We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back”
Review of Undara Experience

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Undara Experience
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Thank you to Kane and Steve for making our short visit so memorable. Friendly service; a can do attitude and an informative tour through the Lava Tubes. Wonderful. We are planning to revisit - but for a longer period - for the Country Rock and Blues festival next year. You were very accommodating with placing our Big Rig in an area giving easy access to the facilities - thank you. Lynore and Peter

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lynore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 396 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We drove up to undara from townsville for a two night stay, as a package deal with the sunset and archway tours, 3 course dinner and camp breakfast all inculsive. We added on an extra night when we booked.

Firstly yes it is a little expensive if you were to pay for everything seperatly but the package deal was pretty good value. The sunset tour with the bubbly and cheese platter was lovely, our guide was funny and very informative. Dinner was a choice of any entree, main and desert from the menu all of which were good sized portions and tasted fantastic. They had run out of a few things on the menu but being the end of a long weekend we've come to expect that and it made no difference to us. The campfire experience after dinner was a talk on the local wildlife, again very informative and light hearted.
Day two we did the archway tour, a 2hr guided walk along raised platforms above the floor of 3 sections of the tubes, there are some stairs and i would suggest taking your own torch/headlight. Lots of great photo opportunities and an excellent guide. After the tour we headed out on one of the well marked walking trails around the lodge. We ended up doing 3 of the walks, starting with the bluff then onto atkinsons lookout and the heritage hut. You'll need good comfy shoes, hat, water and your camera. We were back for lunch and afterwards we spent the afternoon in the pool talking with other travellers and chilling out. We had dinner in the restaraunt and the campfire activity was an sing-along. I'm not one for singing, but it was a good night.

Our tent was acceptable. It needed 3 things, a fan, a power point and a double bed. All safari tents only have single beds which i found quite crazy, considering the amount of couples who were staying in them.....? And if you want your own kitchen, you need to book a fimily tent. On the up side, the bathrooms were very well set-up with an lockable ensuite type arrangment, so you have a shower, toilet, vanity and mirror all to your-self. Always a bonus in my books.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Neata54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the Undara Lodge and had a great experience. We rented one of the air conditioned rooms that sleeps four. We would have rather stayed in one of the rail car rooms but they only sleep two. We were impressed with how well maintained and clean everything was at this resort. The service was excellent and everyone was very helpful and friendly. The Bistro area was great, open air, bright yet protected from direct sun and rain by a cool, modern looking steel and cloth roof. The fire side trivia was fun and the bush breakfast was great for the kids. We did the easier of the two lava tube tours and found it interesting. We are planning to back in the future, our kids are already asking "when can we go back?"

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Valhalla24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Great experience seeing the lava tubes. Stayed campsite like pervious trip advisor members state quite pricey, but I was not surprised. Camp site good, facilities clean. The restaurant/ bistro was a very disappointing, for the price and the description on the menu. Felt like canteen food. Especially as the theme was so nice. Could be so nice there. The staff were very efficient. The tour guide very passionate about the place. The drive to the volcano ridge and do the big walk all round the rim had fantastic views but very hot . Felt it has lost its special touch

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here in August in our caravan, it was very busy and if you didn't book ahead then you would have missed out. Loved the caves and yes it was a bit expensive but no more then other sites we visited on our 4 and a half week touring of north Queensland. There was always a campfire at night with some sort of entertainment, we enjoyed a sing song the night we went there. Facilities can be improved but I think they are working on it, we found some ensuite facilities near our van that were new so we used them, they weren't even on the map the staff gave us. Overall you come here for the scenery which is very unique.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristineS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I appreciate the costs of operating in the outback . . . But Undara is very expensive for what it is. Accommodations are fun, and the meals are good -- both no mean feat in the back of beyond.

But the tours were, frankly, very expensive for what they are. In the States, I've crawled through lava tubes in Washington State and Oregon, for the grand price of "free", so paying more than a hundred dollars to be escorted in and out very briefly seems a bit much.

I can recommend the accommodations, which are convenient for folks driving on the savannah way . . . But you could give the pricier packages a miss with no great loss.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed a night in the swag tent in Undara and loved it! The staff were very friendly and helpful, the facilities were great (although they didnt have any double beds or a working fridge for us to use) and it was a very relaxing and enjoyable time.
We did the 2hr active tour which was very informative and enough for us. Make sure you arent late to the tour cos the guides wont wait for you.
The camp fire singalong songs at night were fantastic and a lot of fun (but maybe I was just slightly drunk).
Really enjoyed our time and we might head back again one day.
Tip: Bring your own food, water and alcahol as its VERY expensive there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateScollary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Undara Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Undara Experience

Address: Savannah Way | Savannah Way. Qld, Undara Volcanic National Park, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Undara Volcanic National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Undara Volcanic National Park
Price Range: $5 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Undara Experience 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDARA EXPERIENCE – AUSTRALIA’S ACCESSIBLE OUTBACK! Only 3½ hours drive from Cairns & 4 hours from Townsville in Tropical North Queensland, Undara is easily accessed via the Savannah Way by conventional vehicle and sits right on the edge of the Undara Volcanic National Park. The Undara Lava Tubes are a world class natural geological phenomenon. Huge tubes formed approximately 190,000 years ago; molten lava drained out under a thick cooler crust, leaving a series of long, hollow tubes. Today, Undara’s highly trained Savannah Guides conduct small group tours from the resort into the lava tubes where visitors marvel at this incredible geological wonder. Winner of “Unique Accommodation” at the Australian Tourism Awards, Undara Experience offers a variety of accommodation options from restored turn-of-the-century railway carriages to beautifully appointed Pioneers Huts. Budget options include the Swags Tent Village. Shady camping and powered sites are available. Bookings Essential ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Undara Experience reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Undara Experience Australia/Undara Volcanic National Park, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing