We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature at its Best”
Review of Undara Experience

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Undara Experience
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2006

A review of Undara falls into two sections. The journey to Undara to see the tubes/caves was most definitely worth the trip for us. We booked for two nights, with a sunset tour on the first evening. Ross, our Savannah Guide for the tour was very knowledgeable and extremely amiable, stopping the mini-bus at frequent intervals as yet another kangaroo/wallaby was spotted. We watched the sun dip below the horizon from an elevated position, glass of sparkling wine in hand, while Ross delivered a poem dedicated to the sun. We were then driven to the entrance to one of the tubes, and stood in darkness listening to the bats flying around us as they left the cave in search of food. When we turned on our torches we could see snakes hanging from the branches above our heads as they tried to catch the bats! A first for us, and something we would have been reluctant to miss. Ross also led a sing-song around the camp fire in the evening – felt like turning back the clock and being back in Scouts/Guides.

The next day was a half day tour which familiarised us with the tubes. Our Savannah Guide was Tim, a very different style to Ross, but also very knowledgeable. He impressed us with his continued thirst for knowledge about his subject. Once again the tour was interesting and informative, and it was fascinating to hear how the tubes had been formed and to hear of the contradiction of a "Dry Rain Forest". In the evening Tim ran a slide show around the camp fire.

The positive aspects of the Undara Experience are largely confined to the professionalism of the guides and to what nature itself has provided. We stayed in the converted railway carriages in an en suite room. Photos of the rooms are flattering. Initially we were bemused by the idea of sleeping in a railway carriage, but the novelty soon wore off, and two nights was one night too many. The housekeeping left a lot to be desired. The drop down wash basin was an interesting feature, but we didn’t need to view the remnants of other people’s toothpaste. To provide a list of shortcomings would be tedious, suffice to say that this was no more than two star accommodation.

Unless you are self catering the only option is to eat in the Lodge’s restaurant. Only an okay experience, with limited choice and rather bland. The Bush Breakfast outdoors, preparing toast over an open fire using a "wire fork" gained more points for novelty value.

Our stay in late November was out of season, and the whole place had a rather out of season feel, with some of the staff really not being bothered to make much of an effort. This was disappointing as it was one of the few places in Australia where we found that service was not paramount. Maybe having a captive audience had something to do with it.

On our second afternoon there was little to do. Only the Crater Walk, some 15km distant, which we did undertake and the Circular Walk (8km in 32C temp), were available. The other “local” walks were closed as a recent bush fire had destroyed the signs. The National Park restricts the type and content of information that can be displayed and there were no “approved” replacements available!! The invitation outside the pool area was to come inside and lounge – unfortunately there was only one lounger. A small detail, but it added to the rather sad feel of the Lodge.

Suggest if you are considering using a camper van for any part of your trip, your visit to Undara would be a good time to do so.

Don’t regret the trip because the nature was so exciting BUT so much more could be done with the accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Going-grey-nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 400 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2006

We spent two nights in one of the converted train cars and had a great time. We had adjoining rooms with one of them being ensuite. The rooms were quite small, which we expected as it was a train car after all. The sink in the bathroom was probably an original and flipped up to be hooked on the wall. This was not a luxurious hotel, but an adventure. Our package included all of our meals. Breakfast was a five minute walk from the trains and involved making our own toast over an open fire. There were also eggs, bacon, ect. Not to mention the kangaroos wandering around. The lunch and dinners were great.

We did a lava tube tour and the sunset tour. After spending 10 days in Australia our 10 and 12 year old both agreed that the sunset tour was the highlight of Australia. Watching 250,000 bats making their way out of a lava tube was incredible.

We also did a couple hikes on our own. The office provided us with detailed maps of several hikes. The photos on the web site showed lots of kangaroos and there are kangaroos and wallabies all over. These were not pets, but wild animals in their natural environment.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank expat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2006

We stayed at Undara during a 2 month trip to Australia in April. It is a great break from the rain, crocs, and stingers in Cairns/Port Douglas. I spent the first night in one of the permanant tents with my 3 kids, ages 5, 5, and 3. It was fun except for the incredible kookabura crescendo in the AM.

There is a restaurant on site and the bush camp breakfast is great - best coffee I had during my 2 months in country. Dinner and lunch are good considering where you are. Railway rooms are servicable, but you're not here for the luxury.

Instead, your here for the wildlife and lava tubes. There are roos and wallabies everywhere, dingos, and snakes galore. We went on several guided tours with a charming Savannah Guide, Ross Rogers. He made the trips entertaining. The lava tubes at night are incredible, with bats pouring out by the thousands, flying right past you. At one tube, there was a tree full of night tiger snakes snapping at the bats in flight. It was like something you'd see on TV, except we were right there.

Great Aussie outback experience, and the drive is not bad, an adventure in itself.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pioneer Hut
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AlJarreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bram C, Owner at Undara Experience, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Karina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wuschel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bram C, Owner at Undara Experience, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 134Kai_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Undara Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Undara Experience

Address: Savannah Way | Savannah Way, Undara Volcanic National Park, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Undara Volcanic National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Undara Volcanic National Park
Price Range: $158 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Undara Experience 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDARA EXPERIENCE – AUSTRALIA’S ACCESSIBLE OUTBACK! Only 3½ hours drive from Cairns & 4 hours from Townsville in Tropical North Queensland, Undara is easily accessed via the Savannah Way by conventional vehicle and sits right on the edge of the Undara Volcanic National Park. The Undara Lava Tubes are a world class natural geological phenomenon. Huge tubes formed approximately 190,000 years ago; molten lava drained out under a thick cooler crust, leaving a series of long, hollow tubes. Today, Undara’s highly trained Savannah Guides conduct small group tours from the resort into the lava tubes where visitors marvel at this incredible geological wonder. Winner of “Unique Accommodation” at the Australian Tourism Awards, Undara Experience offers a variety of accommodation options from restored turn-of-the-century railway carriages to beautifully appointed Pioneers Huts. Budget options include the Swags Tent Village. Shady camping and powered sites are available. Bookings Essential ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Undara Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Undara Experience Australia/Undara Volcanic National Park, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing