We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 1, 2008

A lovely venue but weekend unfortunately ruined by attitude of the proprieters. I would not stay again. Also overpriced bar. (e.g. £2 for half a pint of lemonade, seen to be poured from a standard supermarket 2 litre bottle.). Food good although service slow. Room lived up to expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DisappointedJune08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseinVale, Owner at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2008

This lady was happy and had a good time until she came down for breakfast 35 mins after breakfast service had ended on the last morning or her stay. She was upset as we were unable to provide her with a full cooked breakfast at that time. We offered her Cereal, Toast and a Continental but this was not acceptable to her.

We charge £2.00 for a coke or lemonade, which does come from a bottle. I do not think that this is expensive compared to other hotels or restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 508 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2008

We were in the Rose Suite and very good it was too!
This Hotel is tucked away in a typical cornish valley and it is so peaceful and very easy to get to beaches and other sites.
The owners will do all they can to make you comfortable and the staff are very good. Excellent Chef with a very reasonably priced three course meal at dinner.
We were too early for the pool to be open but that looked good and a decent size too.
All in all we had a very good week-end ,despite the fact that we were on our way to the Scilly Islands from Bristol Airport and flights cancelled due to fog. We found the Rose in Vale in the AA Hotel Book in Smiths and it went from there and Mr. and Mrs Evans saved our week-end from being a disaster!
Much appreciated and very much enjoyed!

Mike and Madeleine Hayward

Stayed: May 2008
Thank patuniaWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2008

Having gone on line to find a hotel for a nice weekend away I came across the Rose in Vale - wow! A beautiful setting a fantatsic room with a beautiful four poster bed and food to die for. We were looked after so well we felt like old friends. Would recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IOW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

My wife and I stayed here the night after our wedding. I told her I had booked a Travel Lodge!

Upon arriving at the hotel we were made extremely welcome and were not disappointed with the location or premises.The sun was shining and the birds singing.

I had 'pushed the boat out' and booked the Rose Suite. Normally I would consider this too expensive, but I think the night after your wedding should not be skimped upon! We live in a farm house in a beautiful location, so are somewhat fussy where we stay.

We were delighted with the suite. The massive bed, amazing bathroom and beautiful outlook. Sheer indulgence.

James also kindly showed us the lovely MG Midget, of particular personal interest given that I also own one.

The dinner and champagne was superb, again James and Sara being flexible with timing and making us feel very important. We could not fault the food - fantastic. It was also nice to have a tinkle on the piano, though a tune-up would be benficial here!!

Before our stay I had read some rather negative reviews of the hotel from a few months back. I can only say that these people are clearly unsuitable for an establishment such as this, and should stick to back street boarding houses. Rude and unpleasant guests cannot expect constant pleasantries from any hotel proprietor.

James and Sara, if you should read this, thank you. You did us proud and we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moggiesgalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2008

Stayed 3 nights in this lovely hotel, set in a peaceful location in its own delightful grounds. Owners and staff alike were friendly and helpful, making us feel very welcome. It was like staying in a country house rather than a hotel. The menu for dinner was varied, using local produce where possible. The standard of food and presentation was excellent, the dining room spacious, light and elegant. Our room was comfortably furnished with double aspect windows looking over the gardens. The open fire and deep armchairs in the drawing room were most welcome after long walks. Ample parking and convenient location for many of Cornwall's attractions.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank PleasedofSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2008

We decided to treat ourselves to a little luxury after a brief visit to our old haunts in Cornwall. All I can say is that from the moment we walked in we were treated with friendliness and courtesy by the lovely young receptionist. Our room which was a superior was just lovely and what a wonderful mattress! and view of the gardens. Our little 9 month old puppy was made very welcome and enjoyed all the fuss made over him.
We booked our Saturday night meal at the hotel and all I can say is that it was fantastic, you could tell the meat was organic as there was so much flavour to it. I have a lactose intolerance and my food was adapted accordingly when I mentioned this to the waitress.
We are already thinking about taking my in-laws down in October to celebrate my father-in-law's 80th!
Our stay at this hotel was everything we expected and more, thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank guest-dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

Have just returned from a 5 night stay at Rose In Vale and thought I had to write a review as I had almost been put off going after reading previous reviews but our experience was very positive.
The hotel is very pretty and in a lovely setting. It is in tiny village reached by a country lane and the only local facilities seemed to be a country pub so we found ourselves driving to the local coastal towns each day. This however suited us as we wanted a very quiet, relaxing time and you do feel you have got away from it all at the hotel.
It was winter so we did not make use of the pretty gardens, swimming pool, hot tub etc instead we sat on comfy sofas in front of the log fires in the lounge.
Every staff member we came into contact with was extremely friendly and helpful and although the hotel is very small we did not have any trouble contacting someone if we needed to.
The decor did not look at all tired as some of the other reviews had noted but from speaking to other guests who were return visitors it has been redecorated with carpets, floors and furniture replaced recently.
Our bedroom did have creaky floorboards but it is a very old house. I was worried it might bother people underneath us but when I checked it was just a storage area so it was fine. It was clean and fresh with big wooden wardrobes, dressing table and bed and 2 flatscreen TV's which saved any arguements when the football was on!
We did have one problem with the room during our stay which was a leaky hot water tap in the bath but when we mentioned it to the manager he checked it out and could not fix it straight away so he switched us to an upgraded room for the rest of our stay.
We ended up in the Rose Suite which matches and probably exceeds any hotel room I have ever stayed in - and I have stayed in many four and five star hotels in different parts of the world. The bed was a huge kingsize four poster with a very comfy mattress and the bathroom had a double jacuzzi bath and double shower which all looked very clean and new.
The food was one of the big highlights - we enjoyed every meal and found there was plenty of choice and it was well cooked, well presented and good sized portions. Again I was told the food had improved since they replaced the chef. For such a small hotel I was very impressed with the choice at breakfast where you help yourself to juice, cereals, fresh fruit and ordered hot drinks, toast and could also choose from a very large menu including full english, continental, fish based breakfasts or alternatives like waffles, pancakes etc which was cooked fresh to order.
To sum up I would say the hotel has quite a homely and sophisticated feel. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the staff but it is only a small hotel so there is not a 24hour service but we did not ever need this. Similarly if you are looking for a lively location with lots of entertainment this would not be right for you. However if you are after a quiet, relaxing break it is perfect and virtually everyone else we met were return guests so they must be doing something right!
We would certainly be happy to return - it is not cheap but I did consider it value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mithian
6.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
894 reviews
6.3 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,260 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Beacon Country House Hotel
7.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
5.4 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose in Vale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Address: Mithian | St Agnes, Mithian TR5 0QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mithian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Price Range: $167 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose in Vale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose in Vale is an historic and secluded Country House Hotel dating back to the 17th century. Set in a secluded wooded valley with a stream running through floral gardens we are located on the North Cornish coast near St Agnes. Privately owned and family run with emphasis on cleanliness, friendly service and relaxation. Our Chef, Tom Bennetts, provides seasonal fine dining in our 2AA rosette restaurant. We do not take children under 12 years of age. We are dog friendly and within easy reach of everything that Cornwall has to offer yet provide for a peaceful retreat at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rose in Vale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing