We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Riviera Bistro

La Riviera Bistro
Ranked #9 of 107 Restaurants in Noosaville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to La Riviera Bistro! Frederic cooks french traditional meals from our beautiful country for lunch and dinner and we have a selection of French Drinks; from traditional Aperitifs, to wines, beers, sparkling and of course Digestifs... We are a small venue of 35 seats on the Noosa River by the Colonial Resort, 239 Gympie Terrace, located on a upper level from the foot path, so keep your eyes up and look for the blue/white/red Umbrellas. We are open mostly Wednesdays to Sundays for Lunch and Dinner but occasionally on Tuesday nights as well during the busy season, like school holidays. As we are the owners operating the business, we occasionally close throughout the year, please look up on our website or Facebook page for more details. We look forward in welcoming you!
travellerm68
Level Contributor
214 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

On holiday and ate here for lunch. Pate and terrine homemade and very tasty, French onion soup also very tasty. At $14 per meal not too bad value. The view would be nice in good weather although today was rainy. The only real shame was the waitress with the glasses that wAs being a real witch to a new member of staff...if she thought that tearing strips off the newbie in front of customers was great management she is sadly mistaken. It was all I could do not to take her to one side and give her a taste of her own medicine. Nurturing your new staff should be the way to go....a little. Encouragement often works wonders. If you can get past the horrible waitress then. The food is pretty good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    91
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
nz
Level Contributor
228 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
“Great value French food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

This little cafe/restaurant is great value, serving excellent food at reasonable prices. It’s also completely byo (a bonus in my opinion) so remember to take a bottle of wine.

Since the young French couple took over a while back the menu has improved and so has the popularity of the restaurant. So naturally we went back again on our latest visit.

We started with Garlic Prawns and the Pate and Terrine served with wonderful French bread. As enjoyable as last time.

For mains he had the Duck a l’Orange which he rated delicious. I had the Pork Casserole which was first rate. We shared Potatoes gratin and Green Vegetables (a mixture of beans and zucchini).

It really is busy nowadays so booking is essential. It also pays to go early to get the best choice of table and before the number of customers puts a strain on the small kitchen.

I understand that the owners are trying to get a liquor licence to instal a bar. I hope this doesn’t cause too many changes, especially in price, as for us it is just right as it is now.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nzlilibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
158 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Real french baguettes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

This french chef cooks authentic french bread and pastries. Their eat in or take out meals are also beautiful. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A French Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Don't be put off by the lack of ambience. This tiny restaurant which is a cafe by day is run by a young dedicated French couple. They serve excellent traditional French food at a reasonable price.It is a BYO restaurant but do book as they take limited numbers. The Duck a L'Orange was delicious as was the Boullabaise and the fish.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ladygolfer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
150 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great trip advisor recommendation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Looking for somewhere for lunch being foreign to the area, what do you do call on TA
This place is rated no 1 in Noosaville and now we know why.
Great food, great prices and service. Although being winter it was a little understaffed but we didn't care. 4 of us ate there 3 settling for the Boullabaise and my wife the Duck L'orange, wow what a sauce. The seafood Boullabaise was really nice, the broth full of flavour, complimented with very fresh seafood and beautifully cooked fish. It is bring your own wine and we didn't get charged corkage, great benefit. I will go back and try the traditional beef bourbignon and the lamb dish also sounded with a try. Then the sweets, awesome, what more can I say. I think my wife is returning daily for the crepes. So we bought some cakes to take home after a wonderful lunch. Also the vista is lovely looking out over the river.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Riviera Bistro also viewed

 
Noosaville, Noosa
Noosaville, Noosa
 

Been to La Riviera Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing