We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza, great price”
Review of Madmegs + Co

Madmegs + Co
Ranked #28 of 109 Restaurants in Noosaville
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great pizza, great price”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We found this on our first night in noosaville. Pizza and salad were delicious and we were able to bring our own wine at no cost. Recommended..

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    57
    15
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The pizza's were fantastic, toppings plentiful and full of flavour! Great friendly service as well. Overall it was a good dining experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThaChad83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gluten Free at it's worst!!!!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

In 2014 there is no excuse for poor gluten free food. The take away pizza we had last night was honestly the worst pizza I have ever had - the base was soapy, half baked and I could not even pick up a slice without it collapsing in a mess. I would have walked out of this restaurant if I had dined in. Very disappointing. Perhaps the gluten pizzas are amazing but if you need GF, give it a miss!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kicked a goal!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We were attracted to this place by the good reviews on TA. Kid friendly, good service and pizza was great. Would come again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Megagantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Yum yum yummity yum - and good value too”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

There are many places to eat on Gympie Street, and after looking at numerous menus, it was clear that Mad Megs was one of the cheaper ones - but we found that it was also excellent quality - both of us were impressed enough on our first visit that we went back again two days later. Technically it's on Thomas Street, just off the middle of Gympie Street.

We both tried the pizzas which are delicious: a great thin base, toppings in just the right proportion so that you taste the toppings and don't have to go hunting for them in amongst acres of tomato and cheese as some pizzas can force you to do. It felt very much like the sort of pizza I would expect from a good restaurant, not the sort I'd expect from a pizza takeaway (though they do them as takeaways too!). On our second visit, we also tried the bolognaise which was good as well and a decent portion size.

The atmosphere is a sort of informal "smart casual" style - perfect for us, a professional couple in our 30s who don't want fancy formal dining - and it has a really good feel of being a family-run place that care about providing a good service. When we were there, there were two couples who lived locally who were clearly regulars and we could see why you'd keep coming back - we would have gone back again if our holiday hadn't ended! We chatted to the owner for a while at the end while we paid and he was very friendly too.

The only reasons I can think why you'd not like this place are (1) if you wanted to dress up in suits and cocktail dresses for a glamorous evening out - this isn't that sort of place, or (2) if you like pizzas loaded to the eyeballs with cheese (though even then I expect if you asked them for that, they'd be able to provide it!).

It was the nicest pizza I've had in ages, and at only $19.90 for the larger pizza with plenty on it (smaller plainer ones being cheaper - $16 or less), I'd have been happy to pay more for it - but instead that that price I could afford to come back more often instead :-)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psymann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madmegs + Co also viewed

 
Noosa, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Madmegs + Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing