We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in excellent setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel in excellent setting”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Came for a wedding and stayed the night. Very well appointed and comfortable room and good full English breakfast the next day. The staff were extremely pleasant and the service good. Alan and Sheila.

Room Tip: Room 14, lovely view over garden and swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    100
    56
    35
    32
See reviews for
73
301
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Rose in Vale is undoubtedly a beautiful setting for such an important birthday celebration. Lots of space inside and large gardens to explore. Great for the children!! The reception we received was as it should be from an establishment like this. Warm and professional. The buffet was good as was the service. Thank you Rose in Vale. We enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kencad1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Although this hotel is in an idyllic spot, the catering lets them down. We stayed half board for two nights. But after the first nights dinner we decided to eat at the pub up the road.We ordered our main course, which had only 4 choices. Then the waiter came back and said they didn't have what we ordered, and offered us a choice of 2 which wasn't on the menu in the first place.Service not very good,at breakfast we were left with dirty pates on the table. If the restaurant had been full we could have understood, there was only 4 tables taken. We could not recommend this hotel. It is very expensive and we have been in better 3* hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Golfbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James E, Owner at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We have read this comment, tried to identify who it was from but could find no record of such a booking mating the details supplied by “Golfbabes”. We tried to contact the person who wrote it, and received no response and so disputed it with Trip Advisor, again to no avail.

The truth is this; we have checked our records for April 2014 and also the the past 12 months and no one from Trowbridge has stayed with us for two nights dinner, bed and breakfast and also went on to cancel one nights dinner, after the first night.

We believe that the events described by “Golfbabes” are fictitious and malicious. They clearly demonstrate why you cannot trust some of the comments posted on this site.

The fact is that less than 0.1% of our guests post comments on this site. We would advise people to bear this in mind, before reading some of the tripe, from nameless people, that is published on this site. 292 comments in 14 years is a tiny amount when compared to over 175,000 guests, that we estimate have stayed with us over that time.

Regards

James Evans
Proud owner of the lovely Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

stayed in the rose suite amazing worth the money excellent. I say room its like a apartment. sittling room with sofa set, large tv, dvd with choose of dvd's. A huge bed so soft never slept in so soft bed. amazing bathroom and double spa bath and double shower.will be staying agaIn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel twice before (admittedly before it built on new accommodation) - and we had fond memories but this time...

We arrived and were greeted warmly enough - but in the reception area there was a rotting old fish tank, old tomato plants and bits and pieces that made it all look very unprofessional. Our room was lovely, in the old part of the hotel and room service was very good.

The problems started when we went down to Dinner. We had a special rate for dinner bed and breakfast which was good but not cheap. However, it was evident that some kind of offer was on re: dinner, as a few people mentioned they had vouchers. When handed the menu we were shocked - three choices for starter, main and pudding - and pretty dull choices - soup, pate or smoked salmon - chicken, pork or fish and ice cream, treacle tart or cheese (which had an added supplement of £3.00).

We would have expected a set menu and then A La Carte - but it wouldn't have been so bad if it had been well cooked. But I can honestly say it was one of the worst meals we have ever had, anywhere! The pork was overcooked, tasteless and tough - there was a little bit of browned broccoli - a tiny portion of mashed potato - the fish dish was overly scented and the rice hard - the cheeseboard was dreadful - all the cheese was old and stale - the brie was disgusting - and the treacle tart heavy and full of coconut. It was quite clear that in order to be able to do the set meal price they had skimped on quality of ingredients and goodness knows where the chef was that evening.

In the morning, breakfast was ok - there was no yoghurt - they had run out (on a Sunday morning? or just not bought any in for the weekend?). The bacon was very salty, not particularly good sausages etc. We had ordered a morning paper - which should be delivered to the room so that you can read it while having a cuppa and getting up - but we were handed ours as we left breakfast - we were told it hadn't been brought over to us - as we were 'eating'!!!!

The staff are friendly and it was a lovely hotel - but with food that bad we will never go back - shame - as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary but had a much better meal at a local pub the next day!

Message to the owners - was this just a bad night? or have you lost a good Chef?

Room Tip: Go for a suite - towards the back of the original hotel - very quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maggie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James E, Owner at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for leaving such a frank and detailed review, I am sorry that you did not enjoy the food that was served during your one night stay with us. I will investigate with the chef. It is always difficult when situations that could be put right at the time are left unresolved and ill guessed assumptions regarding personnel cannot be put right.
I have checked the system but we are not aware of you having stayed with us before, I assume you last stayed at the Rose in Vale over a decade ago.
There were two menus available on the night that you stayed, a tasting menu, and a daily changing Table D’hôte menu, using only the best and freshest of local ingredients, with the meats and sausages coming from the local butcher in St Agnes and fish from Newlyn. I am sorry that they were not to your liking.
With regards to the newspaper delivery, we are fortunate that despite our rural location we can still offer this service. We are defendant as to when the papers are delivered to us, for this reason we give then to guests in the dining room, this avoids the danger that a guests paper maybe outside their room door, whilst they are in breakfast.
We have a great talented team of staff at the Rose in Vale, we want everyone to have great stay with us, we are dismayed to read this review, and we will investigate to see what we can do to address the points you have raised. We are sorry that you were not happy.
We do take some consolation in that the other 30 diners that ate with us that night did enjoy their dining experience.

Best wishes

James Evans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crediton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel is positioned in a beautiful quiet valley.Lovel well kept grounds.Very friendly welcome by Katherine and a guided tour of the hotel prior ro showing us to our lovely room.Spendid shower and comfortable bed.We had the six course tasting menu.Each course was excellently presented and beautifully cooked.Scallops,seabass and much more.Delicous! Service was very attentive.Extensive and well priced wine list.Comfortable bar area.The hotel is owned by James Evans and his wife Sarah.James was always in circulation and he and his team run a very tight ship regarding the care of their guests.There are plans to add a spa to the hotel.We had an excellent cooked breakfast in the attractive dining room overlooking the aforementioned gardens with great service from Josh.There are plenty of good walks with instructions in the room.Free Wi-fi.Close to good beaches and cornish countryside.We will not have any reservations about returning.Try it .You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kountryboy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Last time we stayed in Rosé-in-Vale was 1993 for a family holiday with our 2 daughters then aged 10 & 8. As it us a listed building the front was instantly recognisable but thee have been massive alterations behind the facade. The setting is delightful especially with spring colour. Dinner & breakfast were good & service excellent. All staff very pleasant & helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mithian
6.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
873 reviews
6.3 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,242 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
5.4 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
441 reviews
7.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose in Vale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Property: Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Address: Mithian | St Agnes, Mithian TR5 0QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mithian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose in Vale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose in Vale is an historic and secluded Country House Hotel dating back to the 17th century. Set in a secluded wooded valley with a stream running through floral gardens we are located on the North Cornish coast near St Agnes. Privately owned and family run with emphasis on cleanliness, friendly service and relaxation. Our Chef, Tom Bennetts, provides seasonal fine dining in our 2AA rosette restaurant. We do not take children under 12 years of age. We are dog friendly and within easy reach of everything that Cornwall has to offer yet provide for a peaceful retreat at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rose in Vale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing