We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So peaceful!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Moonshine

Sea view from Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea view from Living Room
Sunday summer sailing from Beach Direct Beach Access
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
Sea view from Living Room
Sunday summer sailing from Beach
Direct Beach Access
Beachside view
View back from waters edge
Sea view from Beach
Kitchen
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Panoramic Views of Beach and Sea from Living room
Living Room
Living Room
Sunrise and beach directly in front of Property
View of properties towards Bognor Regis
Railway Carriage wall and Slam Door to Kitchen
Site plan
Aerial - Location and shops
Restricted access concern - Two steps between kitchen/toilet and living room/bedrooms
View from the Living Room
Step outside for an early sunrise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Pagham, Bognor Regis, Arun District, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
lisa_blon...
england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So peaceful!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We had a brilliant time at Moonshine. The bedrooms are all a decent size and the big lounge looking out onto the sea was amazing. Kitchen had everything we needed to cook, though there were a few good takeaways nearby too. It's only a 15-20 minute drive to Bognor Regis Butlins, so we took the children there for a day (the weather wasn't great!).
We arrived late at night and were so thankful that the central heating had been turned on for us. The house got lovely and warm and the beds were extremely comfortable.
There were 2 adults and 3 pre-school children staying and there was plenty of room for us and all their toys!
It was cold and rainy when we stayed and we had a brilliant time. I imagine it would be even more amazing in the summer!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was warm and peaceful
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catg77
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An ideal beach retreat”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I love Moonshine. My favourite retreat by the sea.
This was my second trip this year and both times we have been very lucky with the weather. We watched lovely sunrises and loved sitting outside looking over the beach.
A very relaxing and peaceful place to spend time.
Already thinking about dates to book for next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schnauzer...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous location, very peaceful!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at Moonshine. The lounge area is large and comfortable with fabulous views out to sea. Our dogs loved running on the sand at low tide. The cafe and the shops and arcade in the village are very friendly and provide all you need. Also fabulous walks around the harbour. A couple of negative ..hence not giving a five! The loo really does need some tlc. The toilet seat is broken and the carpet is stained and smelly. In fact all the carpets need a good steam clean or replacement and the kitchen Lino is badly stained. The outdoor parasol needs replacing as it is broken and the spokes stick out and the table is unstable. That said ...will definitely return as it is such a lovely place and would recommend to anyone . Finally, please could you provide some recycling details. There was no provision at the property and we ended up taking our glass to the yacht club where they let us leave it with theirs. We had to leave all tin, plastic etc with the normal rubbish .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bit grubby
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doogalber...
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely great, will go back”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed back in May just as the weather was turning lovely. Had a wonderful time. Wanted to rent one of these character cottages for years and finally got round to it. It was just as we hoped it would be. Very well equipped with everything up to standard. The location and beach views were superb. The moon coming out of the sea was awesome, huge and orange colored , most unusual and surreal.
Suppose thats why they call it Moonshine!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: Extra sporting equipment, kayaks etc nice surprise, we used them
Liked least: Couldnt get the dvd player working, surround sound too techie for me.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Reviewed June 16, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ease of use, no complicated codes or difficult instructions
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AlannJo T
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ultimate Location- Lovely bungalow”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Moonshine for a few days, normally we start looking forward to going home towards the end of a break, but did not want to leave this time.

The property was everything that we had anticipated, and was a perfect example of the " train carriage" bungalow which I love at Pagham. The living area was light and airy with plenty of space to move around with wonderful views of the beach and sea from all of the seating places in the room. We were very lucky with the weather and the doors to the decked area remained open most of the time, but there were plenty of games, dvd's etc to pass your time in the very relaxing atmosphere, so we felt that we would have still been happy to stay if we had not had sunshine. There was a very good level of equipment in the kitchen and outside for water sports. We would like to return when time allows.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful well loved property with plenty of nice touches
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catg77
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A perfect, peaceful retreat.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

A lovely unique peaceful home a stone's throw from the lovely quiet beach. Built around a train carriage and has wonderful touches.
It was lovely to sit and look out of the wonderful big windows watching the sea.
We were very lucky with the weather so had loads of lovely walks along the beach.
The kitchen is well equipped with everything you will need.
The bedrooms are small but the living space more than makes up for it.
Had a lovely weekend and I didn't want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Direct acces to the beach
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing