We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great times had by all!!”
Review of Potters Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hopton on Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Potters Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 24, 2014

A great place - there is something to do for all ages, including the adults. The staff are friendly and helpful and the accommodation is also very clean and comfortable. We have nothing negative to say, in fact we will definitely be going back - it's a great way to spend quality family time, without the hassle of flying!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PK73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,878)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,403 - 3,409 of 4,878 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

First time we have been to potters via a friends recommendation. The rooms in the bungelow plus suites were lovely. Bright and modern with a high standard of cleanliness. Chalet we stayed in had a wonderful view of the coast. Evening entertainment very good. Shows were superb and the Atlas Theatre is very pleasant. We took our 9 year old son, 12 year old niece and 16th month baby boy. During the day (and this holiday was during half term) we found that whilst the Itinerary showed lots of activities, it was the same thing everyday apart from say 2 or 3 new activities. These were in demand and needed to be booked by at least 8.15 in the morning to get a place on that day. Even with 3 children, we are on holiday and we want to enjoy the slower pace which you don't seem to get at home in the mornings during the school run!! There is no real activities for baby's under 2. There is a soft play area which in all fairness is pretty lame and held no interest for my 16 month old. Potters really need to address both the facilities and activities for their youngest guests. Please don't tell me it's not cost effective to include this because lots of family's come with babies and we want every member of our family to be entertained and happy. The evening were infact the deal breaker for the eldest two children. Buzbys basement is fantastic, along with the arcade and we felt perfectly happy to let the two children have their own space every night knowing exactly where they were, getting them to check in with us every hour. The kids really loved the evenings. The other comments I wish to make regard the food. My compliments to both your chefs and your waiter/waitresses. Not only do they work extremely hard they are very helpful and nothing at all was too much trouble. Amazing!! The food was very, very good and an excellent choice . Found that by Thursday we were all done with eating though and wondered if it is necessary to have that much food offered to you four times a day?? Don't come here if you want to lose weight!! Also had a great evening at the Black Rock Grill. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kjjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

From the very warm friendly reception when we arrived, right throughout the whole experience of activities and events Potters have just got it right! Even relatively 'small detail' like aiming to sit you with your group at the same table for each of the (gorgeous) meals. (You need to pre-advise this). That seems such a minor detail but means you can be assured that at whatever time you arrive at your table, you'll be joining your friends and you know you'll be together and not fretting about all being sat at different tables. After all, meals are meant to be a sociable get together too! The range of activities on offer are unbelievable, you get to try things you've never tried before. So much for the kids and then evening entertainment superb.
Well done Potters!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LJC655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I went to this resort as a kid on my family hols and now I am taking my children for their family hols. It's a safe environment for your children. Has unlimited activities for all ages. Provides good food and exceptional waitress service in the dining room. Evenings are spent as a family with children’s entertainment and then onto the evening show which is on the same level as London West End show. Accommodation has recently been updated which made our stay in the chalet very comfortable and homely. Our party was 33 persons this year, all family, it's great to be able to all go away together but not feel like we are all in each other’s pockets. Sharing laughter, activities, meal times together, making memory's my children will now have as I did.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Oranges00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were there at Easter, and had a group of 20 guests of varied ages from 11 months to 80 years old. the group stayed in various grades of accommodation and everyone was happy with their rooms. One person had the radiator out of action in a single room which was cold. I had a hotel superior room which was supurb. Entertainment was excellent and there is something for everyone to be involved in all day if you wish but you need to plan the activities as they are fast and furious which are swimming in lovely warm pool, adult go karting,rifle shooting,indoor/outdoor bowling,golf,crazy golf, indoor inflatable assault course. All activities are included in the price except the ten pin bowling. My only criticism isThe restaurant food is not the same standard as when we started going to Potters some 15years ago, the service is not the good standard either, one morning we waited for toast and was not even asked when arriving for breakfast if we wanted tea or coffee which happened a couple of mornings but the ususal wiatress was not there..I put the glasses on our table myself with the orange juice as fed up waiting for the waitress. In the cafe near the shop the tables were left all day with glasses, plates, cups and not cleared which i found rather awful as we were watching football there for 4 hours. Other friends we recommended had the same issues and would not go back to Potters..But there is a resonably good choice of salad lunch time, which i think should be evening too. Our family and friends will definately go again and will reccommend to others,

Room Tip: Superior Hotel Rooms are quiet and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Good food
good entertainment
Good activities (all free)
good steam room, sauna,whirlpool
good value for money
Great staff from reception to waiters to entertainment team and potters theatre company
we have been 12 times so it must be good or we would not keep going back

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leon12321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

It is our second holiday at Potters, having stayed there last August. We love the whole experience on the family weeks, the fact that the majority of the activities are included in the price to the food provided during the day. The place is suitable for those who like to exercise in the gyms and swimming pool. Plenty of activities during the day for the adventurous or those who want to sit and watch or do a quiz. All ages are catered for even on family holidays.

Room Tip: We have used the bungalows on both visits and this time the refurbished one with the fridge, ironing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 042014sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hopton on Sea
4.5 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
524 reviews
24.7 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
942 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel
The Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,113 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
962 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potters Resort

Address: Coast Road, Hopton on Sea NR31 9BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hopton on Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopton on Sea
Hotel Class:5 star — Potters Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Potters Leisure Hotel Hopton On Sea
Hotel Potters Leisure
Potters Resort Hopton On Sea, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing