We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Izakaya Geisha Japanese Restaurant - CLOSED

Izakaya Geisha Japanese Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $27
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Contemporary Japanese Cuisine prepared by experienced chefs Fine dining Children friendly Free WiFi Fully licensed
Tewantin, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Had the most wonderful Valentines night here with these beautiful people! The food was exquisite and so beautifully presented. Am recommending it to all. Will be back there before next Valentines for sure.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    17
    6
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Needs a huge amount of work”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had a family meal at Geisha in February 2014.

We'd love to find a decent Japanese restaurant in Noosa, and went to Geisha with high hopes. The restaurant is a refit of the old Humid, and the look and feel of the place is quite pleasant, with a dark wood theme and some decent windows opening out to the street.

Unfortunately, Geisha just doesn't work. The menu is bog-standard Australian Japanese, with no imagination and very predictable offerings. We ordered a sashimi plate ($46), okonomiyaki ($15), Tempura ($29) Kimchi Gyoza ($15) and edamame ($6).

This is Japanese food prepared by people who have never eaten Japanese food. It kind of looked right, but all the details were wrong. The sashimi was served with a garnish of rakkyozuke, a pickle only ever offered as a side for Japanese curry, and simply bizarre to see on a sashimi plate (and a dreadful flavour). The edamame was unsalted, and tasted very strange. The okonomiyaki sauce was simply wrong.

We thought that the Korean owners (all staff are Korean) would have a better shot with Kimchi, so we ordered the kimchi gyoza. The idea is quite nice - bite size dough balls stuffed with kimchi, but for reasons that we could not understand it is served smothered in thai sweet chilli sauce, drowning out all flavours.

Anyway, you get the idea. It just doesn't work. This is a poor restaurant, and is most definitely not an Izakaya as advertised.

Geisha is unlicensed, and charges a very hefty $10 corkage on wine.

Service is friendly, but patchy (water appears, but no glasses etc).

This is a new restaurant and these might be teething issues, but as it stands the menu is poor and overpriced.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian_Pratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geisha_Noosa, Owner at Izakaya Geisha Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your honest review, which is the first one for our restaurant, anyway. :)

We will do our best to improve our menu and service according to your suggestion.

However, we did not provide rakkyozuke with sashimi, unfortunately. Rakkyozuke is a small pickled onion, which we really would like to serve to our customers for tasting but that small onion is too difficult to get within Australia.

Instead, we have provided other tsukemono with sashimi because some customers requested. We did not know that these tsukemono may offend other customers like you, who want authentic Japanese style sashimi. We will find a possible solution how we can satisfy all our customers.

The sauce of okonomiyaki is typically otafuku sauce and japanese mayonnaise but we used teriyaki sauce and japanese mayonnaise. We thought that this variation might be okay for our customers' taste but we might be wrong. We will also serve otafuku sauce on okonomiyaki from now on.

We really agree with you that Thai sweat chilli sauce on kimchi gyoza is not a good idea. We will provide kimchi gyoza without thai chilli sauce or separately.

We are on the process of getting the liquor licence and I hope that our lawyer can finalise it quickly.

Again, we really appreciate your review and we will do our best to satisfy our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izakaya Geisha Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Noosa, Sunshine Coast
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing