We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magic Magic Magic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lamington National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nightfall Wilderness Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
townsville
2 reviews
“Magic Magic Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

The most magical stay ever…… was immediately disappointed I hadn’t book extra nights – three was not enough.

My husband and I recently escaped our three children and hectic jobs to immerse ourselves in the magic of Nightfall Wilderness Camp.

Was it the smell of the timber, the comfort of the bed and luxury linen, the picturesque backdrop of the cabin or the ambience of the candles and kerosene lamps? Was it the rawness and beauty of the tent or the outdoor / indoor shower? Perhaps it was the bath we enjoyed while sipping on red wine and watching the rain fall?

My husband attributes our ‘epic stay’ to his marvellous company and the wine we drank……….I hate to break it to him but it was all down to the majestic nature of Nightfall Wilderness Camp. Sorry Honey!

The hosts strike the most beautiful balance of privacy and connectivity with guests. We listened eagerly as they described the trials and tribulations of creating such an amazing space. We sat around the fire sipping gorgeous wines and swapping tales … times we will remember and new friends made.

Retiring to our luxury accommodation nightly we gazed in awe at our surrounds and the attention to detail Heidi and Steve had created.

The food we experienced was fresh, original, organic and mouth-wateringly delicious. We left feeling like we should enrol in cooking classes!

We are eager to return and check out the new fire places in the tents ….. Can you imagine?!

We are spreading the word and have suggested to our friends they too take the opportunity to relax, converse and rekindle in the beauty of Night Fall Wilderness Camp.

Nothing else to say but we were very happy, happy, happy nightfall guinea pigs ………..

Thanks again Heidi and Steve for your hospitality, vision and company.

Return guests for sure.

Love Luke and Emma

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi-nightfall, Owner at Nightfall Wilderness Camp, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
"Times we will remember and new friends made" ... indeed Emma and Luke.

Thanks for the wonderful memories you left us with, including lessons on the saw-shelled turtle. We look forward to visiting Magnetic Island one day to see your magical part of the world. Until then, thankyou for the review, Steve and Heidi

ps. yes, the tent fireplaces are in now and it's deliciously toasty! The best bit is they rotate so you can face the flames to the bed, the baths or the couch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Thank you Steve, Heidi and Mister for sharing with us your Nightfall Wilderness Camp and providing us with the most amazing, relaxing getaway. Just what we needed! We love camping so when I was looking for a weekend away to surprise my other half and came across Nightfall I was so excited to take him there. From the minute we arrived we exhaled the city and soaked up the country and peace and quiet and the hospitality from Steve and Heidi is second to none, wonderfully warm, friendly, happy and inviting hosts where nothing is too much trouble. The food was delicious, gourmet quality, the best pumpkin soup and roast lamb I have ever tasted and the afternoon cheese platters and massage was a real treat. Make sure you take your bathers and take a dip in the fresh water pools, very refreshing. I highly recommend this retreat. Book now, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh_and_Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi-nightfall, Owner at Nightfall Wilderness Camp, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Morning Hugh and Lou,

It was delight to meet you and thank-you for the wonderful review, We're excitedly scheming about the best way to design and built your 'lounges', suspended over the creek - a prototype is not far away now! Looking forward to the day you get to come back and see them ... warmest regards, Heidi and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Thank you Heidi & Steve from Nightfall wilderness camp for an amazing relaxing weekend. It was a wonderful experience and you made us feel so special and welcome. Nightfall Wilderness Camp is a truly amazing experience and we would highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a relaxing, romantic or special getaway. The home made organic food was delicious and we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineBakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi-nightfall, Owner at Nightfall Wilderness Camp, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hello Caroline and Nathan,

It was our pleasure to share nightfall with you. We thoroughly enjoyed our wood-fired pizza evening and hearing about your future plans. We look forward to you coming back so we can have an update! Remember, we do a 'guinea-pig' return rate at any time for guests who visit now as part of our current 'road-tester' program.

Thanks again for your lovely feedback,

Steve and Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Set in a magical forest like setting we were lucky enough to experience glamping style accommodation with friendly, informative and professional hosts Steve and Heidi. They have done a flawless job so far creating this entire concept, everything was thought of. It couldn't have been more perfect for us. The very personalized service was refreshing and their love and passion was evident. It made for great ambience and a definite desire to return to see the completed project. If everything was faultless now and they still have some time to go to make it their standard of perfection we are really excited to see it and would recommend this place to anyone who's considering staying.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimndzkandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidi-nightfall, Owner at Nightfall Wilderness Camp, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
There's nothing so rewarding as happy guests. Thanks for taking the time to review nightfall - your kind words are fantastic inspiration as we shape and refine the 'secret hideaway' feel of our camp. We look forward to having you back after the baby is born -- enjoy that special journey. We'll be excited to hear your news. Regards, Steve and Heidi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabulam, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Nightfall wilderness camp is set in a stunning location. As you drive up the Christmas creek valley, the valley walls start to close in on you, until you are below the rugged escarpment of Buchanans Fort. It's here that Steve and Heidi have built the Nightfall Wilderness Camp on the edge of the ever flowing Christmas creek.
Sharon and myself have stayed in many tented accommodation places all over Australia. Such as Sal Salis, Paperbark camp, Karajini, Binna Burra, and Punsan bay. Nightfall's tents are the most spacious and well appointed that we have stayed in. They have their own kitchenette, king bed, 10 inch showerhead and views that take in the escarpment of Buchanans Fort and Christmas creek valley.
We arrived on a hot March afternoon and headed straight for a swim in the secluded platypus waterhole which is about 500 m downstream from nightfall wilderness camp. It's nice and deep (at about 3 m) with a nice flow even at the end of the driest summer on record. The next day with a packed lunch we headed for the Westray's grave (Stinson wreck) This track follows beside Christmas creek for about 3 km with the opportunity to stop at one of the many cascades or waterfalls along the way.
Steve and Heidi are great hosts and great cooks with delicious meals appearing from the woodfired oven and open campfire. It's not an easy task providing 3 meals per day for guests,especially when it's back to basics cooking using wood as your fuel. They are also great company, telling us all the trials, tribulations and joys of establishing nightfall wilderness camp. They have a passion for protecting the environment and they just don't give it lip service, these guys walk the talk.

Room Tip: We chose the tent highest up the hill for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
organicgirlBrisbane, Owner at Nightfall Wilderness Camp, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hello Steve and Sharon,

Thanks for being such delightful guests - nightfall camp's first in fact. It was fantastic to have your feedback as we settle-in, fine tune and refine our new luxury camping experience.

Already lots has happened since your visit. In readiness for winter, the camp lounge has its cozy new fire place and seating area; Steve is very proud of the funky logs which now surround his wood oven and best of all we have finally had some rain, so things are greening up.

We look forward to seeing you back at nightfall as part of our 'guinea-pigs return' concept. It will be great to share the evolution of nightfall with you.

Regards,

Steve and Heidi, nightfall host owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamington National Park
6.4 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
23.8 mi away
Ketchup's Bank Glamping
Ketchup's Bank Glamping
#1 of 1 in Cannon Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
10.4 mi away
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Worendo Cottages
Worendo Cottages
#1 of 1 in Darlington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.5 mi away
Christmas Creek Cafe`& Cabins
Christmas Creek Cafe`& Cabins
#5 of 5 in Lamington National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nightfall Wilderness Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nightfall Wilderness Camp

Property: Nightfall Wilderness Camp
Address: 3009 Christmas Creek Rd, Lamington National Park, Queensland 4285, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Lamington National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lamington National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nightfall camp is a secluded, eco-sensitive, luxury tent camping and wilderness experience beside the pristine headwaters of Christmas Creek and Queensland's iconic Lamington National Park. Catering to only six adults at any one time, nightfall's 62m2 luxury tents boast wood fires, deluxe indoor/outdoor bathing, king size beds and micro kitchens loaded with gourmet treats. Each permanent tent is fully-self contained, or choose to dine-in. Nightfall's cuisine is local, organic and fire-cooked. Days can be as busy or relaxed as you choose, including swimming, birdwatching and bushwalking on hundreds of acres of privately-owned conservation land or in neighbouring World Heritage Lamington National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing