perched on the edge of the Yorkshire moors. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hall Hotel Nidd
Nidd Hall Hotel
Warner Leisure Hotels Nidd Hall Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing