We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kings Beach Hotel

Kings Beach Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pagham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kings Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Pagham B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Friend and myself booked two rooms (#4 Double/En Suite & #5 Single) for one nights stay on arrival Marietta the manager/landlady was friendly and welcoming within the bar. Both rooms where nice and fresh (looked recently decorated) hence very clean, beds clean and very comfortable. Rooms are very well equipped with good furniture along with small bottle/s of shampoo, shower gel, TV (with built in DVD player), kettle, instant coffee sachets, tea bags, pack of biscuits along with long life milk pots. Single room had access onto front balcony. Being in single room I utilised separate clean shower room upon landing.

Full English breakfast was very enjoyable along with toast, orange juice, coffee or tea. Very good value for money, we'd both really enjoyed the KB experience.

Room Tip: #5 Single on front has access out onto balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    6
    2
    7
See reviews for
10
2
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I love this place. I have never been in a more friendly pub (and I have been in an aweful lot of pubs). With pubs like this you can sometimes be made to feel a bit unwelcome by the locals especially if you don't live in the village. This is NOT the case here! There's always a "hello" or a "how ya doing" or even just an "alright mate".

As a previous reviewer has noted, this is a work in progress, so you have to forgive it for being a little rough around the edges but even that lends a certain charm. The new landlady Greta, took the pub over when it was in a very poor state of repair and decoration and has spent thousands pulling it back together again. The work continues.

Greta is ably assisted by her daughter Melanie and the amazing Grant, who as a general factotem, never stops moving and appears to be in all places at the same time.

So if you fancy a drink in a "proper" boozer or maybe one of Greta's justly famous Sunday lunches, pop into the "KB". I just wish I lived closer and one day soon I will!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loppylugs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

A very welcoming place to stay, clean and well equipped rooms, very comfortable beds, lovely en-suite, very friendly hosts, excellent breakfast which seemed locally sourced, not your run of the mill cafe serve up. Great atmosphere in the pub downstairs, free entertainment, great food in the restaurant, very reasonably priced! I wouldn't hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

My family and I (3 members) were to visit a Holiday Park on this day..but due to very bad weather, the holiday park was closed and we were lucky to get a room at this property. While the accomodations are very basic, they are clean and tidy. Because of the weather, this hotel had unexpected arrivals, both for dinner and rooms, the owner and her daughter handled it all with a smile and a "can do attitude" which after more than 5 hours on the road trying to get to Pagham, was much appreciated. The owner had only taken over the Pub 18 months ago, and we could tell she was working hard to bring it up to a higher standard from where it had once been. While our room did not have an ensuite or TV, for the one night it was managable and we were told that the property was adding and updating all the rooms, unless you are made of money this process can take time. We stayed in room 8, this room has one double and one single bed, a balcony which was helpful for my partner as he smokes, a wash basin, kettle and cups with coffee/tea/milk and sugar and the shared bath was just steps away. The only negative I could say is that the kettle needed cleaning before we could use it..but other than that..the sheets were clean, the room itself was clean, the bathrooms were clean and warm (there are heaters) and there were fresh towels and shower products for use. The room rate (family £75.00) included English breakfast with coffee/tea and juice. We were able to check into the holiday park the following day, so one night was all we needed, but I am looking forward to our next trip to Pagham Beach and would enjoy seeing the changes to The King's Beach Hotel at that time. I would recommend a visit, whether it was just for a meal or to stay over.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonikandDave2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

The Kings Beach Hotel has basic B&B accommodation in a friendly and inviting atmosphere.

The rooms are clean, cheap and cheerful. The full English breakfast was fantastic and the staff were extremely helpful.

I would recommend this to people looking for basic accommodation.

Room Tip: Room 1. family room with balcony - sleeps 2 adults and 1 child. Room 4. Dbl room with garden view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

My family and I had an excellent sunday lunch at the Kings Beach, last weekend. The food was freshly cooked; lamb shank, melted in the mouth, perfect veg and lovely crispy roast potatoes and yorkshire puddings, proper home cooking and very large portions. So different from the usual soggy, cooked from frozen, food that is often served in hotels. The staff were so friendly and helpful and even gave my mother a container to take her dinner home, as she could not manage all of it. Excellent value for money. Would definately recommend it

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Went to the Kings Beach for lunch on Christmas day. Lovely atmosphere, roaring log fire
and food was great and plenty of it.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Would recommend it. We had 8 people in our party and they all said the same very nice day.
As I live near by can't comment on rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pagham
0.8 mi away
The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant
6.6 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
3.9 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
2.5 mi away
Navigator Hotel
Navigator Hotel
#7 of 28 in Bognor Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Beach Hotel

Property: Kings Beach Hotel
Address: The Parade | Sea Lane, Pagham PO21 4TW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Pagham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pagham
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Kings Beach Hotel Pagham, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing