We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Undara Experience
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveler rating
193
148
44
17
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
148
44
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush breakfastsunset tourrailway carriagenational parkswag tentcamp kitchenlava tube tourtoastpowered sitetwo nightspioneer hutbilly teatour guidefree tea and coffeeopen firestayed one nightlong drive
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 408 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We were impressed with the campground and the wonderful wildlife in the area. The lava tubes were interesting but were far too over priced to be worth ones while. The tour guide was knowledgable and polite, but really should know when to put the breaks on the divorce jokes (particularly when leading a group of couples). Aside from the lava tubes, there was very little to do in the area. The landscape however lead to scenic bush walking.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Organic_Poicephalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Thank you to Kane and Steve for making our short visit so memorable. Friendly service; a can do attitude and an informative tour through the Lava Tubes. Wonderful. We are planning to revisit - but for a longer period - for the Country Rock and Blues festival next year. You were very accommodating with placing our Big Rig in an area giving easy access to the facilities - thank you. Lynore and Peter

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lynore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We drove up to undara from townsville for a two night stay, as a package deal with the sunset and archway tours, 3 course dinner and camp breakfast all inculsive. We added on an extra night when we booked.

Firstly yes it is a little expensive if you were to pay for everything seperatly but the package deal was pretty good value. The sunset tour with the bubbly and cheese platter was lovely, our guide was funny and very informative. Dinner was a choice of any entree, main and desert from the menu all of which were good sized portions and tasted fantastic. They had run out of a few things on the menu but being the end of a long weekend we've come to expect that and it made no difference to us. The campfire experience after dinner was a talk on the local wildlife, again very informative and light hearted.
Day two we did the archway tour, a 2hr guided walk along raised platforms above the floor of 3 sections of the tubes, there are some stairs and i would suggest taking your own torch/headlight. Lots of great photo opportunities and an excellent guide. After the tour we headed out on one of the well marked walking trails around the lodge. We ended up doing 3 of the walks, starting with the bluff then onto atkinsons lookout and the heritage hut. You'll need good comfy shoes, hat, water and your camera. We were back for lunch and afterwards we spent the afternoon in the pool talking with other travellers and chilling out. We had dinner in the restaraunt and the campfire activity was an sing-along. I'm not one for singing, but it was a good night.

Our tent was acceptable. It needed 3 things, a fan, a power point and a double bed. All safari tents only have single beds which i found quite crazy, considering the amount of couples who were staying in them.....? And if you want your own kitchen, you need to book a fimily tent. On the up side, the bathrooms were very well set-up with an lockable ensuite type arrangment, so you have a shower, toilet, vanity and mirror all to your-self. Always a bonus in my books.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Neata54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the Undara Lodge and had a great experience. We rented one of the air conditioned rooms that sleeps four. We would have rather stayed in one of the rail car rooms but they only sleep two. We were impressed with how well maintained and clean everything was at this resort. The service was excellent and everyone was very helpful and friendly. The Bistro area was great, open air, bright yet protected from direct sun and rain by a cool, modern looking steel and cloth roof. The fire side trivia was fun and the bush breakfast was great for the kids. We did the easier of the two lava tube tours and found it interesting. We are planning to back in the future, our kids are already asking "when can we go back?"

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Valhalla24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Great experience seeing the lava tubes. Stayed campsite like pervious trip advisor members state quite pricey, but I was not surprised. Camp site good, facilities clean. The restaurant/ bistro was a very disappointing, for the price and the description on the menu. Felt like canteen food. Especially as the theme was so nice. Could be so nice there. The staff were very efficient. The tour guide very passionate about the place. The drive to the volcano ridge and do the big walk all round the rim had fantastic views but very hot . Felt it has lost its special touch

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews