We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of iS Tapas Bar

iS Tapas Bar
Ranked #27 of 107 Restaurants in Noosaville
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: iS tapas bar is a favorite with local residents and holiday makers for our unique tapas and and delicious sangria. We are open from noon until late everyday. Lunch served all day. Live music on weekends, call for details.
Noosaville
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Had a lovely night here with four of us dining. My wife has coeliac disease and they were able to supply her with a 'gluten free menu'. Unfortunately, one of their gluten free dishes had a sauce accompaniment that turned out to be NOT gluten free, luckily we picked it up and brought it to their attention. Restaurants are now becoming more aware of people requiring gluten free but they must realise that it is not only the produce that has to contain no gluten but also the sauces.
The four of us had a wonderful night and we really enjoyed the food. We all (4 of us) shard the seafood Paella which was plentiful and tasted wonderful. We also shared the salt and pepper squid that although was prepared and presented wonderfully it just seemed to lack a bit in flavour. Very tender though.
Overall a wonderful night and quite prepared to make another visit here at sometime in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank markrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    93
    38
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Manager was terrible and rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We booked a table for 8 people (4 adults 4 kids for a bday celebration) and was placed on a table half in and half out of the doorway. The manager was rude and abrupt the entire evening, yet the wait staff compensated for his behaviour and were very friendly.
Tapas was nice but expensive with SMALL SMALL serves. Not good when you have to fight over food.
We chose the restaurant as it was in the entertainment book 2013-2014 gold card fine dining section for 25% off upto $40. The rules of use DO NOT specify that you need to mention the discount card when booking.
When we asked for the bill and presented the card it was bluntly refused by the manager who stated despite being listed in the current book, they weren't accepting the card and would not honour the $40 discount we were entitled to. Despite trying to explain to the manager that he was obliged to honour the discount as per the card entitled he still refused to accept it.
We paid the total $240 bill and gave him some feedback regarding his very unpleasant demeanor and poor customer service. Hopefully the owner will respond and the manager will learn a valuable lesson, as we will not be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best churros”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great seafood paella, tapas that kids loved and the best desserts. We have the chocolate pudding that opened to lots of melting chocolate!! Yum. And the churros were the best ever in Aus! So light and fluffy but crunch on the outside.
Plus a great view over the water and a sunset. We'll be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RosGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“over,over,under”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Disappointing booked early and ended up sitting at top of wheel chair ramp (actually had first booking for the night). Food was over seasoned with salt, over priced and underwhelming. I away eat at a tapas bar if available this was not one of the best. Ended up going somewhere else to finish our meal. Such a shame.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had an dinner and a lunch here, and the food was great!
We arrived unannounced for dinner and we were found a table even though they were clearly busy, our waitress was on to it and we chose our tapas!
Unfortunately not all the staff were as good, they were definitely all very friendly but we asked one about some of the menu and he was unable to help, he also forgot to put an order in for us but fortunately the girl sorted it as she had noticed we had been waiting a while and checked with us and then the kitchen, I also had the most amazing chocolate cocktail ever!
As we had missed out on a couple of things the night before we decided to go back for lunch the next day and the same guy was on. Once again he was very welcoming and friendly and we ordered the tapas that we had missed out on the night before and some that we had enjoyed and ordered our drinks.
I ordered a brandy, the waiter came back to me and asked what type of brandy I was after, and I told him a standard one was fine, he then came back and asked me if brandy was like a port! I was amazed that he was the only wait staff on and was also running the bar and not only did not know what brandy was but then had to admit they didn't have any once I scanned the bottles behind the bar.
I had a wine! lol
I have to say he was very friendly and really I don't blame him as it is definitely lack of training, but all is forgiven with the food!
I recommend the Sprats, they are to die for, the only negative was the garlic scallops that tasted of burnt garlic in the crumbed topping but the other dishes were very good.
despite of a few hiccups I would recommend IS as the place to go, it's friendly, relaxing and as long as you don't drink brandy has everything you could want in a good tapas bar!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Prebbletonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed iS Tapas Bar also viewed

Noosaville, Noosa
Noosaville, Noosa
 

Been to iS Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing