We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 6, 2008

We have just returned from a one night stay at this hotel, which is set in a pretty and idyllic location. We chose to stay in the Rose Suite, which was expensive but boasted a Jacuzzi bath, walk in double shower and queen size four poster bed. We were greeted by the friendly receptionist who unfortunately had no record of our dinner reservation for that evening but was able to book us a later slot than had previously been requested.

One of the perks of the Suite was that there would be a bowl of fresh fruit. Unfortunately the bananas were not fresh and looked as though they had been in the bowl for some time as they were mostly dark brown in colour. Other than this the lounge area was comfortable and there was a flat screen television with dvd player and a selection of dvds. The bedroom was very nice and the bed was spacious and comfortable with plenty of plush pillows. The room was large with quality furniture and a wall mounted television with dvd player at the foot of the bed.

At first glance the bathroom was great, however on closer inspection I have to say that I was disappointed with the cleanliness. The bath was dusty, had remnants of hair from the previous guests and was a little “scummy”. There were also quite thick stains of urine on the back of the toilet and under the seat. I found some cleaning product in the cupboard under the sink, which I put to use before using the bathroom facilities. The bath took an absolute age to fill up and when we turned on the jets they spurted out black and green gunge along with the water! I assume that this was stagnant water perhaps as the bath had not been used in a while – it may be an idea for the hotel to keep a check on this as it was pretty unpleasant.

In hindsight and in light of the cost of staying in the suite (£300 for one night) I wish that we had complained and requested that the bathroom be cleaned. We had however booked the suite for a stress free night away and to be honest we did not want the unpleasantness that goes with complaining. I feel that especially given the cost of the suite (and in fact any hotel room no matter what the cost) it should have been spotless.

The staff we met were friendly and polite and the food in the restaurant was fine but was not to the standard we expected from reading the hotel’s website.

I feel that the hotel has the potential to be quite wonderful especially given its location. It was the cleanliness, and the attention to detail, which unfortunately let it down for us.

  • Liked — Beautiful location.
  • Disliked — Bathroom was not clean. A little expensive.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buster2Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    100
    56
    35
    32
See reviews for
73
302
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
leigh on sea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Overall it was not bad but little things let it down. The impression I got was that it was upmarket but it is not so. The housekeeping is not perfect. Our bathroom had hairs on the bathroom floor and underneath the toilet seat had not been cleaned and was covered in thick urine. We did not complain as we were there for a wedding and did not want to upset the bride. However some other guests did complain about cleanliness and they sent in cleaners to their rooms. The bar was expensive but we stay in hotels quite often and most hotel bars are. The food was ok in the restaurant but the lettuce was limp and inedible and at £27.50 per head it was not good enough. The tonic water was out of date from March 2008. The propietor's wife was scruffy and looked as if she had not washed her hair. I feel she should have made an effort to smile and look clean as she is in the public eye and especially as it was a wedding. It is a shame and I hope that they look at this constuctively then,make a few changes

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank princessgilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2008

This lovely hotel is set in a beautiful, peacefull setting, Our room was very light and comfy , delightfully decorated. The owners were more than accomodating and when we had troubles with our car went out of their way to help organise a hire car for a few days.The staff were also very friendly. We really like the hotel resurant over looking the gardens and enjoyed the menu.
With the hot tub , swimmimg pool and crocket you could spend a relaxing morning before enjoying afternoon tea in the garden over looking the stream and duck pond, bliss.
We will be sure to return.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molly123Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2008

I am very surprised by the negative reviews of the Rose-in-Vale Hotel. My husband and I stayed at the Rose-in-Vale for my birthday in May. The hotel is beautiful – a picturesque country house in a tranquil valley.

We dined at the hotel every evening during our stay, and the food, wine and service were superb. We especially enjoyed the delectable, fresh seafood and the excellent wine recommendations.

What impressed us most was the hospitality of the proprietors, Sara and James Evans, who exceeded our expectations by going out of their way to accommodate us and ensure we had a wonderful stay. Sara and James were outstanding hosts. They told us much about the local area and recommended places of interest to visit. We were without a car, but thanks to their helpful advice, we were able to visit St Ives and neighbouring areas. We have stayed at many country house hotels, and none of them have had such gracious and congenial proprietors who made us feel truly welcome.

We enjoyed every aspect of our stay thoroughly – the idyllic setting, excellent cuisine, comfortable room with a lovely view, nearby coastal walks and the proprietors’ lovely Labrador, Hetty.

We wholeheartedly recommend the hotel and hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaidaValeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We stayed here on our wedding night, having booked the most expensive suite in the hotel complete with jacuzzi bath. Whilst the room was lovely it stops there. We awoke the moring after looking forward to our jacuzzi and found that there was very limited lukewarm water. We contacted reception who told us the hot water had been switched off (they told us they switched it back on again but this was 11/2 hours before checkout and it wasn't hot by the time we left)! Not good when we paid £250 for 1 night. I would at least expect constant hot water.
We had also booked lunch for the day we checked out for 39 family and friends in the restaurant. The owner was rude (got really cross when some guests hadn't arrived 10mins after we had booked the table) and then asking us to leave at 2pm as he had other people booked in for lunch and needed the tables - not really what we expected and the food was OK (just OK). Bearing in mind the money this hotel received from us over a 48 hour period I would have expected a lot better service and some decent manners from the owner. To sum up - don't waste your money.

  • Liked — Looked beautiful
  • Disliked — Not hot water, rude staff/owner
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topcatcornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseinVale, Owner at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2008
We are sorry that this couple were not happy.

We did do our best for them, they were getting married locally and they asked us for a late check-in of between 11:00 pm and 12:00pm, which we agreed to, they turned up at 1:15am. We waited up for them, but did think that a telephone call advising us of their revised ETA would have been courteous. They booked lunch for 12:30pm. Their guests started turning up at 11:15am, 1 ½ hours later at 12:45 they advised me that they were still awaiting one person. We did have other diners booked in at 1:00pm and 1:15 pm to be fair to them we had to ask the party to go through at 12:50 ( 20 mins late). Once they were seated we have the opportunity of tidying up our residents lounges. After their lunch (2:45pm) they wanted to return to the resident’s lounges. This was not possible as they had booked lunch (at last years rate of £14.95per person) and not to take the hotel over for the day. We advised them they were welcome to remain in the dinning room.

They checked out of their room at 12:15, our normal check out time is 10:30. We do not running the boilers 24 hours a day as we do not plan on people checking out late.

We are sorry that these people did not have a good time may be had they made an attempt to stick to the arrangements as originally booked then things would have been fine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We arrived on a slate grey day, more like March than July.
My wife was cold so she ran a hot bath.
The water was tepid. Contacted rception who advised that they would boost the temperature of the water as they weren't expecting guests to want a mid afternoon bath.
The water got warmer but not really hot so boiled several kettles of hot water to add.

Dinner was fine, the hotel was quiet but nice.

Got up late - the following day - had breakfast - went back to room for bath/shower - tepid water again.

Proprietor came to room - said water temperature was OK. This was plainly rubbish. He said that the cost of heating was high so they were being careful with times when hot water was provided.
Complained that at £100 per night for this 3 star hotel - we should expect better than this.
We immediately checked out.

Drove back home - booked a flight to Portugal - checked in at a hotel where there was plenty of hot water and better weather too!

L Kershaw

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2008

A lovely venue but weekend unfortunately ruined by attitude of the proprieters. I would not stay again. Also overpriced bar. (e.g. £2 for half a pint of lemonade, seen to be poured from a standard supermarket 2 litre bottle.). Food good although service slow. Room lived up to expectations.

  • Liked — Venue
  • Disliked — Attitude
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DisappointedJune08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseinVale, Owner at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2008
This lady was happy and had a good time until she came down for breakfast 35 mins after breakfast service had ended on the last morning or her stay. She was upset as we were unable to provide her with a full cooked breakfast at that time. We offered her Cereal, Toast and a Continental but this was not acceptable to her.

We charge £2.00 for a coke or lemonade, which does come from a bottle. I do not think that this is expensive compared to other hotels or restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mithian
6.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
876 reviews
6.3 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,246 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.9 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
5.4 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose in Vale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Property: Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Address: Mithian | St Agnes, Mithian TR5 0QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mithian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose in Vale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose in Vale is an historic and secluded Country House Hotel dating back to the 17th century. Set in a secluded wooded valley with a stream running through floral gardens we are located on the North Cornish coast near St Agnes. Privately owned and family run with emphasis on cleanliness, friendly service and relaxation. Our Chef, Tom Bennetts, provides seasonal fine dining in our 2AA rosette restaurant. We do not take children under 12 years of age. We are dog friendly and within easy reach of everything that Cornwall has to offer yet provide for a peaceful retreat at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rose in Vale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing