We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loveliest hotel near Truro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rose in Vale Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We took the train from London and arrived around 11:30. A taxi ride to the hotel was about £20 and as we pulled into the dark drive it was welcoming to see the owner standing at the entrance waiting to meet us. They had graciously met one of our party's requirements for a ground floor room with a walk-in shower and quickly led us to warm and charming rooms. We wandered into the several cozy reception rooms and found the bar still open with two fires burning and plenty of plush deep chairs and sofas. Even board games. When the sun rose, we were even more delighted. The hotel and the grounds are lovely, beautifully landscaped and spacious. Breakfast in the hotel was delicious, ample, and elegantly presented. Try the homemade muesli -- fantastic. After a taxi back to Truro to rent a car, we toured much of Cornwall for two days, coming hope to a truly fantastic dinner in the dining room. This hotel is truly a find.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 509 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

We took a few days away at this lovely hotel, nestling in beauitifully landscaped grounds.

The whole hotel is warm, welcoming, and very comfortable - with a blazing real fire in the lounge for the cold nights - very welcome after a long cold walk along local footpaths.

The service and food were excellent. Sara and James were very welcoming and helpful and all the other staff we met were very pleasant, polite and professional.

We would recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a super hotel, very friendly welcome and nothing is too much trouble .
The rooms are spacious, exceptionally clean and well equipped. Our group were in Captain Oates standard rooms which varied in layout making it more interesting, compared to one fits all, that are often found in modern hotels.
The evening meal was very good and provided a wide ranging choice to suit all tastes.
Service was very efficient but not rushed . After dinner there is ample room to relax in the lounge for coffee etc.
I would recommend this hotel for the qualities mentioned above and much more. It has a quiet location but is within easy reach of St Agnes, St Ives and Truro. The Miners Arms is just a short distance from the hotel and is a quaint 16th C pub , well worth a visit.
If you are having a break in Cornwall , stay here and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here 3 times now, twice for the murder mystery weekends in November and they are great fun. Not to be taken too seriously,good entertainment and comfortable rooms and lovely food. Also stayed just about the time the new restaurant was launched. Despite some really difficult problems at the time, the food was lovely and the new young chef is to be congratulated. The hotel is in such an idyllic little hamlet, that it is easy to relax and wind down. James is a lovely host, there but not in your face! Hope that all the things planned for this lovely country hotel come off and improve it even more

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torquaytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseinVale, Owner at Rose in Vale Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your review,

I am a little confused you say say everything was "perfect", yet you have marked the hotel down on every area, Location, Service, Value, Sleep Quality, Rooms and Cleanliness yet give no reason for this.

I have emailed you and you say you are a harsh reviewer, I accept everyone is entitled to their opinion, I would maintain that there is a difference between being harsh and fair and accurate.

Regards

James Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

After booking Mother’s day lunch for myself, my mother and our guest who was himself a successful Cornish hotel owner for 39 years, we were delighted to find The Rose in Vale Hotel in excellent order as my mother had worked at the Rose in Vale for many years as head housekeeper and then manager. The building works that have been carried out over the past few years are sympathetic and very in keeping with the surroundings and the hotel is looking great.

We went to the bar to order drinks before lunch and received a very warm welcome from the owner’s son (so I found out later), we retired to the lounge which was a lovely space and our champagne was served while we viewed the menu. The service was attentive but not intrusive with the hotel's owner James also on hand and being very good front of house. We chose our dishes and were shown through to the dining room; we had a bay window seat with views over the gardens and down to the stream all very nice. The food was served with good timing not too rushed and also not too slow, just enough time to appreciate the dish that you had just eaten. The quality of the food was excellent and we really enjoyed our lunch.

After lunch we again retired to the bar and were greeted by James so we ordered coffee and liquors. He served these to us and as the lunch rush was all but over as we had chosen to eat later he took the time to sit with us and chat about the hotel with my mum who was thrilled that he was so interested in the stories she had to tell. The afternoon/eve went on and James was kind enough to give us the grand tour of the hotel and we were able to view some of the rooms which were of a very high standard, much to the pleasure of mum.

I spent a lot of time at the Rose in Vale as a child (not saying how long ago that was) and it was wonderful to be able to see the difference and have such a gracious host. I would like to say a big thank you to James for making our visit a memorable one and also for making my mums mother’s day one she will not forget !! Thank You

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUNSETSUE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Although we live locally we have found the perfect place for some wonderful R&R. The Rose-in-Vale is set in a quiet village in the most wonderful setting -the entrance drive is impressive and the grounds are immaculate. The daffodils and the primroses were just coming out.
We were welcomed warmly and shown to our beautiful room. It had a huge extremely comfortable bed with blankets instead of the usual duvet. Our view was of the swimming pool and gardens.
we particularly liked the bathroom with its spa bath and wet room type shower.
Having our dog with us we appreciated being able to take her into the bar with us for our pre dinner drink. The canapes were a lovely touch.
The food in t he restaurant was delicious with a variety selection of choices and beautifully presented.Gary the restaurant manager was attentive and helpful as were all the staff we met.
We so enjoyed our stay that we made another reservation before leaving -enough said!

Room Tip: We had room 21 which we would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Spent our 42nd Wedding Anniversary at Rose-in-Vale and found ourselves luxuriating in what is the most comfortable and efficiently run Hotel we have visited. We treated ourselves to the Rose. Suite for three nights and were delighted with the separate lounge, the large bedroom and even bigger en suite. Food was extremely good and the staff were very attentive and friendly. There was nothing we could fault about the Hotel which is set in the most beautiful grounds in a little village called Mithian. We highly recommend a visit.
Derek Moon MBE.

Room Tip: For a couple we recommend the Rose Suite which overlooks the lovely gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mithian
6.3 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
905 reviews
6.3 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,271 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
18.9 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose in Vale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose in Vale Country House Hotel

Address: Mithian | St Agnes, Mithian TR5 0QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mithian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mithian
Price Range: $160 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rose in Vale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose in Vale is an historic and secluded Country House Hotel dating back to the 17th century. Set in a secluded wooded valley with a stream running through floral gardens we are located on the North Cornish coast near St Agnes. Privately owned and family run with emphasis on cleanliness, friendly service and relaxation. Our Chef, Tom Bennetts, provides seasonal fine dining in our 2AA rosette restaurant. We do not take children under 12 years of age. We are dog friendly and within easy reach of everything that Cornwall has to offer yet provide for a peaceful retreat at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rose in Vale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing