We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you want to stay at a little place on the...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Moonshine

Sea view from Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea view from Living Room
Sunday summer sailing from Beach Direct Beach Access
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
Sea view from Living Room
Sunday summer sailing from Beach
Direct Beach Access
Beachside view
View back from waters edge
Sea view from Beach
Kitchen
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Panoramic Views of Beach and Sea from Living room
Living Room
Living Room
Sunrise and beach directly in front of Property
View of properties towards Bognor Regis
Railway Carriage wall and Slam Door to Kitchen
Site plan
Aerial - Location and shops
Restricted access concern - Two steps between kitchen/toilet and living room/bedrooms
View from the Living Room
Step outside for an early sunrise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Pagham, Bognor Regis, Arun District, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
733Debra
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you want to stay at a little place on the beach - this is it!!”
Reviewed December 9, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

This is the second year we have booked a weekend away at Moonshine. It is such a quirky place in a beautiful location - the beach is your back garden. Chichester or Bognor are nearby to visit if you want a trip out or you could just stroll along Pagham beach. We have been in November and December but I should think it is a treat any time of the year. And watching the moon on the sea at night is just stunning - we can see why it is called Moonshine!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer (had to go back to work!!)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky and peaceful”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A great location for a get away weekend with friends. A quirky cosy house that fitted us all in nicely. Shower room very small but otherwise no complaints. Was clean and well kept. Ideal beachside location, enjoyed sitting out on the deck, listening to the sea and watching the world go by. Suited our needs completely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLHyde
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful for a couple or small group, not ideal for babies”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay and could not fault the location, with its beautiful views and instant access to the beach. This rental would have been perfect if it were just myself and my husband with our eldest child (3 years old). However, we also had our 7 month old with us, for whom we are sterilizing bottles and weaning. The kitchen was a little small for this function, but this is the only issue we had. Otherwise a beautiful place to stay, and we would recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was amazing
Liked least: Lack of kitchen space for sterilizing equipment, and the front bedroom window did not seem very secure.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah H
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Moonbeams at Moonshine”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is a lovely, but querky holiday rental. The view from the large windows in the living area are fab, it's like a living picture, forever changing. And when the moonbeams are reflected off the sea, it looks spectacular from Moonshine.
The living/dining area is a good size and cosy, the kitchen although small is well equipped.
We enjoyed being right on the beach where there are sandy patches at low tide to play on.
There are just a few things to note if you have mobility problems or very young children - The two double bedrooms are very small and the beds are against one wall, so one person has to climb over the other if you need the loo during the night. There are two deep steps separating the living area from the kitchen, shower room and toilet. The toilet is basically an outdoor privy which has been connected to the house via a porch and you have to go down the steps and out of the front door to access it, which can be a bit tricky during the night.
Don't let this put you off if you are mobile, and kids can find this a bit of fun.
We had a wonderful time, and we would like to return someday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the access to the beach
Liked least: The toilet access
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Location Location Location - Fantastic”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Well appointed holiday home. Ideally situated 5 metres from the Beach. We had fantastic weather for the hole fortnight with just one damp day. The "carriage" was well equipped and clean. Well located for visiting local attraction - Brighton Pavilion, Goodwood, Petworth House and Arundel castle are all worth a visit. We would have given 5 stars but you need to be aware of two large steps to and from Kitchen/toilet which my 86yr old father found difficult especially in the night. We probably wouldn't have booked it if we had known about the steps but then we would have been sad to miss such a great property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Closeness to beach
Liked least: Large steps to toilet
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fab737
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Leave the rat race behind”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Moonshine, it was idyllic in every way. The weather was glorious, the place perfect. Ideal for those of you that want a 'get away from it all' holiday. Came back feeling refreshed and totally relaxed, would definitely go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Couldn't say one thing, everything was great, the views, the weather etc
Liked least: The bathroom needs updating and the toilet was far too small. Steps up from the kitchen were really steep
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlakeFami...
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful Seaside Retreat”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I took our two young children away for the May half term. We were looking for a peaceful, relaxing getaway on the beach and Moonshine certainly ticked all those boxes. The property was charming and well equipped with beautiful views of Pagham beach. It was lovely to return to Pagham with our own children after having spent many of our childhood holidays there. We would definitely recommend Moonshine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing